Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Smartphones
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black

Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black

The Samsung GALAXY Rugby™ is the perfect for those looking for a mobile device that can withstand the elements. The ruggedized phone combines all of the power of a smartphone with the durability to take on any environment.
Rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
18
2 stars
12
1 star
9
34 out of 66(52%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Review 1 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Thomasburg, Ontario
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Product! Dont understand why all phones arent made like this.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 20, 2014
"I have had this phone for over two years and still works and looks like new. my teenagers have gone through countless other phones due to cracked and broken screens but this phone doesnt show its wear and tear that I put it through with my work. Durability is my number one priority with a phone and this fits the bill perfectly. Hoping to find another new one out there soon to keep on hand, no interest in all these other pretty phones that crack at the drop of a hat. Samsung Please bring back this durabilty to your new phones."
Pros: Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, Ontario
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has handled all I managed to put it through.

PostedDecember 8, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 8, 2013
"I use my phone to the extreme. I walk dogs and spend my days in parks. I drop it atleast a few times a day and have got it wet many times. It just keeps on working and holds up very well. I had to replace my phones at least once a year before finding the Galaxy Rugby. I am very impressed and was delighted at its ease of use and all the apps that I am able to load. I would love to put a new one to test."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From thunder bay, ontario, canada.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

toughest phone samsung offers

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 1, 2013
"wow. this phone is a beast. i'm an avid outdoorsman, living in northwestern canada. being in the north during the winter requires a snowmobile, and snowmobiling is tough on the body, so imagine what it does to your phone. this phone has had a chainsaw dropped on it, been run over by an atv, and fell out of a boat while fishing. it keeps on working, intuitively and efficiently, day in and day out. this is the smartphone for any hardworking man or woman."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, bright flash, torchlight support
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Brandon, Manitoba Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Looking Tough Phone for Us Hardworking Ladies!!

PostedJune 16, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 16, 2013
"As a Equipment Operator for my City I needed a phone that could withstand the day to day elements and still come out kicking and this lovely does it. It has withstood 13hrs of dust while we have been out street sweeping and then the water/rain that has come after. I love the weight of this phone and feel in my hand. A tough number."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good phone

PostedMarch 18, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 18, 2013
"the phone feel good in my hand sound quality is ecellent battary lasts a long time"
Pros: Built-in speakers
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really great phone!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 5, 2013
"I love this phone because I can drop mine and it doesn't break!! I love the colors and it has so many apps!!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, right size
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From kelowna ,.. anada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great smart phone very tough

PostedMarch 1, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 1, 2013
"Its been easy to use , samsung support has been great , takes nice quality photos , excellent features , absolutely the toughest phone I have ever owned , very fast downloads , more applications than I will ever use"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: none really
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rugby Rocks!

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 15, 2013
"I have had this phone for about 6 months or so and absolutely love it! It does more than most other phones and eaily compares to anything that the 'other' company has. It is easy to navigate and customise, the sound quality is fantastic, the speed is amazing and the graphics are sharp. There are numerous apps available for it and what is not available has already been done. I highly recommend this phone."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, speed, functionality
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Sydney, Nova Scotia
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Durable, nice camera, slow processor

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 2, 2013
"I've had this phone for awhile, and for what I paid, it was worth it.
One of the only problems that I find with this phone is sometimes messages don't send. (this maybe my provider, but I'm with Bell and I've never had this problem with them before.) The phone also went crazy and stopped working and the battery died after only 6 hours. After I had the replacement battery, it worked fine.
Another problem is the processor. It is slooow. (it has nothing to do with the space on the phone, either. I have a 32GB SD card in.) It takes forever to get onto the internet, and when it DOES finally load, it takes another while to use anything.
Oh, and I find the lock and un-locking screen button hard to press at times.
The screen is also hard to see in the sun.
But, the phone is VERY durable and it is amazing when it comes to water.
It's been dropped, thrown, underwater, pushed across the floor-- and not even one scratch on the screen.
I also wish it came with Ice Cream Sandwhich instead of GingerBread."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Not high def, slow processor
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From saskatoon, sk
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best phone for functionality and durability yet made

