Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 60" 5300 Series Plasma TV (2013)

60" 5300 Series Plasma TV (2013)

Discover a great plasma TV that’s as practical as it is stylish. Experience movies, shows, sports and more through Samsung’s enhanced connectivity with excellent picture performance – all in 1080p vertical for images as true to life as a photo.
Rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
4 out of 6(67%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 60" 5300 Series Plasma TV (2013)
Review 1 for 60" 5300 Series Plasma TV (2013)
Customer Avatar
Rombapalle
From Montreal, Quebec
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This plasma tv takes watching tv to a new level !

PostedDecember 12, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 12, 2013
"This is my third plasma and let me tell you that the colors and contrast are unbeatable. From bluray movies to hi-res programs the picture is consistently brilliant."
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: needs more hdmi outputs
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 60" 5300 Series Plasma TV (2013)
Customer Avatar
gundam2000
From Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I wanted 60" and I wanted cheap but from a name brand

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"This tv is the only one that fits my requirements.
I have had it for a few months now and its working great.
This is my 4th samsung. I still have the tube tv I purchased in 1994. I expect this tv to last just as long as my other Samsung tv's
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 60" 5300 Series Plasma TV (2013)
Customer Avatar
Bluenose
From New Germany, NS, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plasma Is The Way To Go!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 8, 2013
"This Plasma TV is just great for anyone on a budget. This is my second Plasma TV purchase from Samsung!
I have purchased over 8 big ticket items from the Samsung line of consumer products, I highly recommend buying from Samsung if you want a Quality Product!
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 60" 5300 Series Plasma TV (2013)
Customer Avatar
Johnny
From Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SPECTACULAR PLASMA

PostedApril 21, 2013
PostedApril 21, 2013
"I've owned a 50'' Samsung plasma that i bought in 2007 for 6 years. after tens of thousands of hours of use, the dark black began to show some green fuzz. nothing you couldnt look past but an upgrade was inevitable. I chose this because i was so happy with the performance of my first Samsung and wanted to stay with plasma. THIS TV IS AMAZING AS FAR AS PICTURE QUALITY, SOUND AND DESIGN. I love it and it is worth every penny. Thank you everyone at Samsung."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 60" 5300 Series Plasma TV (2013)
Customer Avatar
GoLeafsGo2013
From Hamilton, ON
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great picture for everything EXCEPT HOCKEY!!!!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"Very impressed with the picture for movies and pretty much everything EXCEPT HOCKEY. Picture goes dim during hockey games and gradually brightens back up only to dim again within 5-10 seconds...CONSTANTLY!!! Returned the first one after trying an update that was supposed to fix it and didn't. Second one is 75% better but still not perfect for hockey. Was told the tv is trying to offset images that are too bright, so I told the Samsung customer service rep that I don't want my tv deciding what's too bright for me. Why have brightness settings on a tv if the tv is going to have a life of its own and just do whatever it wants anyway? If you don't watch a lot of hockey you won't be disappointed with this tv. Looks amazing. If you watch a lot of hockey, try something else."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: terrible auto brightness control during hockey
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 60" 5300 Series Plasma TV (2013)
Customer Avatar
static48
From montreal, quebec
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

if you like watching hockey, stay away

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 6, 2013
"this tv does not handle hockey well at all. Something to do with ABL(automated brightness limiter). The whites of this tv just look awful."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 60" 5300 Series Plasma TV (2013)
Customer Avatar
Joseph
From Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great picture, until you watch hockey, or anything white and bright.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
PostedJanuary 28, 2014
"Really loved this television for the first two days I've had it, then I turned on a hockey game. It seems the display has major issues handling the bright whites of a hockey game. Seconds after turning the game on, the picture begins automatically adjusting itself, dimming down the whites to almost grey, then dimming and washing out the colors on the jerseys too.
At first I thought it was the Eco-friendly settings, I went in and checked and they are all set to off. Did some more research, and apparently its the ABL (Automatic Brightness Limiting) that apparently is now a part of all plasma displays, whether its for energy savings or because the panel can't handle the brightness, or whatever the case may be. However, there's no way to turn it off. It constantly changes on its own while watching a hockey game, or anything with bright colors (not just whites).
Very disappointed in this display. My 5 year old Samsung plasma doesn't have these issues, and has a much better picture.
One other drawback... lots of glare off this screen when compared to my older Samsung plasma.
If you can live with these issues, or only plan to watch alot of dark colored scenes, then you'll enjoy this TV. That's pretty limiting though.."
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 60" 5300 Series Plasma TV (2013)
Customer Avatar
Greg
From Canmore, AB
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Hockey is terrible

PostedNovember 8, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 8, 2013
"Bought for hockey. Wish I'd seen previous review. TV constantly brights & dims as cameras zoom & pan. Unwatchable for this purpose. Everything else (except football turf color) is beautiful."
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, white quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.