Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Smartphones
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Wave™ | Black

Samsung Wave™ | Black

Sleek, slim, super-fast, super-easy, super-social and SUPER AMOLED come together in the Samsung Wave, a smartphone from Samsung that runs on bada-Samsung's new, developer-friendly smartphone platform. bada is fast and easy to use with access to Samsung Apps, a marketplace filled with mobile apps created for Samsung phones. With a powerful, fast and fluid 1 GHz processor, customizable multiple homescreens, a SUPER AMOLED screen that makes video and images jump out of the phone, and Social Hub™ for one touch instant access to your contacts' messages and updates, it's easy to see why the world is getting carried away by Wave.
Rating:
1.708 / 5
1.7
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
15
1 out of 23(4%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Review 1 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
snickerssays
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a really great phone, especially for pictures!

PostedJune 22, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 22, 2011
"The pictures taken by the Wave look professional! It runs fast however sometimes freezes. I don't know if this is caused by my dropping it or the system. Lots of free apps and fun themes, I wouldn't want to trade my wave! I also love the radio app, you can record things from the radio and set ti was your ringtone!"
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
To_beer
From Moscow, Russia
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has nice features

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 17, 2013
"As usual a lot of useless standard application ranking and non-removable. There is no more support. Most of the popular (useful) applications can only buy. Not enough RAM.
Great display, very fine photos, very bright flash, can show on TV by 4-pin 3.5 jack.
Useful phone with great features. It can be greatest phone BUT there is samsung..."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, very fine photos, very bright flash
Cons: no support!!!!!!, bada, slippery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
hate the bada1.0
From Toronto, ON
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

no firmware upgrade, good battery life

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 2, 2012
"great battery life compare to newer smartphones, can't get away with older OS though!!"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, good battery life compared to newer phones
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
disappointed
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

no support

PostedApril 15, 2012
PostedApril 15, 2012
"you can't upgrade firmware for any apps therefore it's only good as a "cell phone" anything else it's not worth the money"
Cons: Poor quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
dolph
From gander, nl
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

no support

PostedMarch 6, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 6, 2012
"Some apps don't work without bada update which i have been waiting for since i got phone. Phone was discontinued right after i bought it. What works on the phone , i love."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no support
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Zuligin
From Dartmouth, NS
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Decent phone, but not very compatible

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"I've had the phone for just over 2 years now and I've yet to be able to upgrade the firmware. This in itself limits the use of the phone as I cannot download many of the new apps that come out. Very disappointing."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
marmina
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Big problem with apps

PostedOctober 23, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 23, 2012
"It is not easy to download apps or update the phone to be good for Samsung apps... It is hardly to say it is a smart phone... It is a great cell phone but cheap smart phone"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Muchacho
From Toronto
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not very smart phone.

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 12, 2012
"All of the hard keys are failing starting with the camera button. The BADA OS (the operating system it runs on instead of Android etc) is pretty horrible with a joke of an app store. Texting can be annoying with the tiny keys on the touchscreen- made easier by turning the phone 90 degrees, but this might involve locking and then unlocking the phone after the turn.. or just slapping it with your palm a bit. the browser is pretty bad not allowing flash support or in-browser videos. It supports most youtube (some are locked for mobile users). people always have trouble hearing me and i always have bad reception.
very durable though- you can drop it from a very high place and it will survive- maybe crack the screen."
Pros: Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
nowave123
From Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not impressed with this phone

PostedMarch 6, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 6, 2012
"I have had this phone a little over a year and no updates are available and have had problems with it closing applications, saying to much memory is in use with one running."
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Unhappy
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No Product Support

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 19, 2014
"The Bada system won't let you get any apps anymore. Samsung doesn't provided firmware upgrades anymore. Screen is nice and responsive, camera is ok too. Basically the phone is good, but the software/support is bad. Simple phone that does email/text/picture messaging etc. The best feature on the phone is that it has an FM radio. I've dropped this phone in it's soft case and it's not been damaged."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: product support
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
KD85
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This phone was a disappointment from the beginning.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"This phone has never functioned correct since the first day I got it. I had to send it back for repairs and it still does not work correctly. I am always getting warnings and the battery life is not great. The apps and functions are not easy to use. In the end, wish I had gone with something different. Have had nothing but issues with it. I now only use it to talk and text, nothing more. Not sure if I would get a Samsung again, a little thrown off by the Wave."
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
GregS
From Lindsay, Ontario
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

anything else would be better

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 20, 2013
"No updates for this model, so software becomes obsolete, many features don't work. Lots of games available, but none of the really useful apps."
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
sniptheelf
From st. john's newfoundland
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Garbage

PostedNovember 25, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 25, 2012
"This phone will not even update with Kies anymore. No way to upgrade anything and can't do anything with it besides talk and text. If I wanted to just do that I would not have gotten a smart phone. Cant go on facebook or use twitter very well. Trying to sync anything from email to memos is a nightmare. Do not get this phone."
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
cb5729
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Without operating system upgrades this smartphone isn't really smart.