PostedDecember 30, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 30, 2012
"What can you say? We've come a long way from those horrible construction geared cell phones with the built in cb radio function. I can have this phone on me and not worry about it being destroyed by a little tap, a limited flood scenario or whatever, and I can still check my e-mail, watch youtube, or do what I need to whenever I want to! The only thing negative I'll say is, MAKE IT BETTER! To be clear, I think this phone is awsome. That said, samsung I'm counting on you to raise the bar. I want the rugby II to blow me out of the water!"
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: make it better
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Kelowna,BC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tough smart phone for the price!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 20, 2012
"Except for a few little glitches in my learning curve on how to operate this phone I would say the reviews
on cell phone tech sites were correct.You are just not going to find another phone of this quality and features
at it's price point.Now let me point out I could care less about apps or the camera so don't ask me but as
for pure browsing and email experience I find it loads plenty fast.The Google Maps and GPS is a great
feature as well-very accurate!Calls come in loud and clear and adding contacts is a breeze as the phone has
a better memory than me.Other features such as account details and news/weather reports come in handy.Lastly the battery is very long lasting I find even when browsing,using GPS or talking,standby time
is very good as well.Over all a great quality phone at a price that you can buy out right.
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: os is a bit confusing at first
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Meaford, On
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It has great features

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 24, 2012
"I've had it for a few months now. 1st smart phone but not the 1st I've used. Compared to other brands its very rugged and loves to take the abuse."
Pros: Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From ONTARIO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Completely Waterproof. Excellent Value.

PostedAugust 14, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 14, 2012
"This phone is absolutely unbreakable. Waterproof, dustproof. nothing will break this phone. Waterproof is a great party peice. I threw my phone in the pool and left it for 5 minutes recording a video. brought it back out and is still working. the video even recorded and you can watch it back. Crazy phone highly recommend if you are tired of phones breaking from water. All phones should be like this. Performance is not crazy, but it is enough to get you by, and you dont really care because you know if its raining, you are good to go."
Pros: Durable, waterproof, party piece
Cons: slow processor
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tough

PostedJune 18, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 18, 2012
"Reliable and tough, The Samsung GALAXY Rugby™ is the perfect for those looking for a mobile device that can withstand the elements. The ruggedized phone combines all of the power of a smartphone with the durability to take on any environment."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for motocross !

PostedMay 6, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 6, 2012
"Bought this phone since my Blackberry Torch got banged up while off roading with my son. Needed something that can take a pounding and fit comfortably in my pocket in the event of emergencies. Has great reception and a super loud speaker. Weighs less than half of my old Blackberry Torch. Awesome design ! Wow !"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: camera should be at least 5 mp or better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wow

PostedMay 3, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 3, 2012
"got this phone a week ago great phone for somebody that is in a lot of dust"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa, ON Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful product

PostedMay 3, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 3, 2012
"Bought mine nearly a week ago and I love it. It's my first smartphone and I love the features and mostly love the cost!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Midland, Ont
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blown away

PostedApril 30, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 30, 2012
"I bought this phone 2 days ago and its absolutly amazing. Durable is an understatment for this device, this beast can take anything you throw at it, wether it be drops on pavement or a nice dip in the lake, not even direct hits to the screen damages it. I would recommend this phone to ANYONE"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no front camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Rugby Galaxy Cell phone

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 20, 2013
"I am very happy with my Samsung phone. It is my 3rd Samsung since I have been using cell phones.
My husband also has the same phone as I do the Galaxy Rugby.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Bayfield, ON
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone for the money

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"This phone is very durable, easy to use, and makes a good phone to use in rugged situations. The major drawback with it the limited space of onboard memory. Some apps as well as some other data needs to be stored on the onboard memory and can't be moved to the SD card. I found that the space that came with the phone was far too small for what I needed the phone and for the apps that I needed to install. But if you would not be using a lot of apps and need a durable phone with lots of features I would still recommend this phone to you."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: onboard memory too small
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tough, a working persons phone

