Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 51" 550 Series 3D full HD Plasma TV

51" 550 Series 3D full HD Plasma TV

The 1080p Samsung Plasma TV Series 5 represents the future of 3D technology. Get ready to turn all your content into 3D with the built-in real-time 3D converter, delivering 3D picture, sound and contrast. The 3D HyperReal™ Engine delivers unparalleled technology so what you see is as real as it gets, and Clear Image Panel means you always see a clear image from every angle. Plus, Cinema Smooth™ delivers greater clarity and crispness, and AllShare™ DLNA technology enables your TV to wirelessly connect with compatible mobile devices. VIEWER WARNING: Pregnant women, the elderly, children under age six and those with a family history of epilepsy or stroke should refrain from 3D television viewing. If you experience any of the following symptoms while viewing 3D images, discontinue viewing: altered vision; lightheadedness; dizziness; involuntary eye or muscle twitching; and/or disorientation. For the complete warning guide visit 3D TV.
Rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 6 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 6(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 51" 550 Series 3D full HD Plasma TV
Review 1 for 51" 550 Series 3D full HD Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
From Bright's Grove, Ontario
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A year and a half later I would still recommend it.

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 26, 2013
" I have had this TV for a year and a half and have no complaints at all. Great image quailty, and colour definition. Also, the built in speakers are excellent compared to my other TV (Sharp LED - 37"). It looks great on my wall mount with my hidden cabling. Samsung 3D Blu Ray player seemlessly marries up to the TV as well. Would definitely buy a Samsung product again. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, style
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 51" 550 Series 3D full HD Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
From Whitby
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT TV

PostedNovember 26, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 26, 2012
" I bought this TV just after Christmas last year. Great picture & nice looking. PS3 games are amazing on it. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 51" 550 Series 3D full HD Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Do no buy this T.V.

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 6, 2012
" We purchased this T.V. new in May 2012. Brought it home and finally set it up in June. This TV is noted on many online forums for "brightness pops". The brightness of the screen will momentarily pop or change (become lighter or darker). This happens regardless of picture settings, media sources or inputs. We are going to try to exchange this t.v. for a newer model. I can only hope Samsung stands behind their product. We'll see... "
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 51" 550 Series 3D full HD Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
From Toronto
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Looks great but brightness flickers

PostedJune 2, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 2, 2012
" The TV looks really great, would be perfect but the brightness flickers up and down. Mostly not a problem but for some shows it gets annoying. "
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 51" 550 Series 3D full HD Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the Best HD 3D TVs available

PostedDecember 13, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 13, 2011
" I bought this tv and it is just amazing.
Sansung has proven once again that they know what they are doing.
Connected Devices:
PS3: I use this to watch my blueray and 3d movies. the quality of the picture of both 3d and blueray is mindblowing.
dstv HD PVR decoder: the picture quality is great, there is no pixelated images and i have seen on other TVs.
HD Media Center: I have low and HIGH quality videos on this device and both play pretty nice.
PC: I Share my videos , music over the network.
I use almost all the features on the tv including the feature to control my ps3 with the remote of my tv.
I also have the TV connected to my local LAN and it accesses files across the network without any problems.
I use the USB ports and it all just works seamlessly.
I must say My Family loves this TV so much.
Thank you samgsung.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, great 3d
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 51" 550 Series 3D full HD Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic size and value for most rooms.

PostedMay 29, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 29, 2011
" I'm blown away with the quality of this product and its features. The overall aesthetic is quite attractive, a nice quantity of HDMI ports are available for input and the 3D viewing experience at this size is simply gorgeous!
The video and audio quality are surprisingly great. I say surprisingly becuase the six previous 20-47" HDTVs do not match this for quality in either video or audio.
There are many features built-in and all are useful, but you can disable, enable or edit them as you see fit. Personally, my favorite is the screen burn protection. I can freely change the aspect ratio to 4:3 and play an older video game or 'full screen' movie and not worry about the screen burning effect lingering after I'm done watching the movie or playing a game.
The only negatives I can think of are the screen glare that differs depending on your room window situation and the lack of S-Video input and headphone out. S-Video and 3.5mm Headphone support is a bit of a silly thing to desire for this 51" behemoth of quality. However it would have been nice. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, 3d support
Cons: no 3.5mm audio out / headphone jack
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.