Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Blu-ray players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi

BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi

Get started with high-definition Blu-ray entertainment, DVDs, CDs, and great online features on this movie and music player. Access your favourite apps — from Netflix™ to YouTube™, plus share music, movies and photos on your home network wirelessly.
Rating:
2.516 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
12
11 out of 30(37%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Review 1 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From North Bay, Ontario
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Frustrating!

PostedJune 12, 2014
PostedJune 12, 2014
" I bought this specifically for the Netflix feature.
Most times, I can't even get through an entire episode without it freezing AT LEAST one time. And it can take up to an hour to get the episode going again, and sometimes it just won't go at all, at which point I just give up on it. I have to reboot multiple times, which means re-inputting my wireless password every time. Time consuming, frustrating, and turns "down town" in to "stress time"
I've resorted back to connecting my iPad to the tv. SO much easier!
If I could find my receipt, I would have returned this thing a LONG time ago! "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No good for Netflix!

PostedMarch 8, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 8, 2014
" Remote controls unresponsive. Power on/off switch does not work. Netflix freezes and can only be restored by unplugging device after which it freezes again making watching Netflix excruciating. "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Quebec
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Regret buying this

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 20, 2014
" VERY noisy
Wifi connection cheap, works once every 10 times
DO not buy this, keep your money!!!
"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, noisy, wifi doesn't work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Lottsburg, VA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 5, 2014
" I purchased this to use in my man cave while I was working out. I did not have cable hookups in the garage, so I bought it because it could get on Netflix and Hulu via wifi. Unfortunately, it did not come with Hulu. It did come with Netflix, but it hardly works because the player freezes. I have great high speed internet and wifi coverage, so I know it's not an internet issue. My Sony BluRay, Computer, iPads, etc., all work fine as well. I ended up bringing the player inside to my bedroom, and the problem continued. Furthermore, it also will not play blu rays very well. That freezes as well, and sometimes it does not recognize the disk. The same can be said of DVDs. All in all, I would NOT recommend this device as it simply doesn't work well. It's cheap, but you get what you pay for. I wish I had done my research ahead of time. "
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Quebec city, Qc, Ca
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very easy to use

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
" Couldn't be simpler. From the moment you unpack it, everything is simple. You plug and play. It is very easy to set up the Wi-Fi. It tells you what to do, step by step. It is compact and the design is pleasing to the eye. The remote control has everything you need without being to big nor to small. Over all, a great product. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Central BC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Works good, for the most part

PostedOctober 28, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 28, 2013
" I bought this a few months ago. All seemed to be working fine. Netflix works okay, YouTube works okay, albeit they are a little slow to find the wireless connection.
I have been trying, with no luck to play a movie from my laptop on my tv. Some times I will get the connection, and be able to find the movies on the computer using the remote, but, as soon as I try to play, it says I lost connection. I have tried resetting the player. I have All Play installed on the computer, and still nothing. This is the main reason I bought this player, as it says it is easy to set up and enjoy movies wirelessly from any computer in my home. As of yet, no luck.
Not totally happy with this product yet.
Today, I plan on contacting Samsung to see if we can figure this out.
"
Pros: Inexpensive, small, easy to hook up
Cons: Did not meet expectations, power on light not visible from front, slow to connect to wireless
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

All style, no substance...

PostedAugust 28, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 28, 2013
" This is a sharp little machine that appears to integrate well with my Samsung flat screen. It works great with DVDs or BR discs, but it has very, very slow performance when streaming Youtube or Netflix. My wife and kids choose to stream over their phones and get much better performance. Will be looking to replace this soon. I like the idea of having components from the same manufacturer as it reduces compatibility problems, but I hope Samsung has better players, otherwise I'll be changing my TV too. This product is unusable for any streaming - just not enough horsepower under the hood!!!
With the exception of this product, I love every Samsung product I've ever used. This brick has really made me wonder about the my next Samsung purchase, will it too go over the line of the cost performance trade off? This makes me pause before I would recommend to someone else. The performance on this is so bad, I think Samsung should consider a recall. I can't imagine anyone thinking this product is in anyway satisfactory.
"
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wonderful Paperweight, Complete with Spinning DVD Inside (yes, that's sarcasm)

