Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Mobile Phones
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black

Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black

Meet the Samsung Corby Pro, the touchscreen phone that’s sleek, stylish and brimming with social features. Beside the physical beauty of its curvy, stylistic ergonomic design, its 2.8” touchscreen is perfectly paired with a full web browser and Wi-Fi capabilities for the ultimate mobile web experience that’s perfect for work and play. What’s more, it comes preloaded with all your favourite social networking apps like Facebook, Flickr, and YouTube. With Corby Pro, there’s no question you and your friends will be connected at all times.
Rating:
2.667 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
4
6 out of 13(46%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Review 1 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
From British Columbia
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst phone I have ever had!!

PostedAugust 17, 2013
PostedAugust 17, 2013
" Very limited features!!! And my review text is too short.......about like the phone when it comes to features!! "
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Good until the warranty is up

PostedDecember 8, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 8, 2012
" I got this phone as apart of my contract. I loved it at first. I loved the design and they keyboard was easy to use. It didn't crack into a million pieces if it was dropped. Then i started to have major problems with it after a year, the screen would go black and nothing would work. I sent it in to get it fixed, and when i got it back it worked for about a week. Then after my warranty was up it broke again. The keyboard wouldn't work at all. I couldn't answer phone calls or anything. The only thing that would work was the touch screen which froze constantly. Anyone who also had this phone had the exact same issues that I had. "
Pros: Durable, small
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow, lots of issues
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
From Markham Ontario
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible Phone

PostedMay 18, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 18, 2012
" I researched the phone prior to getting it and it seemed like a decent touch phone with wireless capabilities however I was gravely mistaken; the phone's touch sensitivity is terrible, it's locking feature doesn't work (it still unlocks in my pocket and starts either dialing somebody or messing up placement of icons on the phone), it is very laggy and don't even try to use the wireless internet because even if you have a wireless hotspot, it won't work. I have been stuck with this phone for the past 2 years because I got it on contract and as a student cannot afford to get another phone... "
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
From Suriname, Paramaribo
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super Phone!

PostedMay 16, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 16, 2012
" This phone is the best phone ive ever had.
A phone with wifi and 3G?? And its reasonably priced.
This phone is too good for me.
I love watching videos on youtube. its a SUPER Phone
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, wifi, 3g
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The only problem with this phone is everything.

PostedMay 16, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 16, 2012
" I have loathed this phone since the moment it came into my possession. It is without a doubt the worst phone I have ever owned, and having received it as part of a "hardware upgrade" on my cellphone contract I attempted to use it for the better part of a year. On multiple occasions during that year I wanted nothing more than to smash this phone into a million pieces by launching it out the window/off the balcony/from the top of a mountain.
The touch screen is extra finicky, but then every once in a while it starts to feel bad and tries to make up for sucking by sending text messages to random people. The alarm system seems to be really bad at keeping time and has often failed at keeping up it's end of the bargain. This phone works at a turtles pace and will take anywhere from a minute to twenty to delete text messages. The camera leaves much to be desired in the way of taking half decent pictures only when full studio lighting is available. Custom ring tone selection is a nightmare, and don't even get me started on the fact that it will give you a pop up telling you someone has called constantly until you open up the history menu. The battery is already failing, and the "apps" function is horrible and made catastrophically worse by the fact that you cannot customize your shortcuts.
All in all, this phone doesn't even deserve the courtesy of being launched into space, because if life on other planets found this phone they would proceed to pity the human race. On the bright side maybe they would be more forgiving towards us when they eventually arrive on earth to enslave us. "
Pros: qwerty keyboard
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, all of the features are relly just cons.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
From Stratton, Ontario
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this phone is designed well

PostedMay 11, 2012
PostedMay 11, 2012
" Overall i like this phone but the camera really needs to be improved. Also when on the phone it is hard to hear when the volume is to the max so the speakers/volume needs to be raised and improved. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: camera, speakers when on phone
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Best thing: Wi-Fi. Worst thing: breaks down horribly after 2 years.

PostedApril 2, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 2, 2012
" This phone was, in general, a good phone (not great). The Wi-Fi is the best thing, and downloadable apps and themes is another good thing. The QWERTY keyboard feels amazing (one of the best I've used), and its camera, although only 3 MP, takes great still shots (not so great video), if you can hold your hand still for more than three seconds - tough to do. The speaker is very loud, and the 3.5 mm jack is useful. The UI is also pretty easy to use. Not so good is it's processing power - the phone crashes if you use more than two intensive apps - and its pressure sensitive touch screen. Parts are easy to find if anything breaks, and it's easily modifiable. Overall, not a horrible phone (for 2010), but in 2012, you can get much better phones for the same price. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Lightweight, great keyboard
Cons: Poor quality, slow
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great phone, until it breaks.

