Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Mobile Phones
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black

Samsung Rugby II™ | Black

Rough, tough and durable, Rugby II TM is the heavy-duty workhorse that knows how to get the job done. Built to Military Standard 810 G, it is highly resistant to dust, shock, vibration, moisture, solar radiation, and altitude and weather extremities. And with a rugged exterior, large keypad, voice command support, a 2 MP camera, and noise cancelling technology, not only is it Rugby II a diligent worker that can withstand the daily grind, it's an intelligent helper that is always on hand.
Rating:
3.079 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
9
20 out of 35(57%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Review 1 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Robert
From Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent ! Fixing The Annoying Camera Button. Do It Yourself Modification :)

PostedJune 24, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 24, 2014
"I already submitted a review... but this is further to that review. Some people complain about the camera button on the left side flashing pictures all the time on the Samsung Rugby II.
I had no need for that button, so this is what I did. I carefully pried it out of the phone using a very thin object... a very small thin precision screwdriver would work. You will see a protruding plastic "plunger" on the other side of the button that goes into a hole and activates the camera. I cut about half of it off. Then, using a suitable, very strong waterproof glue for rubber and plastics, I put just enough glue to glue it back into place. I uses toothpick to apply the glue carefully, then carefully inserted the button back into place and held it there tight until the glue set. You could also put a small object on it and use elastic bands to hold it in place until the glue sets... Only do this if you can live without the function of that button. But it solved the problem, and I don't miss the use of it. You can still take photos using the on-screen control. You don't lose the use of your camera phone. It's glued solidly back into place, and looks like it was made that way. I did this alteration a year and a half ago. Very happy with it. :) Just be careful doing this modification. You ae willing to accept any risks to the phone doing this. But it worked perfectly for me. :)
"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, rugged military specs.
Cons: camera only 2 mp
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Zapped
From NWT, Canada
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 28, 2014
"I Loved the R2. Phone was as tough as they come & button layout was great. Wish I could have gotten another one like it."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: not enough ring tones, not enough texting themplates
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Steve
From Laurentians
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A solid dependable telephone.

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 20, 2013
"I got this telephone when it first came out, therefore it was on the expensive side. I was looking for a telephone that was tough, well built, had large numbers and was a very good telephone both sending and receiving phone calls. I don't text or go on the internet with my phone; it's a phone, that's all."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
hjd916
From Dorval , Qc.
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is perfect in it's phone function

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 15, 2013
"The phone performs well, as a telephone. The camera function is too easy to trigger , partially due to the activation key location. I wish that certain frunctions could be deactivated, such as message reception. Not being able to deactivate this, causes charges for unsolicited messages received."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
MisJax
From Kitchener, Ont
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As a woman, on the go! I wanted a phone that was made well and compact - this phone meets that criteria!

PostedApril 12, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 12, 2012
"Took awhile to figure things out even to google can't seem to locate a manual. The same complaint will be the exterior picture taking button, although I like to have it when I want to take a picture. It's in a good location, it does have a mind of it's own. As a photographer I enjoy having something with me at all times for those just in case shots. Although I love my prof. camera more! I have found that in really cold weather and being out in the northern boonies when the phone was in my pocket and taking pictures on it's own accord, it drained the battery faster then I expected. This new phone the battery stays charged much longer - I like that !! Near the end of my old phone's life I was charging it constantly, also a Samsung -which btw was almost 12 years old -it finally gave up the ghost! just remember the cord when heading out of town. But over all - It's a good phone -doesn't have the quick messaging capabilites that most women want so if your in a hurry to send messages back - sometimes may be frustrating! But over all I'm pleased! It can go where I go! Ice fishing, atving, snowmobiling or working outside the city and into the Northcountry. It's compact, rugged, has very clear speakers, and does the job!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, compact
Cons: ext.camera button needs a lock
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Dan Banane
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME !!!

