Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 60" 5500 Series 3D Plasma TV (2014)

60" 5500 Series 3D Plasma TV (2014)

The F5500 delivers a completely different TV experience – now in the 3rd dimension. This plasma TV offers enhanced viewing in any light, and by popping on a pair of the included Active Shutter glasses, you can enjoy immersive 3D movies, games and more. The F5500 is a fully equipped Samsung Smart TV, so you can stream movies, access your social networks, browse the web, and access apps, all from your TV. The Dual Core Processor also makes everything faster, including your web browsing experience. The Plasma F5500 Series is more than just a TV; it’s a Samsung Smart TV.
Rating:
4.875 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 60" 5500 Series 3D Plasma TV (2014)
Review 1 for 60" 5500 Series 3D Plasma TV (2014)
Customer Avatar
From Vancouver, BC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great 3D TV

PostedApril 27, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 27, 2014
" I've had this TV for about a year now, works fine and plays most 3D and BR movies with no problems.
The only shortfall I think is the lack of headphone jack as I don't have a home theater systems due to my space issue.
This feature becomes really important later on when you want to watch a movie without disturbing anyone else at home so I would have think twice next time on purchasing a TV without a headphone jack.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: no headphone jack
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 60" 5500 Series 3D Plasma TV (2014)
Customer Avatar
From atlantic canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

why can't remote voice control work for canadians

PostedMarch 21, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 21, 2014
" i think the tv is amazing , but setting up at first ,it asked for a zip code , i live in canada , so we use postal codes , so millions of users can't use voice control on the remote because this feature only works for u.s residents, what's with that?? , you guys gotta update your app and find a solution for us canadians , "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 60" 5500 Series 3D Plasma TV (2014)
Customer Avatar
From Calgary, AB
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A terrific value for a quality tv....very unfortunate that plasma is on the way out....

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 27, 2014
" The Samsung 5500 60" plasma tv is a beautiful unit and highly functional. It looks good in the room and as long (as with any plasma) there isn't direct light on the tv - the color and clarity is brilliant. It is a reflective screen so you do see what's in the room when off - and can see reflections with bright light but is better than other plasma's I have had.
The picture particularly for movies is outstanding. You still can't beat plasma for video. Teamed with a Samsung 3D blu ray player - this becomes a really fun and functional entertainment center. I didn't buy this for 3D but it has been a pleasant surprise....MUCH better than I expected. I do however suggest rechargeable 3D glasses as the battery powered glasses provided drain quickly.
Of particular note are the built-in speakers which are better than most tv's we have had including Samsung LED units. I use a receiver and external speakers but would not rush out to get them if I didn't already have them.
The only issue I perhaps have is the track pad remote. It does take time to learn intuitively and the track pad itself can be temperamental responding unevenly to swipes. Nevertheless I was impressed with the technology and what this type of remote is capable of.
Overall a great tv and an even better value as prices are dropping for plasma. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: track pad remote can be temperamental
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 60" 5500 Series 3D Plasma TV (2014)
Customer Avatar
From Airdrie, AB
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent value for both a Smart and 3D 60" Plasma

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
" Who needs a bright LED when you can get a Smart 3D Plasma with glare shield like the F5500 or F6500 (last year's model). Smart menu is very easy to navigate and makes Netflix viewing a simple pleasure. Picture quality is second to none and no problems with 3D. Simulated 2D --> 3D viewing options make any standard picture into awesome semi-3D (adjust perspective and depth to get nearer to RealD 3D style)
Very happy and you can get it for less than half the price of a similar LED. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 60" 5500 Series 3D Plasma TV (2014)
Customer Avatar
From EDMONTON, ALBERTA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FANTASTIC TV

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
" FOR THE MONEY, I COULDN'T BE HAPPIER WITH THIS TV.
SHARP PICTURES, EASY TO USE SETUP AND MENUS, AND STUNNING 3-D FROM EVERY SOURCE.
"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 60" 5500 Series 3D Plasma TV (2014)
Customer Avatar
From Vaudreuil,Quebec
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality and good price

PostedDecember 8, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 8, 2013
" Had a samsung 50'' projection tv since 2005 and still have it, bought the 60'' plasma after new year this year and the next tv will be a Samsung again no doubt. Best tv's. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 60" 5500 Series 3D Plasma TV (2014)
Customer Avatar
From Quebec, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV for the price

PostedAugust 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 15, 2013
" I bought this TV 2 weeks ago and so far i'm satisfied with it. It's my first smart TV and I like the interface, the smoothness when I navigate in the menu and the available apps. Setting up everything was quite easy. The quality of the picture is very good and the game mode does the difference on my xbox 360 ! The viewing angle is very good. The 3D is very nice. I read bad reviews about the controller, so far I like it. The glasses are good but I dislike the fact that they don't come close enough to my eyes so I can see the light outside of the glasses but that's not too bad. I saw in other reviews that the TV is noisy and that's true but not so bad. I sit 8.5 ft away from the TV and when I mute the sound I hear it a little bit.. but who watch tv without sound ? with sound not really loud I don't hear it. Overall i'm very happy with that purchase. In my opinion, it's the best bang for your buck available on the market right now (august 2013).
NOTE: Make sure you use this TV in a very dark room, otherwise there is reflection. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: noisy, 3d glasses
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 60" 5500 Series 3D Plasma TV (2014)
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best value in televisions of 2013

PostedAugust 1, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 1, 2013
" This tv is excellent. If you combine the size, price and smart/3D tv functionality you are left with an absolute winner that screams value. Good job Samsung. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, deep blacks, 3d smart tv, included accessories
Cons: none at all
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.