Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Blu-ray players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900

Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900

 
Rating:
2.5 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
4 out of 9(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900
Review 1 for Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900
Customer Avatar
Zapicles
From Ontario
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ecellent Blu Ray

PostedDecember 28, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 28, 2012
"When I got this player, hooked it up to the TV, put a movie in and was blown away! Got a 3D movie put my Geek Glasses on Dimmed the lights and couldn't believe how well this played. I also played around with "NetFlix" wireless hookup to my computer. Streamed movies with ease. Also used the Smart Hub to share Pics, Music, and Movies on my computer. It took a bit to figure out just pop all of your stuff you want to share in the "Public" folder and Wham. There is all the entertainment from your computer. So No complaints at all. Works as it stated and then some. I am still amazed. Well gotta run to watch another DVD ahemmm blue ray I should say."
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no wake up alarm! :) lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900
Customer Avatar
guitarboy
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

At first, blu-ray worked great but could not even play a dvd! Worked great after the firmware download (essential)

PostedJune 11, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 11, 2012
"Technology is still expensive beleive me! but research is very expensive too. First of all, I knew what I wanted, went to the store and did not even talk to a salesman.Paid the little tiny box and got home right away. I'm a studio guy so I'm not a newbie with technology. I have a 51 inch Samsung HDTV.Took my time and went for the firmware on line cause I'm really patient and frankly, I could not imagine a blu-ray player not playing at least a DVD! it did a great job, followed the instructions.wi-fi installation was great and very quick! the rest was a breeze! I have 7 computers here. I am disapointed that there was not 1 short HDMI connection as a courtesy to the customer but that's no big deal for me but I can imagine someone trying it for the first time, there is no component out so...but it is a very good Blu-ray disc player for the price! The Anynet+ feature with Samsung HDTV is great!(Have you ever tried to fire on your blu-ray from the TV? that is a cool feature!) and the USB at the front is a great convenience, you can put a hard disk there and access your "Multimedia"(gee that's an old word already) files from USB! the Hub is terrific and quick and those smart apps are fantastic! great intertainment...10 free movies and more! Congrats Samsung!"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, great audio digital out for music
Cons: no video component out
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900
Customer Avatar
SMARTIKON
From TORONTO
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Poor internet connectivity though comes with feature like full web browser but does not open many sites and freezes for want of memory

PostedJune 20, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 20, 2013
"I bought this blure ray looking at the feature of full web browser but to my surprise it would not open many websites and would go blank and displays message basically saying "not enough memory" meaning you cannot open that site. Plus on top of that the remote is a pain makes your life miserable with the keys to browse unlike the LG smart magic my friend has, overall I wish I should not have bought it."
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor connectivity
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900
Customer Avatar
vlo2hav
From Vancouver, BC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Have a great features.

PostedNovember 9, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 9, 2012
"Cuting off sound when watching YouTube music videos has been solved, however now there is no continuity in playing those videos!"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900
Customer Avatar
oldguy
From Grand Manan, N.B., Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

in general somewhat disappointed in functionality

PostedAugust 16, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 16, 2012
"Lots of features but not overly user friendly unless you are geeky, stuff that should be simple like finding out how to connect a mouse takes patience with user manual and "settings", trying to find out if mouse compatible before buying I found impossible despite being told in users manual to check at this website, now where can I find it??? initial setup on this takes patience, I had to phone for help and I am not a luddite, don't much care for remote which operates everything, feels flimsy and I worry about it breaking or wearing out fast on web functions which is why I want a mouse"
Pros: abundance of features and apps
Cons: access too many functions challenging
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900
Customer Avatar
Jennybear
From waterloo ontario
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It had high expectations and failed at all of them

PostedApril 24, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 24, 2012
"Could not get this player to read disc blue ray or standard dvd's. It was also fairly slow and really couldn't get anything to work even netflix or browsing."
Cons: Did not meet expectations, did not work at all
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900
Customer Avatar
see5with
From usa
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not a great buy would not recommend it

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 30, 2013
"I bought this blu ray player sometime back. It worked great for a few months but then stopped playing dvds"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900
Customer Avatar
edge
From canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Blueray Movies Freeze

PostedDecember 24, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 24, 2012
"We don't watch a lot of movies, but I expect the equipment to work when I do.
We have never been able to watch a whole blueray movie yet, it freezes half way through, and we have to finish by watching the regular dvd.
"
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900
Customer Avatar
home tech tekkie
From LA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Major let down Can't even find my model on the site.

PostedNovember 18, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 18, 2012
"My biggest hangup is the slow response to commands and updates.
Netflix locks up mid movie and I had to reboot the player, Note to engineers, DO NOT FOLLOW WINDOWS COMMAND STRUCTURE!!
If you offer web browsing the first thing to incorporate would be ASCII input on the usb port!!
Who would waste their time browsing the web on the player using a remote when the PS3 (a 2 year older device) allows a usb connected keyboard to enter data.
I am 2 hours into updating the BD-EM59C which is not even listed on this site, private or business.
For a $100 dollars more I should have bought a PS3 and saved myself all this grief.
Compared to their 32" and 40" TV's this was a major disappointment."
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor utilization of usb port, antiquated wireless capability
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Smart 3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player BD-E5900
Customer Avatar
Zorbtion
From Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disapointed with the BD E5900

PostedNovember 2, 2012
PostedNovember 2, 2012
"I have the BD C5900 3D Blue Ray player... I thought about upgrading to the BD E5900 model, I purchased it without really looking at the box... I assumed the product quality would have been equal to and better than C5900 and yet better than D5700 but I was wrong and very disappointed with the micro switch push buttons and the front 7 segment display.
I plugged it in and it looked like a clock radio in my cabinet with that silly green 7 segment display that clashes with all the other white back lit buttons with my other Samsung products and worst its buttons didn’t light up. Comparing the BD D5700, D5900 which is wonderful example of design excellence it was a beautiful Blue Ray. This model had all touch button with white dot matrix display. I thought this would have continued with the next model BD E5900.
The BD 5900 WiFi component did not support the 5Ghz 802.11n network and the Specification online was vague indicating WiFi support and did not include any of these details. Second about 20% of my MPEG4 collection would not play on this unit. I gave this unit a good chance but it failed on the key points, I promptly returned the product to the vendor. This would be the first Samsung product that failed to meet my expectations. The other option I have BD-E6500 but I don’t like the tray less or slot design. The slot design has a tendency to scratch the disc as you need to align the disc in the slot if you insert on a slight angle you will scratch or mark up the disc and the risk of fumbling the disc is high. Stick to the disc tray systems…
I am hoping that the next year’s model BD F5900 would be better designed I am willing to pay a little more for quality.
"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, 5ghz 802.11n not supported
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.