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"I was looking for a phone that could do it all, and still be tough. I didn't want a phone that would break the second it had to be outside. Although a fantastic phone for what I use it for, there are a few things I would change if I could. 1) pre installed apps that you can't delete. What is that junk? I don't use them, they take up space that is premium in this phone. 2) Lack of space. I understand I didn't buy a 16GB Iphone and I can put a lot of things on an external SD card, but also there are a lot of things I can't put on the SD Card, like the Pre-installed Apps. 3) The processor speed is a little slow at times, but overall still good. 4)The battery is advertised as amazing and can hold a charge, doesn't die all the time etc. I run my phone with the minimums going (No Wi-fi, no blue tooth etc) but I still have to charge my phone every night, right from day 1 of owning it."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Montreal
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is solid, screen glass is great, srach free.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"This product is solid, screen glass is great, sratch free. Sure will buy Samsung again."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: apps not user friendly as previous owned samsung
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Water proofing is awesome!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2012
"Had my Rugby phone in my shirt pocket, loading the dishwasher. The phone fell into the dishwasher!! I did not notice it had fallen. All day I was looking for the phone. Thought I had set it down in the mall. Long story short, went to unload the dishwasher, there it was. This phone went through the full wash cycle and heated dry cycle. pushed the on button, and it started up right away and works perfect!!! Very impressive!!!"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone but Runs slow and battery dies fast

PostedOctober 30, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 30, 2012
"I purchased this phoned about six months ago, it was great and exceeded my expectations at first. However recently i have installed a bunch of aftermarket apps, this really makes the phone lag. Also if any apps connect to the internet it kills the battery quickly! If i listen to music on 8tracks i rarely have enough battery power to make it through the day. I suggest you don't download any bulky apps
Overall great phone for the price. tough as advertised, although i have only dropped it a few times. Good features, reasonable camera, and surprising volume from the built-in speakers
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: slow
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This phone is great for its features but not full proof

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 18, 2012
"I had this phone for a while its takin a beating a still works. i have drop it in 12 foot pool down set of stairs in wet cement and nothing happened. then out of nowhere it fell into grass 4 feet at most and the screen cracked. Just wanted to say this phone is tough but remember anything can happen and nothing is full proof."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, amazing speakers
Cons: not full proof
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From regina, sk
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

one tough phone

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 2, 2012
"i have had other phones in the past but as an equipment operator bad things happen often to phones. my last phone was run over with my bobcat 4 times and still worked only prob was a cracked battery and it would cost more for a new battery then a new phone and got this one since i bought it i have dropped it in to asphalt hot mix temp of 120 c and is fine dropped it off a roller hight of 5 feet still fine dropped from my pocket in to a puddle still fine spilt pop on the dash of my car and submurged it in the pop not on purpose still fine but car stereo didnt survive :( but all in all a very tough phone."
Pros: Durable
Cons: low system mem
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Alberta, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome, but could be more Awesome

PostedJuly 6, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 6, 2012
"I've had this phone for almost a month and I love it. The only thing that bothers me is that sometimes it can be slow in speed. Other than that, love it! :)"
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: sometimes slow
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Smart enough without features I don't need or won't use.

PostedJune 10, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 10, 2012
"My first smart phone but not the first I've used. My only complaints are contacts stored on the SIM card allow for only one number and little customization, although contacts stored in the phone memory allow full customization. There also appears to be a lack of voice dialing capability which makes use with a blue tooth headset troubling. My carrier can be kind of lame and did not include a quick start guide with the phone, not smart in my mind since this is bound to be an entry level smart phone for a lot of people. Despite complaints overall very happy. I've even been caught in a couple of rain storms and while I kept it out of the moisture as much as possible it is reassuring to know it is water resistant."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: um hello voice dialing?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa, ON
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Too bad it's not the real one.

PostedMay 8, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 8, 2012
"I was excited to buy the I847 Rugby sold in the US, I was VERY disappointed to find out Canada was given the stripped version with the poor low res screen and only a 3MP camera for such a high price. Too bad our Canadian carriers are so misleading. All the reviews on the internet are for the I847 with it's good specs. I want one of those! Please!"
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, camera is only 3mp, i847 rugby is what we should have in canada.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From EDMUNDSTON,NB
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

WATERPROOF

PostedJuly 22, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 22, 2014
"I'VE DROP MINE IN THE LAKE THIS WEEKEND AND IT STAYED THERE ALL NIGHT LONG...PICK IT UP IN THE MORNING AND STILL WORK!! SECOND TIME IN 2 WEEKS THAT IT WAS SUBMERGED...VERY IMPRESSED!!"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Chatham, ON
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This product is sturdy.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"The Samsung Rugby is the smart phone that my workplace uses for staff to have available for emergency use. The phones are durable and although I have not had to test this, they are waterproof.
I like the fact that texting is made simple by swiping.
"
Pros: Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Thunder Bay,Ontario,
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An excellent Cell phone

