Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Notebooks
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for ATIV Book 9 15”

ATIV Book 9 15”

Rethink the Laptop
Rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for ATIV Book 9 15”
Review 1 for ATIV Book 9 15”
Customer Avatar
From Manila, Philippines
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The more I use this product, the more I am happy to have purchased it!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 14, 2013
"This is my 2nd review. Usually, the more I use a product especially a laptop, the less I tend to appreciate it over time due over familiarity and commoness of features. The NP900X4D-A02 gives me the opposite effect. The more I use it, the more I appreciate it! I am not sure if its just a total balance in all its features vis-a-vis my requirements or the mystifying effect of its design, features and overall performance. Whatever it is, I am more and more happy to have made the right decision."
Pros: Built-in speakers, superlative design, best light weight vs performance features, best weight to size ratio, superlative quality
Cons: under-priced
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ATIV Book 9 15”
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa, ON
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Design and Construction Quality

PostedAugust 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 11, 2013
"One of the few ultrabooks with a full 15 inch screen, yet thinner than the smaller MacBook Air. Solid magnesium body with very high quality finish. An IPS display (like the 13.3 inch model) would have been better than the TN display used on this machine, in terms of off-axis viewing. However, the screen is perfectly usable, and is brighter than average, making it usable outdoors. Overall, an excellent piece of engineering with superb battery life."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ATIV Book 9 15”
Customer Avatar
From Manila, Philippines
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I never imagined that I would ever afford such an ULTRA PERFORMING ULTRA notebook such as this Samsung Series 9!

PostedJune 9, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 9, 2013
"A lot has already been said from various forums, testimonials from respectable professionals regarding this product! I never thought possessing let alone affording such an incredible ultra performant machine as this Series 9 Samsung! I take my hats off to all those involved in the design, creation and manufacture of such a magical product which will surely hold its top notch position for many years to come!"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, fair price tag, extremely beautifully designed, extremely well built
Cons: only one - wished i owned one much earlier!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ATIV Book 9 15”
Customer Avatar
From Cantebury, SD
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

PostedMay 21, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 21, 2013
"Excellent Ultrabook.
Design is really good.
Portability taken to the next level.
"
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ATIV Book 9 15”
Customer Avatar
From Vancouver, BC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing laptop!

PostedApril 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 2, 2013
"It has everything I need as a student! Lightweight, easy to carry from class to class, durable and amazing quality!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ATIV Book 9 15”
Customer Avatar
From Markham
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fastest Booting Laptop I Ever Had

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 19, 2013
"This Laptop is able to boot up from start at a really fast speed. It's also the thinnest laptop I've ever seen before. It is very durable and solid. I can bring it to school and meetings with ease because of how portable it is made. And showing documents from my laptop is easy because of SSD."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ATIV Book 9 15”
Customer Avatar
From newfoundland, ca
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING!!! Other guy must be an Apple employee.

PostedNovember 23, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 23, 2012
"Best pc to date. Looks good, fast, amazing features with windows 8 like side gestures on the track pad to control the OS. Like swipe from left and you get previous app and swipe from the right and get the charms bar.
Very light, very fast, best features of any class computer, amazing track pad, keyboard is flawless. It's really the perfect all around computer."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, design, keyboard, screen, features, everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ATIV Book 9 15”
Customer Avatar
From Vancouver, BC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thin, lightweight laptop with big screen

PostedAugust 7, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 7, 2013
"I was shopping around for the lightest laptop with the biggest screen and this is the one. Going forward, I predict manufacturers are likely to drop laptops like this and move down to smaller screen sizes, even though that would be a bad move on their part. So I figured this might be the last chance to get a large screen lightweight premium laptop before they would be all gone. I need the screen size to do serious work like programming and CAD.
The option in BIOS to stop charging at 80% to prolong battery life is a very useful feature and definitely one of the reasons I bought this laptop. Given I am still getting 7+ hours from only 80% capacity and the battery of this laptop is harder to replace I don't see any reason not turning this feature on.
Construction seems very robust and durable with my baby son pounding on it and walking all over it but still hasn't destroyed it yet.
Boot time and wake up time are very fast, thanks to the SSD. Recovery eats up 21GB of space out of an already-tight 128GB. Fortunately I found some instructions on the net to backup the recovery partition. I used the freed-up space to dual boot between Ubuntu and WIndows 8.
I was initially confounded by some technical issues but they all turned out to be user error. For example CPU speed was once stuck at 0.78GHz because I accidentally entered silent mode and had to exit it by hitting Fn-F11. Similarly, the touchpad freezes because I accidentally pressed Fn-F5. In any case, updating to the latest drivers is necessary.
The Fn key layout could have been arranged better. The keyboard backlit brightness adjustment keys are assigned to Fn-F9 and Fn-F10, but in the dark when you need to turn it on these key positions are very hard to find. If they had been assigned to e.g. Fn arrow keys they would have been much easier to operate in the dark."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ATIV Book 9 15”
Customer Avatar
From Quebec
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great laptop

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"this is my first new generation laptop and i dont see any negative thing to say about it.Agreat laptop for the family"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ATIV Book 9 15”
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing Laptop in every way, except for one fatal flaw

PostedNovember 26, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 26, 2012
"This is probably the nicest looking ultrabook/laptop on the market (including the Macbook Air/Pro, etc). It has all the features you want (USB 3.0, Bluetooth 4.0, MicroHDMI (which I actually prefer!), GBe, i5, 4GB RAM, SSD). The battery life is nothing short of fantastic too!
The design is sleek, yet functional. The display is beautiful, and I cannot imagine any resolution higher than 1600x900, if you had anything higher you would need to scale it down which would just defeat the purpose. At a certain point the screen resolution difference becomes something the human eye cant see. This is also the brightest display I have ever seen.
The build quality is good, not great (as I would expect).
Overall I would rate it a 5/5 but here is my problem. The WiFi module does not work, I have updated the drivers twice, updated Windows 8 countless times, there is nothing left to update and it will not connect. I will give it a few more days and google searches and I hate to return this but be weary about this issue. It was "supposed" to be fixed, I dont know if it actually was (this was a major problem in the previous gen).
If the WiFi works I would recommend this to anyone and everyone in the market for an ultrabook."
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, bluetooth 4.0, ssd, battery life!
Cons: wifi module, expensive, small miscue's detail wise
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ATIV Book 9 15”
Customer Avatar
From Canada, quebec
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

bad so bad

PostedNovember 8, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 8, 2012
"Touch pad doesnt work still freeze, bad move window 8
dont buy it"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
7of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ATIV Book 9 15”
Customer Avatar
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor quality

PostedNovember 24, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 24, 2012
"this machine doesn't worth the money. really poor quality."
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-20points
3of 26voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.