Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Notebooks
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for NP780Z5E

NP780Z5E

The Samsung Series 7 CHRONOS runs faster than ever, delivering a seamless computing experience and brilliant entertainment anywhere.
Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 4 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 3(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for NP780Z5E
Review 1 for NP780Z5E
Customer Avatar
From canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best laptop on the market

PostedAugust 22, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 22, 2013
" This laptop was the best I have ever used! The speed is amazing, the screen is brilliant and viewing angles are great! although the laptop is not the lightest I still think its amazing. I have tried macbooks and other laptops but none of them quite match this laptop. Compared to the Mac I love this trackpad more its easier to click and has a smother surface. In addition the JBL speakers sound exquisite and have great bass. Thev laptop also contains a lot of ports which is great and very convenient. So to sum up or the money you are getting the best. I would recommend this to anyone. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, loud speakers, very fast, side sync
Cons: no cons
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NP780Z5E
Customer Avatar
From Toronto
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great screen for photography !

PostedJuly 7, 2013
PostedJuly 7, 2013
" The colors and viewing angles are incredible, battery live and sound are amazing. It's fast.....but little heavy. Lack of dvd and SSD. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NP780Z5E
Customer Avatar
From Calgary, AB
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great but terrible performance.

PostedJune 17, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 17, 2013
" This laptop is amazing for sure. The only issue was the performance of the HDD. For some reason Samsung decided to put a really slow, really large hard drive in here rather than a SSD. For this reason, it drops the battery life and performance greatly. If you do decide to buy it, look into upgrading to a SSD or at least hybrid drive. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NP780Z5E
Customer Avatar
From Victoria, BC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

5 stars once it receives GPU driver updates

PostedMay 27, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 27, 2013
" All in all, this is an incredible laptop. To get this kind of power in a chassis this small is one thing, but to then pair it with ridiculous battery life ( 9+ hours web surfing ) is the icing on the cake.
I've been surprised to find that I have really enjoyed having the touchscreen on this, initially I thought it was just a useless gimmick that happened to come alongside all the features I wanted in a laptop, but it really makes Windows 8 that much nicer.
The screen is beautiful, even though it's not technically an IPS display, it may as well be. Viewing angles are incredible, no ghosting or colour wash out happens when you tilt the display even to extreme angles. The screen is bright and vibrant.
The speakers are very loud and clear, among the best I have heard on a laptop. Beside my wife's Samsung Series 9 15" it isn't even a comparison, these sound like a proper stereo compared to most laptop speakers.
The keyboard is very good, keys have a decent amount of travel, and the fn lock button is a nice touch to allow one handed adjustment of things like screen brightness, volume etc... The keyboard backlight is only average, at certain angles it does not appear to light each key wholly. Not a major problem if you are a strong typer but worth noting.
The build is HDD is relatively slow, one of my only complaints. I wish this had been made with an SSD option. This will likely be an upgrade I perform in the coming months.
Power and RAM is fantastic, naturally. But herein lies my deduction of one star. It's pretty clear to me that since the GPU in this device is so new, it is in painful need of driver updates that are not available as of 5/27/2013.
The laptop does NOT use the dedicated GPU when I launch games, but rather the intel integrated graphics, and even within the controls to choose your switchable graphics, the 8870 doesn't show up on the list beside the Intel HD 4000. If you do a Google search for series 7 2013 chronos video card problem you will see similar complaints. The game I want to play most on this is League of Legends, a relatively low demand ( graphically ) game based on the Warcraft 3 Engine. At full resolution ( 1080P ) and high settings I can barely break 30fps. In contrast, my 4 generations ( 3 years ) old Radeon HD 4870 desktop GPU can run the game at 1920x1200 at max settings and never dip below 60fps. I know that the 8870 is an extremely capable card, but I believe because this is so new that it's just not properly supported yet, I expect a fix in the coming month.
I've tried installing a beta version of the GPU drivers as recommended on an owner's forum, but I still can't play the only game I want to play at anywhere near max settings.
All in all, excellent power, a beautiful, high resolution touch screen with excellent viewing angles, tremendous battery life, all the ports you could need, a backlit keyboard, all in a chassis that is identical in thickness to my year old 15" Macbook Pro ( which I am so thrilled to be dumping for this machine ). Just needs a few driver updates and an SSD. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, powerful, battery life
Cons: needs driver updates
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.