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 23, 2012
"The phone was great when I bought it and all features worked but as time went on and the operating system became older features and apps stopped working (For example, I can no longer use google maps because google maps has updated whereas my phone's operating system has not). Riddled with glitches, without support for the OS this smartphone is now just a basic phone. I have contacted Samsung and they say that they have no plans for launching the Bada update in North America any time soon."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no support, no updates
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
jimmo
From Montréal, Québec, Canada
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No upgrade for North America

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 12, 2012
"This is a very nice phone with really good specs but there is no firmware upgrade for us Canadians. Most of the apps, even Google maps, don't work anymore with Bada 1.0 (the only version we Canadians have for Samsung Wave). This smartphone become now a regular phone with alot less feature that it could offer."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no upgrade, not smartphone anymore
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Stuckwithphones
From Windsor, Ontario
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

this phone does not live up to it's advertised functions and capabilities, and has a mind of it's own.

PostedAugust 26, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 26, 2012
"We have 2 of these phones. Our old Samsung phones were not as sophisticated as this phone but they worked amazingly well for over 4 years. We came to find out after doing battle with our phones almost on a daily basis that they were discontinued, are out- of- date, and were not really designed for a North American market. This is why some apps don't work well and some not at all. Upgrades are required to the OS firmware that can't be done to this phone. Space doesn't permit me to list all of the problems we have had with it."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, touchy, can't upgrade, apps don't work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
elcaminofrances
From ottawa, ontario
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

impossible to update

PostedJuly 26, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 26, 2012
"look is cool what works works well but unable to upgrade software which means you have an expensive camera and a not so useful cell phone..not smart at all ."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no upgrade
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
ceedee
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

below expectation

PostedJuly 14, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 14, 2012
"Bada is a total disapointement, why didn't they just use Android?"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Not a Happy Customer
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No firmware update!!!

PostedJune 12, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 12, 2012
"No firmware update!!!No firmware update!!! No firmware update!!! No firmware update!!! No firmware update!!! No firmware update!!!"
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Scotian
From Laval, QC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Excellent Phone + No Support = Don't buy

PostedMay 2, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 2, 2012
"Phone has great features but OS is buggy and only original firmware is available in Canada."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
wave
I have used this product for:1-2 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No support in north america for firmware updates

PostedApril 23, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 23, 2012
"Have had the phone for over a year and unfortunately, I'm realizing that there no intention to offer firmware updates for this phone in North America. These update are essential in order for this phone to function properly and it is disappointing that Samsung decided to ignore us in Canada. The 1.2 version of bada was never released for us and 2.0 seem to be passing us buy also. Very disappointed."
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Steve P
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lacking support between provider and samsung

PostedDecember 16, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 16, 2011
"I have this phone for about one year now and so far the only thing that I am empress is the video and sound quality otherwise the phone as yet to provide good services It would shut down for no reson sometime reboot during a call or no signal would come through so I had to reboot and other time it would jam I had the sim card replace to no avail I even ask my provider if they had a solution they had none so now I am stuck with a phone that as not even had a firmware update available to correct these problems Should I recommend that to a friend absolutly not,"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Person
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible, not worth the money.

PostedJuly 6, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 6, 2011
"There is a very poor selection of applications. The firmware will not upgrade even though Samsung promised a Bada 1.2 for the wave.There is very little support, the camera usually crashed and the phone must be restarted for it to work again. Samsung claims that thier 1GHz will make the phone's speed very quick but it is really laggy and spends alot of time loading when the phone is powered on. Also, if I take a photo and press the review button within 3-4 seconds, a message appears saying "Try again later". There are many other bugs in which the phone will respond a while after I press a button. I am really unhappy with my purchase and I DO NOT recomend this to anyone looking for a somewhat cheap smartphone. It lacks many important features and needs alot of fixing. The battery life is also bad and the phone sometimes reboots up to twice a day."
Pros: Durable, slow motion video
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow, no camera focus for video recording, many errors/crashes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Wave™ | Black
Customer Avatar
looseleef
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

PostedMarch 3, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 3, 2011
"No firmware update!!! Samsung lost my business. Everyone is saying that Samsung is skipping the Wave gt-s8500 for firmware updates. I guess im stuck with this out of date phone for 3 years!!! not a happy customer."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.