Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Blu-ray players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player

BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player

Samsung BD-EM57 grants the gift of endless access to entertainment without wires on any TV in the house. Enjoy access to online apps like Netflix, YouTube, Facebook and a growing list of others for instant, entertainment. Then there’s AllShare™ share music, movies and photos with other DLNA certified devices on your home network.
Rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
7 out of 11(64%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Review 1 for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Customer Avatar
Xavierklaw
From Sac, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Wi-Fi "Smart" Blu Ray Player

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 26, 2013
"Great affordable Blu Ray Player. Bought this player because of Samsung's reputation and could be more pleased. More features that some models at twice the price of this one; online apps, All Share, BD Wise, and built -in WiFi. Easy set up and very responsive. Easy connection to my Wi-Fi and updated the apps and firmware automatically. Discs load quickly and have has no problems with the "Smart Hub" as other reviewers have posted. Highly recommended!!"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy set up, very user friendly
Cons: non
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Customer Avatar
Harley
From Waterloo Ontario Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

PostedOctober 13, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 13, 2012
"I have had a lot of players over the past 10yrs and i find that this is my best so far. Great player."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Customer Avatar
Gripper123
From Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very happy with my purchase!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 3, 2013
"Got this to match my 42" Samsung Plasma and looks great. Picture my smoother the PS3, Load times are pretty quick. The apps are kind of slow but I've only tried them once so don't really have an opinion on them. Will be buying another later this year."
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, great picture, fast load times
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Customer Avatar
Cookiemunstar
From Toronto
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Smart" System

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 17, 2013
"This is a fine model. Once you put in your Blu-ray, the transitions are smooth. I never seem to have a problem."
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Customer Avatar
Cless
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"Excellent wireless Blu-Ray DVD Player at a very reasonable price."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Customer Avatar
jmharn
From Branchburg, NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung BD EM57 Problem with Netflix (AIP-701) and Here is How to Fix it

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 9, 2012
"Good all-in-one unit (Blue Ray DVD player and streaming video and built-in wifi). Initial setting,blue ray player, and waking up is slow for a "SMART" machine. But if you have the patience, it works fine.
There is a problem with Netflix from the get go that almost made me return the unit and call it defective. So, the reason you're reading this, probably is to search a solution for the same problem that I encountered.
Here is how to solve it. Someone found this out, and at first I did not believe it but it really works.
1. Go in to Netflix
2. Use the remote's Arrow buttons press these combination very fast:
3. Up, up, down ,down, left, right, left, right, up, up, up, up
4. Window will pop up, Then select "deactivate"
5. Press yes, I am sure
6. Reactivate by going back to Netflix.
7. Enter your netflix login info again.
And voila! Lots of people lost sleep over this problem. You're welcome Samsung. If that doesn't work, try to update your software to the latest version #follow the setting menu#, and try the steps above again."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, the smart technology, all in one and built-in wifi, the yellow pages apps
Cons: slow to wake up & play dvd blue ray, netflix does not work out-of-the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Customer Avatar
Tommy
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Only decodes AVI and DVIX

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 3, 2013
"Bought this for MKV';s and it doesn't even see them."
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Customer Avatar
WonderingWhy
From Edmonton, Alberta
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

RE the Samsung Remote app

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 24, 2012
"The Blueray player in itself is awesome and works well, it is the samsung app for the Remote that is terrible, it always crashes on my Samsung Nexus phone, so I can not even get it rolling.... :( dissappointing, when I was so excited to use my smart phone as the remote.
But to play disks it is awesome.
"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Customer Avatar
JLT-VA
From Virginia
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Unable to decode MP4 files fast enough to play

PostedAugust 2, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 2, 2013
"I bought this because it was supposed to be a "smart" media player. Can it play DVD's and Blu-Ray? Sure. But you can buy a Blu-Ray and DVD player for a lot less money if that is all you want it to do. The apps ARE slow. When I tried to play standard-encoded (MP4) video files from a DVD-R, the audio played fine but the video stuttered so badly the movie lost all sync (you heard the characters speak a very long time before you saw them speak). How old and slow is the processor in this thing? The performance is inexcusable in this day and age."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor performance
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Customer Avatar
spike
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very slow and noisy, takes forever to start up and load a disc.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"Very disappointed in its speed. I know blu-ray has a lot of info to load but it should be so much faster then my old dvd player that is 8 years old."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Customer Avatar
RichieZero
From Norwalk, ca
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nice looking piece of quality plastic.

PostedNovember 28, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 28, 2012
"I've had this particular blu ray player for less than a week. It functioned long enough to watch one dvd, and one blu ray disc. It has ceased to function completely. Never got to try any of the apps, it makes a very loud whirring sound as if it's desperately trying to read the inserted disc, and then promptly shuts itself off. I suspect that the update I was prompted to install was intended to ruin the machine because as soon as it was updated, it stopped working at all. The player itself looks nice, but that's pretty much all it does now. And trying to find a solution or even identify the problem has proved a futile effort. No info anywhere on this, not even on this very website. Quite disappointed about that."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BD-EM57 Smart Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player
Customer Avatar
Dissatisfied
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worthless.

PostedOctober 25, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 25, 2012
"Worthless. Cannot get anything working. Starts, stops, skips, shuts down, hangs up. You name it It does everything but work"
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.