Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Blu-ray players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Full HD 1080p Blu-ray Player BD-D5100

Full HD 1080p Blu-ray Player BD-D5100

The Samsung BD-D5100 Blu-ray disc player offers vivid Full HD 1080p picture quality, saturated with rich, natural colours for the ultimate life-like experience. Take your viewing experience to the next level with embedded apps from Netflix and YouTube™ that allow you to stream Internet video directly to your TV. Samsung’s AllShare™ function completes your experience enabling you to share and playback content from other DLNA certified devices on your home network for a complete multimedia solution.
Rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
2 out of 7(29%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Full HD 1080p Blu-ray Player BD-D5100
Review 1 for Full HD 1080p Blu-ray Player BD-D5100
Customer Avatar
kong
From vancouver
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

overall value & performance & feature is average

PostedApril 30, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 30, 2012
"it does not have fast motion,,remote is missing some functions,,such as: open/close/eject tray,,
it can not play wmv/wpeg4 video files that are 1080p.
it can only play 720p video files.
"
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Full HD 1080p Blu-ray Player BD-D5100
Customer Avatar
mack
From canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good value for the money

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 25, 2012
"this unit works well so far. netflex is good and was easy to install and run (in Canada). It's rather long for a player and is very light."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Too big
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Full HD 1080p Blu-ray Player BD-D5100
Customer Avatar
kseriously
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Does what I expected

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 27, 2012
"I bought this player in November and it does everything I expect it to. The only drawbacks are that I can't enable Closed Captioning on Netflix (disc only, it seems) and that it seems to be somewhat loud when spinning a disc (louder than my 10 year old DVD player).
I see a comment that it doesn't work with Netflix, but mine works just fine, so it's clearly not an issue with the device, unless it's specifically that unit."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: no cc/subtitle capability for netflix
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Full HD 1080p Blu-ray Player BD-D5100
Customer Avatar
Jlav
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Advertises things it cannot do.

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 5, 2012
"First time I've ever been disappointed with a Samsung product!"
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Full HD 1080p Blu-ray Player BD-D5100
Customer Avatar
jay1210
From Calgary, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

low in memory

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 28, 2012
"always hangs-up and I kept on resetting the system, it is very slow my netflex always shows rebuffering even thou I put on direct cable"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Full HD 1080p Blu-ray Player BD-D5100
Customer Avatar
bentwrench
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Second dvd player from samsund --disapointed

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 5, 2012
"No fast forward or chapter advance when streaming unlike the older one(DVD-1080P9) playing from usb (firmware update could fix)
Net flix a little grainy
Allshare needs reinstalling weekly(on both pc's)
Sales man Best Buy misrepresented the apps available (none)
NEEDS BETTER FIRMWARE -fix it"
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
DVD-1080P9
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Full HD 1080p Blu-ray Player BD-D5100
Customer Avatar
Tracy010
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No Netflix

PostedDecember 26, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 26, 2011
"Although this player says you can use it with netflix you CAN NOT!! It is not compatible in Canada. I find this extremely frustrating since it is advertised on the box and it comes with information in the box that tells you how to sign up for a Netflix account it also says on this website that you can use it on Netflix. I'm very disappointed with this."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.