PostedOctober 2, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 2, 2011
" It is a great phone. I loved it for the past year and 3 months. But that's the thing... the warranty only last a year, and the phone breaks a year and a few months later. I've always been very careful with the phone, never dropped it, of course i've slid it open numerous times, as any normal user would. All of a sudden, I slid it open and the screen is like a treadmill (literally) my background goes up and reappears from the bottom of the screen! I can't even slide my phone open anymore, which makes it so much harder to use. Dissapointed, for sure, since I paid full price for it and expected it to last me for a while, specially since I was so careful with it. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

PostedAugust 19, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 19, 2011
" I have made or received 50 calls on this phone and it has dropped 40 of them. I had to send back for repairs. it works great for texting so far that's it. "
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: keeps dropping calls
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Corby Pro has awesome features.

PostedJuly 30, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 30, 2011
" The connectivity is excellent. Love the memory space available. Touch screen in very sensitive but not easily damaged. Camera gives great picture clarity but it is a little tricky to figure out the features of the camera. Great volume and good battery life. My previous Samsung phone was a flip-open and it is nothing compared to this one. Its a total upgrade in all but one aspects. That is the battery life, I just can't figure out the battery life. I charge it every 2-3 days, which is good. My old phone needed charging every 4-5 days only. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

meh

PostedMay 23, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 23, 2011
" well have had this phone for 3 days now and considering the manual was missing i think i'm doing ok with it.. still can't figure the camera out and well just having a heck of a time getting used to te touch screen features.. it's a huge step up from my samsung A516 which was a flip..i guess only time will tell.. I have also noticed i have to charge this phone every single day... which is weird since my old phone could handle a few days without charging.. if i could i wouldn't have gotten this phone. Don't get me wrong I love samsungs but this is just a pain and time consuming.. and i'm ust waiting for the touch screen to break.. ugh:( "
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, battery doesn't last long
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Outlook connectivity is poor

PostedMay 13, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 13, 2011
" We received new Samsung GT-B5310R phones at work to replace our older phones. I sync my Microsoft Outlook calendar so that I will get a meeting reminder if I am away from my desk in the lab or something. This worked great on my previous phone (different brand) but it is not useable on the Samsung.
1. Recurring meetings don't display correctly. The details are missing for most of them.
2. The details for one recurring meeting does appear, but the date and time are messed up. For example, the first meeting of a regular Thursday meeting was Jan. 13. When I check the May 12 calendar on my phone, the meeting shows as "Jan. 13" on May 12!.
3. The Thursday meeting is at 11:00 am. Jan 13 was standard time, and now it's daylight savings time so the May 12 meeting shows the time as 12:00. This is wrong on so many levels.
4. The phone is set to lock after a period of no activity. When it locks, the meeting reminder tone is blocked too. I don't get a meeting reminder until I pick up the phone and unlock it.
5. I installed Kies and New PC Studio. Both programs will sync with Outlook. If you sync with both programs, all of the appointments are duplicated in the phone.
6. I downloaded songs to the micro SD card in the phone using Kies. I noticed that it put all the songs into the "Sounds" folder rather than the "Music" folder.
This phone has been out for a while and I am surprised that something like Outlook sync is so totally dysfunctional. Don't your programmers check their work? Don't you have software testers? "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, outlook calendar sync is not useable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Frustrating.

PostedMay 7, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 7, 2011
" I've had this phone for 6 months now. I find the interface frustrating to use. Using it for Twitter or Facebook is agonizing. You have to wait for it to refresh alot and half the time it times out. Frustrating! Most webpages are too large so you get the "Phone Memory Full" message. Frustrating! Figuring out how to change the ringtones is frustrating. I get calls dropped all the time and that is frustrating. I'll be standing beside my boss who is talking on the phone, and I will have no bars, I get the "emergency call only" screen. Frustrating! If you text alot, then maybe this phone is for you, otherwise just get a smartphone. The buttons for locking in and taking pictures are too close and half the time I hit the wrong button. "
Pros: easy text messaging
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Cannot get ringtones to load or work

PostedApril 12, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 12, 2011
" Unbelievably poor documentation. Cannot load ringtones or get to work. Cannot connect to PC, cannot load correct driver. Recommendation, look for a different phone, don't waste your time or money on this one. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Corby Pro™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just a gorgeous lightweight phone - easy to use

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 25, 2011
" I had been using one of the most popular smartphones and when I switched to this Corby Pro, I immediately noticed how lightweight it was. The touch screen is quite responsive and the pull out QWERTY keyboard is amazing! I love this phone but there is only one thing I can't figure out - how to determine the battery life "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.