Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Home Entertainment Systems
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 280 Watts Wireless Subwoofer Speaker HW-D450

280 Watts Wireless Subwoofer Speaker HW-D450

With its sleek, sophisticated design, Samsung’s HW-D450 40” wide wall-mountable speaker bar is the perfect complement to your flat panel TV, as well as your home décor. Simple and easy to install, the hassle-free speaker system will fulfill your needs for an enhanced sound experience delivering 280 watts of virtual surround sound and thunderous bass from the dual-band wireless subwoofer. The result is an incredible boost in audio performance far beyond your television speakers.
Rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 6 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
4 out of 6(67%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 280 Watts Wireless Subwoofer Speaker HW-D450
Review 1 for 280 Watts Wireless Subwoofer Speaker HW-D450
Customer Avatar
Chipper
From Newmarket
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features, very easy to set up and beautil sleek design

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 6, 2013
"The sound quality is extremely good, a HUGE improvement over the tv speakers.The wireless sub-woofer works flawlessly. Cinema like sound at home at a good price,finally. Great work Samsung."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 280 Watts Wireless Subwoofer Speaker HW-D450
Customer Avatar
abedard
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Product has good features

PostedOctober 10, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 10, 2011
"I just picked this up from future shop and it works wonderfully. The smart volume works great when watching blu rays. A great buy to not break your wallet."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 280 Watts Wireless Subwoofer Speaker HW-D450
Customer Avatar
Stan Smith
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Happy

PostedJuly 3, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 3, 2011
"Just installed my new sound bar and wireless ipod dock. I am very impressed. Dramatic improvement over TV speakers. Everything syncs up easily and works beautifully.
I bought this because a big sound system in the bedroom was out of the question. Of course it does not match the quality of a big system but it is very impressive considering the size.
"
Pros: very sleek and unimposing, works very well with ipod accessory, includes rca and digital cables (rare these days)
Cons: a bit expensive, no tone control (bass treble), includes rca and digital cables (rare these days)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 280 Watts Wireless Subwoofer Speaker HW-D450
Customer Avatar
MisterMike
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good performance for your money, but lacks in some design and features

PostedDecember 28, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 28, 2011
"The sound quality is a definite improvement over the TV sound. In the showroom, it sounded as good, if not better, than other similarly priced sound bars. The wireless sub provides the flexibility to put it anywhere, and by placing it behind the listener's seat, it helps to expand the sound space so that all the sound does not appear to be coming from the front.
We purchased this Samsung sound bar because we expected it to work flawlessly with the the Samsung QWERTY TV remote that came with the Samsung TV we purchased. However, the Samsung QWERTY TV remote is unable to control the volume nor power of the sound bar. We were also unable to get our cable box universal remote to control the sound bar volume (the cable box is a brand new model this year, so it should have the latest Samsung codes). Thus, when using the Samsung QWERTY TV remote to surf YouTube or watch movies or movie trailers with the CinemaNow app on the TV, I need to grab the sound bar remote to control the volume. Similarly, when using the cable box remote to watch TV shows, I also need to grab the sound bar remote to control the volume.
It also does not have manual tone control (treble and bass controls), but the tone is set differently for each sound mode (Drama, Sports, News, Cinema, etc.). I would have liked to see a custom sound mode (like the Samsung TVs) that would allow me to adjust the tone settings.
The inability to control the Samsung sound bar volume using the latest remote control from a Samsung TV is the main reason why I gave a Fair rating for the product Features.
There is also an issue with the wall mounting bracket. The sound bar does not sit centered on the bracket, it sits about 1/2" to the left. So if you install the bracket itself on-center below the TV, the sound bar ends up about 1/2" to the left of center. This would not be so noticeable if you have a 55" or larger TV, but for a 46" or smaller TV, you can see that the sound bar is not centered. I was not able to install the bracket 1/2" to the right to compensate for this design mistake because I have a stereo equipment shelving unit that has a center post mounted on the wall (to hold the glass shelves). The sound bar bracket fits around the center post, and thus cannot be shifted over to the right."
Pros: Lightweight, slim design
Cons: Did not meet expectations, samsung tv remote does not work with it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 280 Watts Wireless Subwoofer Speaker HW-D450
Customer Avatar
Frankie
From Ancaster Ontario Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

My D450 speaker system

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"Speakers turn on/off on their own, I am unable to control this, I am using an optical cable and even this does not help. This speaker system is directly connected to my Samsung 3D plasma TV.
Unfortunately it now just sits in front of my TV shutoff and unused. I note that Samsung no longer makes this and I understand why..
Will I purchase Samsung products in the future ??????
"
Cons: Did not meet expectations, not reliable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
57" SyncMaster™ LCD Display 570DX
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 280 Watts Wireless Subwoofer Speaker HW-D450
Customer Avatar
frustrated
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Samsung TV Remote Doesn't work with this

PostedMay 10, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 10, 2011
"When will this be fixed? I had to return this item to the store."
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.