PostedMarch 10, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 10, 2011
"If I can summarize...this phone is for a MAN ! Women won't like it and young ones won't either... But if you're a MAN, you will love it's rugged looks, simple to use, dependable, crystal clear conversations, great battery life and not the size of a USB stick..which is a good thing..."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, good looks, quality, easy to use
Cons: not for everyone...unless you're a man
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
jay,jay
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 27, 2014
"you have a good product, a bit expensive,relieable,easy to use."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Unidude
From Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The good the bad and the ugly

PostedAugust 6, 2013
PostedAugust 6, 2013
"I work in heavy industrial setting and this phone is perfect for this type of setting. It is very very durable I have dropped it on concrete many times (more than 10) with the only damage being a slight crack on the speaker area. My 2 year old has also gotten a hold of the phone many a time and any parent will know how hard a 2 year old is on anything. Also there is no way to pocket dial that I have discovered. The battery last me between 4 and 8 days depending on usage. The battery lock is very good for keeping the battery sim card and micro SD disk dry. Even with a few drops in puddles, baby drool, rain, and the odd splash of water there is no water damage.
However there are some cons. First is the photo button. The button on is on the side of the phone and is activated whenever it is pushed. I have had my phone for about 8 months and have had almost 900 photos taken, aprox 800 of these are of the inside of my pocket. Also it has a small memory so every 1 to 2 months I am forced to take the battery out of it to reset the memory. Although this is not a big deal it is an annoyance due to the battery lock.
If all you want is a simple talk and text phone that will stand up to all your toughest engagements this is the phone for you. If you however want to do anything other than talk and text do not buy this phone.
Overall this is a good quality phone but don't expect any bells or whistles."
Pros: Durable, easy to use
Cons: to easy to take photos
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Phone wrecker NO MORE
From Calgary, Alberta, Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simply Indestructible!

PostedMarch 6, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 6, 2013
"I am generally pretty tough on phones - so I bought this one for it 'Military' grade standards.
I unkowingly dropped it in a parking lot covered in 8 inches of fresh snow.
After realizing that it was missing, I began to retrace my steps, I found it.
After 48 hours in freezing temperatures, and being driven over numerous times...
it was still receiving calls and texts! NO visible damage or negative side effects! AMAZING!
I'm a believer, this is the best phone I have ever bought - and probably the last one too!!!
"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, takes a beating!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
mrmike
From B.C. Canada
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

survives working conditions

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"this is the only mobile phone that I have owned that doesn't fail me at work. I work in the wood industry and all previous phones would shut off. I would have to open the battery lid and blow out the dust for it to work again. Doing this several times a day was annoying and anti-productive. My Samsung has not shut off once in the 2 yrs I have had it."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
ditchpig55
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good phone for an old logger

PostedOctober 27, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 27, 2012
"this phone has great reception , i'm a logger and believe me this thing can take a lot of abuse besides the fact that even a lowtech like me can figure out how to use it."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Taxpayer2
From BC Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love it, abuse it every day at work.. Built to take what I dish out.... GREAT PHONE

PostedAugust 31, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 31, 2012
"Everything falls into place, I have always used a Samsung flip phone of some sort..... Never a problem... My 6 year old Samsung worked great... But I wanted a wee up date but not a "smart" phone... All I wanted was a good clear phone to make calls with."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Taxpayer
From Penticton B.C.
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wanted a tuff phone, this is it

PostedJuly 22, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 22, 2012
"Didn't want a so called smart phone. I wanted to be able to phone, text, and shoot the odd picture, nothing more. The phone had to last.. I am hard on a phone due manly to my work. I love how clear the external speaker is for its size."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
cyberclark
From Devon,AB, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rugby II SGH-A847R

PostedJune 20, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 20, 2012
"I'm not sure the difference between the "R" and the "m" however my "R" is exactly what I required in my active life style. It covers me well on the back trails and on the road. It hangs nicely from a lanyard around my neck and under my shirt which, when walking is an item to be counted.
If this phone had a GPS software app that would allow you to record trails, distance and height like the android phones it would quickly ramp itself into the best outdoor rig on the market!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, looks tough!, super sound output.
Cons: missing a trail mapper like thoes available.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Casper The Friendly Ghost
From Kapuskasing, Ont.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

NOT Your Daughter's Cell Phone!