PostedAugust 11, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 11, 2013
" Wi-Fi worked great, had no issues streaming with YouTube, had great performance with mp4 and DVD as well as DVD/BluRay. Watched a movie last night but when I popped in a DVD movie today it would not play, would not eject and the player seemingly is sending no signal to the TV. Sounds like the disc is spinning but neither the player buttons nor the remote buttons do anything. Essentially the player is dead after only 3 weeks and my DVD is stuck inside.
This was my first Samsung product and I'm pretty sure it will be my last. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Freeze, Freeze, freeze

PostedAugust 2, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 2, 2013
" I was very happy when I got it then I became Very disappointed. Netflix logo is only a decoration, It is not good for streamline movies. It Freezes all the time. In other words this machine stinks. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Plymouth, MN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

WiFi barely works, and it gets hung up

PostedJuly 4, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 4, 2013
" We purchased this Blu-ray in order to have access to wifi downloading in our bedroom. The Blu-ray portion was an added bonus. This unit does not turn off properly, about half the time I find that it turns itself back on.
Also the wifi is very sluggish. I'm not sure if there is some type of issue with our network, but the other wifi electronics we have for streaming video have no problem.
"
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, bad network connection
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Mexico
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Just a Blue Ray player, lots of ptoblems with Netflix and Vudu

PostedJune 22, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 22, 2013
" Freezes all the time when watching netflix and vudu, I have a broadband connection and have other devices in which I can see Netflix with no problems "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From MN
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Unreliable for Netflix

PostedJune 11, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 11, 2013
" Plays Blue Ray discs just fine, but Netflix programs experience frequent stops, and eventually the entire system freezes to the point where the power source needs to be disconnected. As a comparison, an iPad and two xboxes have no similar issues on the same network. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Bloomington, in
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Freezes up a lot

PostedMay 7, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 7, 2013
" We bought this Blu Ray player because it had the built in WiFi so we could watch Netflix. However, it freezes all the time. At first I thought it was our internet speed, but it's not just Netflix freezing, the entire system freezes and we can't even turn it off unless we unplug it. "
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, freezes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DISAPPOINTED

PostedApril 19, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 19, 2013
" I've had it less than a week. I used Pandora once. It was working ok. Netflix is slow and sometimes movies stop loading half way through despite a good wifi connection. Yesterday it wouldn't start despite the power light being on. The machine would not respond to anything but the power button. It still wasn't working today until I unplugged the power and hdmi cable then plugged them back in. Good thing I got geek squad warranty. I have a feeling more problems are to come. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations, stopped working after less than a week
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

humm... left me wanting

PostedApril 19, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 19, 2013
" Had the same problem with freezing on Netflix. I wish I had gotten something with more internet options. "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Prince George British COlumbia
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Freezes

PostedApril 13, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 13, 2013
" I actually like this machine, it is small sleek and kind of sexy looking. I do have some issues with my Netflix, it freezes up, sometimes I turn it on pick my show and after it loads the screen just goes black and will not turn back on at all. I have to manual shut it off and then turn it back on, The remote is unresponsive and unfortunately sometimes it is slow and clunky. Watching movies works fine and never causes an issue yet but hope it gets fixed with the next software update "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, freezes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Eganville, Ontario
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Crashed!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 18, 2013
" Took a long time to boot up, played the bluray but when it came to Netflix, it would freeze up and crash and have to be unplugged to reset. I am returning the product to where I purchased it as it's only 3 days old. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From saskatchewan
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very impressed

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 18, 2013
" Cant ask for a much nice system. Works awesome!!!! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Small size, easy to setup and use, great for DVDs, problems usin Netflix and WiFi

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 18, 2013
" It works Great for DVDs . When using for Netflix the screen goes blank sometimes when I am going to the next episode of a show and have to unplug the power and restart from scratch. When I shut the power off after using Netflix and power up again to use Netflix I have to reinitialize the WiFi. This can take a few tries to do. Sometimes I even have to reinsert my security code. I like the fact that when I press the power button my Samsung TV also comes on. The controller should have a audio mute button. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, easy to use
Cons: fails sometimes whe using netflix, have to reinitialize wifi on startup
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Inexpensive for a reason.

