Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop LCD
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

40" LCD 550 Series (2012)

Samsung’s E550 delivers a premium TV that is practical as it is stylish. For the best possible Full HD 1080p picture quality the E550 delivers pictures as true to life a photo.
Rating:
3.923 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Review 1 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
From Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for watching sports.

PostedDecember 12, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 12, 2013
" We bought this tv for use at our cottage. We enjoy the excellent colour and performance. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: speakers
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tv!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
PostedDecember 8, 2013
" Overall picture quality has been excellent with no glitches or issues thus far. Extremely happy with purchase and would do it again in a second "
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa, ON
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this tv proves once more you can't go far wrong with Samsung

PostedOctober 17, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 17, 2013
" More than pleased and am ready to purchase another one, only bigger "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
From KIngston Ontario Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Present ever

PostedMarch 22, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 22, 2013
" My brother bought my family this television for Christmas this year and we love it. It is very user friendly, the picture is beautiful, and the sound is fantastic. "
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
From Vancouver, BC
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Long Lasting and Great Picture

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
" I have had a Samsung television and it has never disappointed, easy to work functions, great picture and a great value. My next purchase will be a Samsung 100% "
Pros: Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
From Nova Scotia, Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome TV except input/output limitations.

PostedNovember 9, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 9, 2013
" Great television, however, I would only recommend this product for uses that have a receiver that will take all inputs (blue ray, cable box ect...) and output video through HDMI to the television because there are no sound output channels available from the tv. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no sound output
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I've had this TV for over 3 years and I'm very pleased with it

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" The picture is clear and bright, even in a bright room.
Lots of source connection sockets for various equipment.
Extra HDMI, USB and RCA sockets on the edge so no need to access the back of the TV.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
From ontario , canada
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Product and exceptional picture

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" I enjoy the all media share feature on this product - only thing it takes a long time to load media. You have to be patient or you will have media read errors and disconnects for no reason. It will persist until you format the external and reload media onto disk or usb stick. Audio cuts out for 3 seconds every half hour of movie play. Waiting for firmware update to hopefully fix that bug. Otherwise the picture and sound are dynamic "
Cons: firmware bug
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:2-5 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like this product.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" However, there are 2 issues. 1- I got burning images on the screen during the 1st year of use. 2- I like the USB capability but I wish I could watch my videos as well. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
From NB
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice product. I am a person of few words

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" i like it. works for me. I am a person of few words. "
Pros: Bright display
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
From Montreal, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not very impressive

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 22, 2012
" I just bought this product and I am not very satisfied by this product. The video quality is just good, not very good or best. And this TV has only 2 HDMI connections. The missing feature which disappointed me the most is that I cannot play videos via USB, only images and Music. The speakers are not very impressive and are at the rear. Overall I give it a score of 6/10. "
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no video via usb
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
From Montreal
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

No video via USB !!!!!

PostedJuly 28, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 28, 2012
" Lack of connection & incredible no video through usb - "
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 40" LCD 550 Series (2012)
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, ON
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

What was Samsung thinking with the 2012 models?

PostedJune 2, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 2, 2012
" I just purchased last year's model LN40D550 because this year's models are a huge mistake. I noticed they dropped tons of features from the new models. The comprehensive I/O features on last year's model was the major selling point for me. This year they got rid of a ton of features, yet the price hasn't dropped. Actually I got last year's model significantly cheaper. Take a look at this:
Last year versus this year
4 HDMI vs 2 HDMI
2 component vs 1 component
PC input vs No PC input
2 USB vs 1USB
Ethernet vs No network
optical and analogue (Stereo) audio output vs no audio output
For me, I am using the PC (VGA) input, both component inputs and the audio output. And in the future will probably need more the 2 HDMI inputs. The new model would definitely not meet my needs. Seriously NO audio output of any kind? So no way to run audio from over the air TV stations to my AV receiver? What were they thinking? The model number should be LN40E501 and they should be selling it for less than last year's models given they have dropped features. Calling it the 550 it should at least match the features of last year's 550 models. This one is a serious step down in features from the older models. The comprehensive I/O has always been a stand out feature on the Samsung TVs. Now they have gone the other way and offer fewer inputs and outputs than the competition. The competition at least offer audio outputs.
Hopefully, they will improve things in 2013. "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: no audio output, not enough inputs
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+35points
36of 37voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.