PostedMay 4, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 4, 2012
"I've had the Rugby ll for about a month now, and I can honestly say I'm happier with it than I ever was with the last phone I had (which was a smartphone). It's rugged, has great sound quality, and for a 2 megapixel camera the picture quality ain't too bad. Still, in this day and age of advancements I see no reason the camera shouldn't be at LEAST 5 megapixels abd have a better zoom function. The side button that controls the camera has a tendency to misfire when the phone is in the pocket, but I found that if I use one of those form-fitting covers on the camera it minimizes this happening. This phone won`t win any beauty contests (but then again, neither will I), but for an old guy like me this back-to-basics phone is perfect and dependable. Improve the camera and I`ll DEFINITELY be standing in line when the Rugby lll comes out."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, a man`s phone!
Cons: camera only 2 megapixels, zoom function on camera disabled at high resolutio
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
skibum
From Calgary, Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just one flaw

PostedApril 2, 2012
PostedApril 2, 2012
"All good, except there is a camera activation button on the outside of the phone that means you waste battery power taking photos of the inside of your pocket while you walk around. This button cannot be deactivated."
Pros: Durable
Cons: design flaw
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
jorg
From Vancouver, BC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent phone,

PostedMarch 14, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 14, 2012
"Remembering the target for this phone is outdoors work/recreation, it is outstanding.
Has everything you need for that purpose & a little more. Bright screen, bright yellow case( if you choose it ) big buttons, big fonts, loud, easy setup & zero issues with dropped calls ( blame your provider for that )
If you don't want or need the bling, I'd recommend it.
* Con...Just the external picture button loacation or needs a method to turn it off. It will snap a picture if you hold it for more than 3 seconds, which I've done a few times while removing it from a holster.
Not a deal breaker, just one of those "arrggg" moments.
Best pro? When you drop it, you don't spend 5 min looking for the back cover & battery..... because they don't go anywhere!
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: external picture button.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
bill
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a very good value and tuff!

PostedOctober 28, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 28, 2011
"I certainly agree with the "man" comments, this is not a kids music player/fool around gizmo, rather a tuff functional communication device. To the other Donald, simply switch your phone to silent mode by pressing and holding the # button and that will take care of the charge chime during the night. The vibration will easily wake you if a call comes in."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Framing Guy
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone For Its Stated Purpose

PostedOctober 15, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 15, 2011
"This Phone is great for the purpose it was designed for.
For tradesmen and people in other heavy duty professions it is perfect. It may not be one of these 'App' laden 'smart phones' but that's its selling point, its tough and durable and doesn't require hours of setup, its for people who don't have ample time to sit/stand around and stare at their phone.
I am a framer/carpenter and this phone has survived and thrived in my pocket for almost half a year now, no scratches, no marks, it lands well and safely on concrete from two story's up and it doesn't mind getting wet.
Good Buy
"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, good sound, good size, no pocket dialing, no need to unlock it everytime i get a call/text
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
TankPhone
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Durable

PostedAugust 8, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 8, 2011
"The phone is a bit too bulky but not in such a way that it makes me unhappy with the product. Sound is good, could be a bit louder for alert/ringing but it also isn't bad enough for me not to recommend it to a friend. I like the battery cover that doesn't just pop off. Good selection of font/color/size for customization, panoramic camera option is super cool. Camera is only a 2 Mega Pixel but again not terrible."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Too big
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Reder5142
From Grande Prairie Alberta Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Camera Button