PostedJuly 28, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 28, 2013
"I cannot connect my GT-5690R to Kies,and therefore cannot get any perks."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Durable but slow and glitchy

PostedJuly 19, 2013
PostedJuly 19, 2013
"I've had this phone since it first came out last April/May and it worked great for the first 6 months. Too many preloaded apps that take up the little storage. Dropped calls and "Emergency Calls Only" when there is service. Very durable, I've dropped it from chest height onto cement and gravel and the screen is fine, no scratches. It's been run over by tractors and stepped on by horses. The outside edges are slightly scraped and dented but nothing major. Battery life is horrible, I've had to charge it every night since day 1. After a year the battery only charges to 40% at the most and dies at 10%. Recently it's been turning it self off when it has a full charge. I've tried to order a new battery for it and they are very hard to find. Volume doesn't go high enough and the vibration isn't very strong. Too many "force close" screens when running apps. I like the size and weight of the phone I just wish it was faster, had more memory space and the battery life was better."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: slow, bad battery life, not enough memory
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Ontario
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Almost a year old, problems continue.

PostedJune 16, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 16, 2013
"For the first 6 months this phone was perfect for what I needed. After that, the screen started freezing up, and now it's like a Furbie! As soon as you put it down or away during a meeting, the beep tone for charging starts. The phone is not plugged in and it randomly thinks it's charging, wakes from sleep mode, and charging symbol appears. Ten seconds later, it goes away, then back on, each time with the annoying tone...give me a break! I turned off the sound options on everything but ringtone, and it still continues. The only way to silence it is to mute the whole thing.
Processor is extremely slow and picture quality is not good. Pictures taken and those uploaded from email are really dark, like looking through a tinted window. My old flip phone took better pics.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, poor resolution camera, dark photo display
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Cape Breton, NS
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Has great features and usually tough but one day I noticed that the screen had broke and I am not even sure how.

PostedMay 23, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 23, 2013
"I have had time issues with this phone. It looses its time atleast once a week where it cannot find my time zone and I have to turn the phone off and remove the battery. Also sometimes the keyboard will not work and I have to do a complete reset again. My old phone lasted me 8 years so I consider myself pretty easy on phones but I dont think that this one will last very long ::(("
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Whistler, BC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Limited system memory combined with carrier "bloatware" that can't be shuffled off to the SD card makes this phone less than ideal.

PostedMay 18, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 18, 2013
"I eagerly jumped in with both feet last June - a smartphone that was durable and waterproof ? Fantastic !!! I soon discovered that the system memory couldn't keep up with program sizes/updates. The Rugby LTE that was released a mere 6 months later seems to address all of the Rugby Red & Black's shortcomings. I'm stuck with the poorer cousin - having used up my loyalty upgrade with my carrier."
Pros: Durable, waterproof
Cons: Did not meet expectations, lack of system memory, not supportrd bysamsung kies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From St. Catharines, Ontario
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I really am not happy with this phone

PostedApril 15, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 15, 2013
"I got this phone thinking of the ruggedness of it, (good advertising) and of its compact design and my wife said her anderoid powered phone was great. I am sorry to say that after using it for a month now I am not happy with it at all. Its slow, not very user friendly, and an overall pain in my hand. I should have kept my Iphone 4S which I was extremly happy with and never let me complain about it."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good for small budgets

PostedMarch 22, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 22, 2013
"It was the cheapest you can buy in a smart phone and there is a reason for that. The Bluetooth is terrible it keeps disconnecting from my new 2012 Kia Sportage....every-time. Battery life is about a day if your lucky. The plug for the USB is badly designed as it takes a screwdriver to remove it, which you have to do at least once per day, a lot of times twice a day. I don't like it and I regret my decision to take it as my first smartphone."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, bad bluetooth connectivity
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Tisdale, SK, Can
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I think this is an ok phone, but a lousy smart phone.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 19, 2013
"This phone has a utterly useless amount of system memory. This causes low memory messages which causes the device to not recieve any type of message. It only keeps giving the low memory warning telling you to delete stuff from the memory. Due to this I have not been able to download any apps to the device. I would not recommend this device to anyone who wants it to be anything more than a phone."
Pros: Bright display, Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, very low system memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Oshawa, ON
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great phone for the price but screen broke first time it was dropped.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 17, 2013
"It still works with no issues with touch screen even though it has cracked."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, screen not durable as advertised
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Saint John, NB Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Don't know if I would buy another one

