Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop LCD
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 40" 550 Series full HD Widescreen LCD TV

40" 550 Series full HD Widescreen LCD TV

The Samsung LCD TV Series 5 is more than a powerful performer, providing Full HD 1080p images, enhanced multimedia connectivity, inviting you to enter a world of rich, realistic entertainment.
Rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 7(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 40" 550 Series full HD Widescreen LCD TV
Review 1 for 40" 550 Series full HD Widescreen LCD TV
Customer Avatar
Easygoing
From Schomberg, Ontario
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has clear pictures, great features, etc..

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 15, 2013
"I am so pleased with this product and other Samsung products in my possession that I recommend the brand to everybody I talk to. This TV is trouble free, easy to set up and has great features, etc.."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, nice appearance
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40" 550 Series full HD Widescreen LCD TV
Customer Avatar
SamsungGuy
From Newfoundland, Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Product

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"I've owned my TV now for just under 2 years. There are two features that are my favorite. One is it has the ability to pick up unscrambled digital channels. I subscribe to just a basic, non-digital cable service, and yet when autoprogramming my tv, I get certain digital channels. My second favorite feature would have to be the built in ethernet port and all share product. I can play Audio and video files straight from my laptop to the television without having to run extra cables. Also, with Samsung All Share, I can use my other Samsung products (Galaxy S II mobile phone and Galaxy Tab 10.1) to push items to the TV as well. If I'm in the kitchen and want to hear a song on my laptop in the room, using my phone and allshare, I can have that file play on my TV without having to leave the kitchen. I could go on, but this is getting long. I'm due for a new laptop soon, and I already know it will be a Samsung model"
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, built in ethernet
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 (Wi-Fi) | Black
3.7 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40" 550 Series full HD Widescreen LCD TV
Customer Avatar
T.E.S.H.O.
From B.C. CANADA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST 52" BEAUTIFULL FULLY 1080p HIGH DEF EVER , WINS HANDS DOWN !!!

PostedNovember 4, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 4, 2012
"This 52" 1080P model has great features,the HD picture quality was far better than any other make or model,the picture is so defined you see a pore on a persons face. Skin revealed,lol... The features are perfect for your home entertaining,the neighbors will want to come over allot,lol... it has brought me much joy to watch every day,i am so hooked on high definition now.... WE TOOK OUR TIME GETTING ONE, THEN THE NEWEST ONES CAME OUT,5 WEEKS FROM THE FACTORY WHERE BUILT !! PASSED ALL OTHERS IN STORE LINED UP SIDE BY SIDE,UP AND DOWN TOO...."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, can add speakers too several usb ports., a true high def at 1080p, no glass screen to suck up dust., does not get hot at all ., easy to care for, my animals truly think it is a window they react., can be mounted taking up little to no space.., it is beautifull, can pivot on stand to change tv angle, hdmi 1080p !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40" 550 Series full HD Widescreen LCD TV
Customer Avatar
cc902
From Halifax, NS, Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Tv for it's price.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"Very good quality television, especially with it's price tag. If you don't want to spend over $1000 then this tv is perfect. Performs very well, clear picture, vibrant colours. Enough inputs to hook everything up to it with ease."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40" 550 Series full HD Widescreen LCD TV
Customer Avatar
Helmuth
From Newmarket, Ontario
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This TV is great value for money

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"This is a very good product, both in style and function. It was easy to assemble and set up, which includes loading of the available channels. The only beef I have is that the audio connector (3.5 MM) on the back is flimsy. I hat difficulties getting my head phones to work, and it turned out to be the connector not making proper contact with the headphone plug."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40" 550 Series full HD Widescreen LCD TV
Customer Avatar
sergio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for the price

PostedMarch 21, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 21, 2011
"Something I don’t like about this TV is that the backlight always keeps bright the edges of the screen unless you turn it down to 10 or 5, but almost nobody notices this issue, in fact I didn´t notice it the first week because the bright level was very good. The RGB mode is very useful if you want to get vivid and realistic colors. In general the image is very good for an LCD, you can tell it’s Full HD, I can´t wait for HD channels, the design is clean and nice, remote control too big, 9.5” long, sound is not so great but it works, average connectivity and nice menu graphics."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: 60 hz
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40" 550 Series full HD Widescreen LCD TV
Customer Avatar
Concerned Consumer
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good TV

PostedDecember 30, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 30, 2011
"Replacing an older LNS40 tv that had speakers beginning to rattle and various green blobs occasionally show up. The current model has more options but no manual. Sound menu has an equalizer, but no directions on how to set any of the frequency settings. The speakers on the older tv were fine, the speakers on the new unit are terrible. Not bad speakers, but terrible. Speakers are mounted inside the case creating a muffled and "tinny" sound. If you are using external speakers this may not be a problem. I am now shopping for speakers in an attempt to correct Samsung's bad design. Hard to believe engineering took so many steps backward in the design of the audio system."
Pros: easy set-up
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor speakers
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.