PostedApril 19, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 19, 2013
"A few months ago, I upgraded my mobile phone to a Samsung Rugby II, SGH-847, The problem that I am having with this phone is whenever I take it out of the carring case, I inadvertently touch the camera button, thus the phone wants to take a picture, which is VERY FRUSTRATING, the camera button should be positioned in a different place, also I have stated my frustrations previously to no avail, I am NOT PLEASED with this situation to say the least. Thanks for your time. Leo"
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
friendduck
From Regina, SK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Does everything I need it to do

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"Does everything I need it to do and is reliable and inexpensive."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
john
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

very simple phone

PostedDecember 24, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 24, 2012
"Need to have FM radio,3.5 mm jack.Free GPS navigation like Nokia,s phone.A higher pixel camera at least 5 MP. WLAN."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
biker-boy.93
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

For a flip phone, it's fine.

PostedNovember 12, 2012
PostedNovember 12, 2012
"I work construction and needed a tough phone for voice and text. The Rugby II fit the bill. The design is good, performance is adequate, software is not the best. It's much more complicated to perform certain tasks than my previous phone and many of the steps are not intuitive. Nevertheless, with the selection of flip phones rapidly diminishing, this was the one that best fit my needs."
Pros: Durable, clear speaker
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Mr. Disappointed
From Nipigon. ON
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I dislike this phone

PostedNovember 26, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 26, 2012
"I've owned many cell phones in my time,But I would have to say that this phone is the worst,Camera takes
pictures of your pocket,missed calls,no reminder of calls or texts.If this phone has no cell service for a few mins.(basement).You must shut your phone off and turn it back on for service.For those people to say it's a great phone must be there first phone.I will be purchasing an older cell phone.
"
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
dissatisfied consumer
From st petersburg fl
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

rugby ll

PostedNovember 21, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 21, 2012
"i had this phone less than one month
put on counter that had some moisture on it
moisture seeped into battery compartment immediately and $$$ phone now useless
"
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, battery compartment no moisture seal
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Outdoorsdude
From Richmond Hill, Ontario
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I love Samsung product, but not this phone!

PostedJuly 4, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 4, 2012
"The only thing this phone has going for it is durability, it is rugged, but that's it!! Battery life is average, doesn't always want to turn off, speaker won't come on unless you clear the sceen before trying to activate the speaker. Who makes a phone that you can add words to a dictionary, but NOT delete them? Total pain in the butt when using predictive text, what happened here Samsung?? You missed the boat with this one for sure. I only bought it because it was A) Samsung, B) Rugged. I never thought I would be disapointed with a Samsung product until now. Guess nobody's perfect after all."
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Tymes
From Ontario,Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Constant dropped calls and photos of nothing

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 25, 2012
"Our company just switched phones, from the Motorola mike phones to these Samsung Ruby2's. On day one most of us had trouble with calls being dropped, even though we are in full coverage areas, areas that we never had issues with before with the old phones, nor with our personal phones, even though we are still with the same service provider.
And this ridiculous dedicated button on the outside of the phone to activate the camera, what were they thinking. The claimed battery life is misleading when you factor in the 100 photos of the inside of my pocket that this phone spontaneously decides to take.
The external speaker is very good, and the background suppression seems really good on speaker phone, but that doesn't help if you can't keep a call in progress long enough to finish a conversation."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable
Cons: poor button placement for camera, constant dropped calls
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
QueenChatty
From Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Samsung needs to Fix LCD

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 23, 2012
"Purchased this phone because of the rugged design for my husband. He had it for just over seven days when an image appeared on the front display of a yellow boulder from what I gather. Took the phone into TBay Tel and we were told that my husband must have dropped it and that the LCD is cracked. I don't know how they came to that conclusion as I took a microscope lens over it and could not see any crack. My husband is as honest as any man could possible be and is not a liar like he is being told he is. Sorry for the purchase of this NOT rugged phone. If you can't even carry the phone in your pants pocket with out the front LCD getting cracked that is a problem."
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
teddybare
From Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I do like the features, but I don't like the mess of reception problems and speaking to other people who have the same phone, they all have the same t