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 16, 2013
" Wifi finicky and randomly crashes, requires unplugging the machine to get it working again. Netflix and Youtube incredibly laggy. Died completely less than two weeks after we bought it, pops the Samsung logo then goes to black screen. "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Newmarket Ontario
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use, compact and very compatible

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" This is an excellent product for the money. It works well with our non-samsung projects. It really is a plug and play devise. "
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Ontario
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" I am not much of a techno person so I love that this is easy to use and works great. I can watch old DVD's and new blu-ray DVD's. I like the wi-fi feature as well. "
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Nanaimo, BC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value for money

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" WIFI feature is good and YouTube viewing works well. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: manual not clear enough
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From montreal, quebec
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product does exactly what it is supposed to do

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" I have owned this product for a year and can say that it is easy to use. Works on wifi and have never had a complaint about it "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Morgantown,WV
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Quit working midway through watching 1st movie

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 2, 2013
" I bought this product to replace an older Samsung Blu-Ray that quit working with new Blu-Rays despite having the newest firmware. I also liked the Wi-Fi capability. Everything set up easily out of the box and appeared to work normally. No problems connecting to my network. Midway through watching the brand new BD I bought at the same time as the player the screen just froze. No buttons on the remote or the device responded. The remote is still working because I can control my TV with it fine. I have tried everything in the manual including restoring it to factory settings. Even unplugging it and plugging it back in does nothing. The TV receives no signal, and no controls on the device respond to any input. I am returning it tomorrow. "
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From nc
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

locks up during every use

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 30, 2013
" even with excellent wifi signal it locks up shuts down goes to a black screen and u must unplug to proceed,remote is very poor also,audio cuts out all the time "
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Montreal, QC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for its price!

PostedDecember 30, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 30, 2012
" Great product with amazing features and built-in wifi for a really good price!!! Don't read the negative reviews. It loads the discs and turns on very quickly! "
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Blu Ray player for the money.

PostedDecember 29, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 29, 2012
" I was hesitant to buy this Blu Ray player because I wanted one that had Netflix and would connect to the internet through wifi and I've read a couple reviews that say you need a newer router with wps security or something like that for this player to connect wirelessly. Well I bought it anyway and tried to connect it to my older router which does not support wps and it connected just fine. The picture is absolutely amazing and I would recommend this product to anybody that wants a Blu Ray player and doesnt want to spend a lot of money. "
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and simple

PostedDecember 28, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 28, 2012
" Works right out of the box, simple setup, great price. Don't believe the whiners, great product for the price. "
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Las Vegas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Seriously Wi-Fi? ... not so

PostedDecember 25, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 25, 2012
" If you have an older router that supports wep/wpa/wpa2 for security look elsewhere this is NOT going to work for you. Why on earth there is only support for wps... well someone thought it was a good idea. There is one open box going back to be sold at a discount or add weight to a trashcan. I asked for a smart Blu-ray player and got the slacker Blu-ray that dropped out of first grade. "
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, dumb
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for BD-E5400 Blu-ray Disc Player with Built-in WiFi
Customer Avatar
From Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Compromises your security

PostedNovember 26, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 26, 2012
" Plays movies fine but I wanted a smart player for a reason. This machine randomly adds new accts to my pandora. I installed yesterday and today I start it up and some rap comes on. I find out that I have FULL access to someone else's acct to delete stations and full control. It takes me deleting the accounts and then I have to LOG BACK IN to my acct. if I leave the app it adds more users!! I literally close the app, open netflix, go back to pandora and new users are added! Very scary as you wonder what information this device is sending out about you! Needs a major bug fix! I'm returning and not buying another Samsung device that uses my data and passwords. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations, compromised security
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
18of 28voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.