PostedDecember 29, 2012
PostedDecember 29, 2012
"I purchased this phone for my daughter and then decided to give her my BlackBerry and take this one. I loved the idea of the android platform....I'm always playing games on FaceBook. But I find it takes forever to load the games, then it crashes, then there isn't enough memory (but I have tons of room on my SD card). The pictures take forever to actually take and the quality of the picture isn't great. I love the look of the phone but I don't think it has everything I'm looking for in a phone. I am seriously considering purchasing an IPhone to get the apps I like. It's a personal thing....just doesn't do it for me but works well enough for the price."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Can't initiate hands free call

PostedNovember 10, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 10, 2012
"Pros: A beautifull phone. Sized just right. Rugged. Good features. Good speaker volume for music.
Cons: On my motorcycle I can't initiate a bluetooth call. Not a true handsfree smartphone to meet Canadian handsfree laws.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Aylmer, Ontario
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great value for rugged phone

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 12, 2012
"A great phone for rugged use but the volume output is low and the vibrate ringer is weaker than I expected. I have dropped this phone dozens of times, its been rained on, exposed to welding and grinding and the screen looks brand new when you clean it. The address book feature is very clunky and there are a lot of apps that come preloaded that I don't want and can't delete. The battery lifespan is up to the user, check all your apps to see what is using it up [ learned the hard way ]. Great value smartphone for working class environments but very difficult to see display in bright lit or sunlight areas."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: maximum sound volume too low
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Saskatchewan Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

UNRELIABLE

PostedAugust 23, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 23, 2012
"I had several incidents where the phone would not connect to network. I was getting strong signal but said unable to connect. On calling for support (from a landline) I was told to remove my sim card and re-insert! If this "Military grade " phone cannot take a drop without disconnecting the sim card, how can I rely on it in an emergency?"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Windsor, ON
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Like the phone but onboard memory & durability are questionable

PostedAugust 15, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 15, 2012
"Was shocked when my phone only took a 2 1/2 foot tumble that my screen ended up with a crack since this phone is marketed to be more durable then others & even has a construction worker on the box it came in. Also very frustrating. Can hardly load any apps because it keeps telling me my system memory is low & it even wouldn't let me receive or send texts one day because it said the system memory is low. What is the sense of a smart phone if I can't install apps. It won't even default to my sd card which is a 8gig card so there should be more then enough memory."
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This product is a nightmare to find a case for.

PostedJuly 25, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 25, 2012
"My daughter was given this phone for her birthday. As she is a teenager we thought about a case cover and screen protector. These items can be found NOWHERE. We have tried every cell phone store, kiosk, and online. There are two Rugby cell phone types out there, we have the Samsung galaxy Rugby which is very different from the other Rugby version. This item should be sold at the point of purchase to avoid this problem"
Cons: no accessories for this item
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto , Ontario
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good entry level smart phone.

PostedMay 29, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 29, 2012
"This is my first smart phone.Im an old geezer and I found some of the features were annoying .I havemade several unintentional call s using the apps and contact list. Maybe Im just learing but annoyin all the same.I also found the screen was next to impossable to see when in bright sunlight, had to look for some shade. I'll give it some time and post again"
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Kingston, Ontario
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

bad phone, good fun, too much

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 10, 2014
"Worst designed phone ever
nice touch pad toy and accessory device
don't recommend to others wanting a phone
recommend to others wanting to play and waste time
Poor display on a sunshiny day
"
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, doesn't work well as a phone, too much emphasis on slick not enough on sense, not for big fingers, not for designers
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

No Good!

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 24, 2014
"I've had my Rugby for over a year now and, although the sound quality, durability, and display are good.. There are definitely some not-so-good qualities about this phone. My number one complaint is the memory, you only get 165mb of memory usage it's a huge problem! I can't even receive text messages anymore or update apps. The processing is incredibly slow which can be frustrating and the added storage through memory cards doesn't count for anything. I can't move pictures, music, or apps to my memory card and, that's just piling onto the storage issue but, when you have a smart phone it is a very challenging issue. Really wishing I hadn't signed on for that three year contract, I really have no choice but to upgrade though, if I can't even receive messages.. Disappointing considering I've always considered Samsung an incredibly reliable brand."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, low memory, low ram
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Georgetown, ON
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not the greatest

