Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Compact
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SMART CAMERA WB850F

SMART CAMERA WB850F

From historic city streets to lush rainforests, the compact Samsung WB850F makes the perfect travelling companion. Its rear display can be viewed from any angle, even in bright sunlight due to its superior AMOLED display technology. The WB850F is easy to carry and gives you the versatility to shoot faraway subjects and wide scenes with its 21x zoom and 23mm wide angle lens. Built-in Wi-Fi connectivity lets you upload images to your favourite social sharing sites from any hot spot around the world, including your smartphone. Good thing the WB850F also features GPS functionality that lets you map your location and access real-time location-based information. You no longer need two devices, the WB850F allows you to capture 10 Megapixels still pictures while recording Full HD video. Get ready to capture your passions wherever you find them with the WB850F.
Rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 5(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for SMART CAMERA WB850F
Review 1 for SMART CAMERA WB850F
Customer Avatar
Michelange
From Longueuil,Québec,Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features,great price.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"I lire my caméra because there is a GPS ,a WIFI and it is 42 X zoom .I use it when i travel and i can shoot nice photos and send them by email or put them on Facebook and tag it whit the place where i am. I sure recommend it ."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, 42x zoom, wifi, gps
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SMART CAMERA WB850F
Customer Avatar
profaj
From Ontario
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Travel Camera

PostedJune 4, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 4, 2012
"With the advanced GPS features on this camera, you will want to take it everywhere when you travel and take pictures just to find out what you are looking at. The GPS mapping functions work great both in the camera and on the computer and the geo-tagging will be recognized by your computer. Make sure that when you calibrate the compass in the camera that you wave the camera parallel to the ground. My instinct was to wave it vertically, perpendicular to the ground and that did not calibrate the compass properly. Once it was properly calibrated, the pictures showed up as being taken with the correct orientation.
Other features of the camera are also simple and easy to use. For example, the panorama only requires you to hold down the shutter button and move the camera vertically or horizontally, no more matching the previous frame. And when you view the panorama, the camera pans smoothly across the scene when you press the ‘Ok’ button so you can see every detail. Another feature that is a Samsung exclusive, the WiFi capabilities, remembers your favourite WiFi hot spots and passwords as well as your Facebook accounts and passwords for uploading photos. The geo-tag is not uploaded and the picture is reduced to less than 2 Mbytes automatically, nice touches that show that Samsung is paying attention to the details.
Advanced features such as White Balance, shutter and aperture control are as good as a DSLR or in the case of the white balance setting, better than some DSLR cameras. Don’t believe some of the early reviews from back in January either, when the camera was first released; the camera does have high speed video at 240 fps and 480 fps.
Only one caveat, make sure you carry an extra charged battery or two when you are travelling because with the GPS functions, the fun photo options, the WiFi features, and all of the other fun toys on this camera, you will be using the camera so much that one battery will definitely not last a full day. Fortunately you can recharge the battery in the camera from a standard USB port with the short cable so there may be charging options on the plane and in other locations."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, advanced features
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SMART CAMERA WB850F
Customer Avatar
estrelladelanoche
From Toronto
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My best camera ever!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 23, 2013
"I really love this camera! it has many features to take any pic I want under all conditions and it's very easy to use!
I had own Samsung cameras forever and I wouldn't change the brand for anything...they are the best!
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SMART CAMERA WB850F
Customer Avatar
Ontario Artist
From Ontario
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This camera is full of features but easy to use.

PostedMarch 7, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 7, 2013
"We bought this camera for the high zoom feature, small footprint and lightweight. The Schneider Kreuznach lens is an attractive feature. Although we are not likely to use some of the features such as GPS and Wi-Fi regularly, it is very desirable to have those options. Packed with features and options, this camera is relatively easy to use. We have not as yet had experience with battery life. To be on the safe side, we purchased an extra battery and charger. A major shortcoming from our perspective is the Owner’s Manual which comes in a PDF format (all 188 pages of it). It is not the most convenient way to work through the various features as there is a lot of back and forth movement to get to various definitions, options and functions."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: user manual only available as pdf file.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SMART CAMERA WB850F
Customer Avatar
RhoVee
From Coquitlam, B.C., Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mostly great but, unfortunately not all

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 26, 2013
"I was given a Smart Camera WB855F for Christmas. There many bells and whistles. In all honesty, I haven't figured them all out yet, but I will say that the zoom is fantastic. I loved being able to crop on the camera, but the features that 'do not work' at all.....are the 'night time' & 'sunset' options. It's 'supposed to' enhance the nighttime lights and the colors of a sunset, but especially the nighttime option makes all kinds of horrible squiggly lines going through the picture. The 'regular' Smart option takes a much better picture than the night optoin."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SMART CAMERA WB850F
Customer Avatar
igglepiggle13
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved this camera, but...

PostedJuly 7, 2012
PostedJuly 7, 2012
"I loved this camera. Had it for 2 weeks. Great features, loved the quality of pictures.. it was great! The first camera that I ever sought after but I missed a flaw. It is not compatible with an Apple product. The disc that comes with it can only be read by PC/Windows. Even if I went online to find the Map Download manager, there isn't one for Mac. I would have just ignored the fact that I won't be able to use the GPS feature, but when the movies I took with the camera become "distorted" when playing back on my computer, that was the last stroke. I had to return it & I had to replace it with another brand."
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations, incompatible with mac os
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SMART CAMERA WB850F
Customer Avatar
valleygirl
From Hantsport, Nova Scotia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Loved it but Battery Life horrible

PostedJuly 29, 2012
PostedJuly 29, 2012
"I love this camera and the features even if it is a little bigger than what I was looking for. I loved the shutter speed and the fact could you take sequential pictures fast. However what I did not love was having to charge it every time I took it out. The Battery did not hold a charge. We took it back to Future Shop who gave us another one, and the same thing happened on the new one. I wish it had a better battery life as it would have been THE camera."
Cons: battery life
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.