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"I purchased the Rugby 11 sgh a 847 and I honestly like the phone for its ruggedness, but, the reception is terrible. I lose calls all the time and people when they call me, the phone goes directly to my voicemail without even ringing. When someone texts me, I might not get notification of the text for up to 3 hours later. I have contacted my provider ( rogers ) and all they want me to do is send the phone back for a service check. The last time this happened, my phone was gone for 3 months and they finally found it in the store where they told me to take it. The battery was gone and the back panel was missing....All I want is a new phone as I have only had this one since December....I will not send a new phone in for service because there is never a good result..I will hang on to this junk until my contract is up and put up with the inconvenience...I like a flip phone and other than the problems with this one, I will allways use a flip phone..Why can't Samsung just give me another phone without all the nonsense dealing with rogers...."
Pros: Bright display, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
terf09
From Gatineau QC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

technoligie going backward

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 20, 2012
"pocktet picture to fill memory,no signay reception."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Glen
From Fort Frances, Ontario
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No incoming calls

PostedAugust 24, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 24, 2012
"I have had the Rugby 2 since the August 1st. Since that time I have received two phone calls, and missed a couple of dozen. Other people's phones work where this one won't. I know one other person unfortunately I found out too late that has the same problems. The design of the phone is nice, but reception is completely useless.
Glen
"
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor reception
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Darby
From Vancouver, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great Phone EXCEPT THE CAMERA RUINS IT ALL

PostedJune 1, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 1, 2012
"DO NOT buy this phone unless you want 20 or 30 "pocket Pictures" taken daily. Camera button does not lock, cannot be disabled and you CANNOT stop it from constantly going off in your pocket.
If Samsung would smarten up and fix this I would rate it 5/5.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: stupid camera
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Allan
From Calgary, Alberta
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor design for camera button

PostedMay 21, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 21, 2012
"This cell phone has taken 700 pics by its self while I have carried it with me. I have taken only 9. Their seems to be no way to disable or lock the camera to prevent this. The camera button is on the outside so it will turn on and stay on till you turn it off again. As soon as you put it away it will quickly be turned on again!
This results in hundreds of photos a week and the camera on almost 100% of the time.
Your battery life is cut short by this and it is very frustrating to have to delete tons of photos EVERY DAY!!!
This product must never have been field tested under normal use conditions.
Tomorrow I will go into the store to see if the outer button can be removed physicaly by a service tech.
If not I will attempt to get a full refund, as I am sure the battery can not last long constaly having to be recharged.
"
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
The other Donald
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product has annoying design features

PostedOctober 26, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 26, 2011
"The camera button on the side of the phone activates the camera even when it is folded closed, resulting in the camera turning on while in its holder and taking numerous pictures of nothing......and there is no way to disable this feature......Poor design...!!!
The phone also emits a periodic tone while on charge, meaning you can't put it on charge for the night unless you want to be woken up numerous times.....again, no way to disable this feature
"
Cons: poor design
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
bungabunga
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

OK....but..

PostedApril 20, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 20, 2011
"I think that it was rushed, and a bit more thought into the way it is used would have been good. Battery, ok, but I have had better, I will keep it, voice is good, music sound, not so good"
Pros: a good start
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
UNHAPPY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

PHONE IS GARBAGE

PostedMarch 5, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 5, 2011
"POOR SOUND TO BIG
WITH THE TECHNOLIGY WE HAVE TODAY THIS PHONE
IS ALMOST LIKE THE FIRST CELL PHONE PUT OUT
YOU SHOULD TAKE THIS PHONE OFF THE MARKET AND REPLACE NEW PHONES TO CUSTOMERS
"
Pros: Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Too big, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Rugby II™ | Black
Customer Avatar
John1969
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Phone Ever

PostedMarch 3, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 3, 2011
"Many people in our company have the same issues. Dropped Calls, Bluetooth issues for hands free, and poor sound. One of the worst phone and many of our people are frustrated that our company locked in with this piece of junk."
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Too big, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.