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 3, 2013
"This phone was pretty good up until about a month later. The software updates never work, I've had it flashed twice to reset the software due to malfunctions. I'm on the second battery since the thing can't hold a charge. It plays games with me when it comes to texting (randomly decides when it wants to let you type andwhen it doesn't). The wifi always says it has an error leading to restarting the phone.
The only good thing about the phone is the size of it and it's appearance. The rest of it is terrible."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Samsung Pansy

PostedJune 11, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 11, 2013
"Phone dropped from my pocket , screen shattered . Only had it for two weeks. should be called Pansy instead of Rugby. Not a tough phone as touted."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

wish I had got an Iphone

PostedMay 16, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 16, 2013
"Ive had this phone for close to a year and I think it was ok for the first month. I hate how if I have it plugged in, if I get a message, it shuts off and I have to take the battery out to fix it. The memory on this thing is waay too small sitting at 165mb. I like that it's element proof and that's all"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Sask.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Strong, but not smart.

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 21, 2013
"I dropped this phone in a lake and it never stopped working, and dropped it in a beer by accident and again it did not stop working, accidentally crushed it under my bike and the screen cracked and the back is dented but yet it still works. All of that is great except that the phone is psychotic. It glitches constantly. It is super slow and it freezes and sometimes it starts typing or pressing buttons on its own and I have to turn the screen off and back on constantly while texting to get through a message because of the constant glitching. It has randomly created shortcuts on my home screen and randomly opens them up when I have my homescreen open so I am constantly struggling to delete these shortcuts which is a pain and a half while your phone won't stop glitching anytime you have the screen on. Also, the internet stopped working about 3 months after I got the phone and I can't seem to get it to work anymore. Not sure what went wrong there, but honestly I can only use this phone for texting, calling and taking pictures. So much for my data plan which I am stuck in and can't even use."
Pros: Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, glitches, touchscreen goes dead, slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, ON
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Destroyed in 6 months

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 3, 2013
"I persuaded my girlfriend to buy this phone as it is the only smart phone I know of geared towards the construction industry. The reason for this is that she's clumsy and drops phones and just about everything else. Within 6 months, she has cracked the "protective" plastic over the screen, the gyros don't work, and it freezes. I am expecting that she will get another month or two before I have to buy her another phone. This is not a durable phone by any means. If someone is looking for a durable device, by whatever phone you want and get a decent cover for it. That will be better than this."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, ON
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

No handsfree option

PostedDecember 23, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 23, 2012
"All the features are great except it does not allow you to call using voice activation with a bluetooth. I can only receive calls with the bluetooth. I think it's missing something very important here, don't you think? It's being returned for a phone that is compatible with what everyone needs today, a bluetooth."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From saskatoon,sk
I have used this product for:3-6 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Worst phone i ever bought!

PostedNovember 3, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 3, 2012
"When i first bought this phone i was excited because i work construction, and my last phone i dropped in water so i thought this would be perfect boy was i wrong! I have to leave it in truck because my screen cracked from doing nothing within first two days of owning. absolutely zero storage. And to top it off i lost everything on my sd card yesterday out of no where. All of a sudden says sd card is damaged. i take the best care of my stuff so this is frustrating especially since all pictures are stored on there cause no room on phone. im building a house and all those pics gone, pics of my son, my bf...gone. I was so proud of myself for buying this phone, it is the worst phone ive ever owned! Do Not Buy!"
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Hamilton, ON
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor phone - keep looking

PostedOctober 20, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 20, 2012
"THe phone looks great and is cheap compared to other better products.
I liked the bright screen, the camera, the built in speakers and the Samsung and Google play app stores (although I don't understand why I need two app stores - and they can't be removed). The phone comes with plenty of pre-installed software from my mobile carrier that I can't delete and remove from the phone. Now that I have added about 6 or 7 apps (including facebook), the phone constantly tells me the internal memory is almost full despite my addition of a 32gb mini sd card to hold media etc.
Next problem is the antenna and reception. Much of this depends on the cell carrier I imagine but I don't remember having so many calls dropped and getting "Emergency Calls Only" messages so often with other phone brands.
The software gets buggy and lags and is slow at times. At its best operating speed, it has an average response. It is not going to blow you away with its intuitive responsiveness.
I can't help but feel this phone is too buggy but was marketed tor people who might drop their phone often, or get it wet, or work outdoors sometimes in harsh weather conditions and sacrificed performance related features.
I do not recommend this phone and I tell as many people as I can not to get it. As soon as my cell carrier contract allows, I will get rid of it."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, reception, call quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Samsung Rugby disapointed fan

PostedOctober 12, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 12, 2012
"I don't really like it. I have been back to the dealership more than 6 times. the worst problem has been pairing the phone to my brand new KIA 2012 Sportage (Korean made SUV). I keep losing the pairing and have to manually re- pair the phone. The problem also exists in my girlfriends 2011 Ford Focus SES. We have hands free laws in this country and this phone has major issues with compliance to these requirements.
The phone has had to have the SIM card removed and reinstalled 4 times due to glitches in communications, such as loss of reception. The software has problems in the airplane mode software switch....buggy. Battery life is about 1.5 to 2 days.....not a pleasant thing to have to constantly worry about battery power and removing the tight water seal plugs.
The phone does seem rugged. I haven't dropped it yet and I bought an industrial holster. I also installed an extra plastic shield and screen protector.
The learning curve is steep as well, so be prepared to learn about Android OS as well as Samsung settings.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, bluetooth pairing is terrible., batterylife isn't very good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Front camera

PostedJune 12, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 12, 2012
"Bell advertised this as having a front camera. The AT&T version does, the Bell version does not. The display was also not bight enough in daylight."
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Ontario,Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I would not recommend this phone!

PostedMay 5, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 5, 2014
"The Samsung Galaxy Rugby | Red and Black is literally the most problematic phone I have ever owned. The memory on it is virtually non-existent and the "added storage" option does not aid this issue as you cannot physically transfer files to the memory card. Because of this, there are constant battles with Text memory being full that will make it so the phone will not receive any additional messages. On top of this issue, there is also an issue with the processing speed resulting in a 10 minute wait for YouTube videos to load. Trying to go online is basically a joke all in itself. Whether you're a beginner, or an expert with smartphones doesn't matter. The only way you should purchase this phone is if you'd like to be ripping your hair out."
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, slow webpage loading, little to no internal storage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 61 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From BC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too small of a internal storage

PostedMarch 16, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 16, 2014
"I have used this phone now just over a year and will have to replace battery very soon or get new phone. The only thing I like about this phone is the water proof feature.
It has a way to small internal memory. With all the stupid apps Roger puts on it and can not be deleted it uses up the memory after updating.
"
Pros: Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, very small internal memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From vancouver,B.C.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

useless memory system

PostedAugust 24, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 24, 2013
"it's unclear as to why google play or Samsung apps are forced to be on the phone when they cannot be used.Every time I have tried to download even a live wallpaper I am told memory is full , but there are no files that can be deleted or moved to the sd card. the updates for the programs that I have no choice but to have cannot be installed because of lack of space caused by those very programs.Very very poor design flaw"
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, Ontario
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

It's not worth spending any money on it

PostedJuly 24, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 24, 2013
"It has the basic features of any smart phone. I've had it for just over a year. I've had several problems including; connecting to my computer, slow browsing, and the screen freezes.
Just after the warranty ended my phone started turning off on it's own. This occurred about 20 times a day. I've had to call my phone company and buy a new phone. I would not suggest it if you are signing on to a two or three contract because the phone may not last that long.
"
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Orillia, Ontario
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

dropped it from waist height and the screen cracked

PostedMarch 18, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 18, 2013
"Warranty doesn't cover cracked screen, which just dropped out of my hands.
Why not make a protective case to protect the phone? I am still looking for a way to hold on to this slippery little phone.
BTW...why can't I see/open attachments in emails?
Also, I find mykids iphones to be way faster. Sorry, but it's not for me!!!
"
Cons: not durable, too slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From New york NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

It is the worst phone i have ever used in my life.

PostedNovember 5, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 5, 2012
"I highly recommend that nobody buys this phone as it is the worst functioning phone i have ever used in my life."
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Too big, Did not meet expectations, very slow, horrible, very overpriced
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Galaxy Rugby™ | Red and Black
Customer Avatar
From Hamilton Ontario
I have used this product for:less than a month
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Will not connect to my car

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 20, 2012
"Very poor or no Bluetooth connection. I cannot use this phone with my car. My old flip phone was far superior. Wish I had never bought this phone."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.