Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Mobile Phones
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Advance™ | Black

Samsung Advance™ | Black

Finally, a touchscreen phone that fits your budget and your lifestyle! The Samsung Advance combines the sleek attractiveness of a touch screen phone with super fast 3G high-speed technology - at a fully affordable price. With Advance’s large 3" customizable touch screen and virtual QWERTY keyboard, staying in touch has never been so much fun. Packed with features like mobile e-mail, GPS navigation, and social networking applications, your friends are only as far as your phone. With the Samsung Advance, the world is a your fingertips.
Rating:
3.1 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
3 out of 9(33%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Advance™ | Black
Review 1 for Samsung Advance™ | Black
Customer Avatar
From Edmonton, AB Canada
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A nicely styled phone with perfect size and performance.

PostedDecember 7, 2013
PostedDecember 7, 2013
"This is an excellent all around mobile device. I still own and use it, just not as a phone. Have had no issues with the phone, only asking operational and accessories questions to support."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not an android device., sometimes frustrating to find apps.
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Advance™ | Black
Customer Avatar
From Cornwall, On
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best phone yet!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"I love my phone...and not really a lover of phones etc. But this one has everything you could possibly need and more. Good value for the money invested."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Advance™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone for talking and sending a few text msgs per day.

PostedMay 17, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 17, 2012
"I've had my phone for almost 1.5 yr I really have no beef about it. its a simple phone, not a smart phone but looks like one. it lets you text easy, and you dont have to have data, blablabla. that stuff is all extra unnecessary things anyway! You already have internet at home. It's durable. I guess if i had to say one thing about it is there is limited functions in it to modify how the phone looks...but Iphones are like that.
I really don't use cell phones much other than calling favourite ten and texting my friends/family maybe 1-2 texts/day. if that's you, this phone is decent!
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, easy to use
Cons: limited functions, conversion app d/n work
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Advance™ | Black
Customer Avatar
From Edmonton, AB
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Good Phone !

PostedMarch 3, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 3, 2012
"I actually bought the samsung evergreen originally as my first phone and within a month, I had to send it back for repairs and I've now had a this phone as my loaner for 4-5 monthes now, and it's actually a very nice phone. The touch screen works very well, and the texting is pretty good as well. I needed this phone primarily for texting, and for that purpose it works great. I have not tried the other features other than calling of course, but in all respect, this phone is very easy to use and I really like it. The screen can get a little buggy at times and take a couple seconds to react if you touch the screen too many times too fast, but its still a great touch scren. It doesnt require heat sensors like the iphones so I can text with my nails and its great. One con is that the currency and other types of convertions dont work, and when somone is calling you, it immediately opens up and if you're in the middle of texting, you can easily answer a phone call without meaning too. Just be careful of that and you should have no problem with the phone."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, good touch screen
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Advance™ | Black
Customer Avatar
From Vancouver Island
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

If you mainly need this for telephone calls, get something else

PostedJune 24, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 24, 2012
"This is one example of how a touchscreen should not be implemented. Combine it with a Telus plan and it becomes a disaster. This is the opposite of progress - it looks better, but functions are worse than an old fashioned phone with buttons. I used to think the brand Samsung stood for well-designed devices, but the user experience for us was mainly negative. Too bad."
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations, unintuitive, operating system, bad touchscreen
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Advance™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Phone - With A Few Bugs

PostedMarch 6, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 6, 2011
"I found the touch screen to be decent. Works reasonably well after calibrated with a pen cap, keeps its calibration for a decent amount of time. Sends and receives texts quite quickly, but when sending texts spread across multiple SMS pages, the phone tends to send the first page fine, but the last 2 or 3 words of each page are sent on their own page, making a 2 page SMS into a 3 page, which is unnecessary. The converter app is programmed incorrectly, giving ridiculously wrong values. I would have also liked this phone to have wi-fi, like many other phones do these days. As well, no Facebook or Windows Live apps, which limits its social abilities. Call quality is good; battery life is also good. Overall it's a decent phone, but seems a bit rushed in certain places, and missing some features that most would expect."
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: no wi-fi, sms texting
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Advance™ | Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bad Touchscreen!

PostedJune 22, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 22, 2012
"Aside from the fact that my screen has scratched so badly it is hard to see, it is the most difficult touch screen I have ever used."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Advance™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor touchscreen

PostedMay 27, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 27, 2011
"A phone starts with how you make it work... the touchscreen is simply of poor quality. Way too long to react. it makes even dialing a hard task.
it's a no go."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Advance™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 27, 2011
"very very poor touch screen. takes at least 5 times to get a response. you will have to use a pencil eraser or a stylus pen to type. figer touch is not recamended. not to mention the time stamp on text messages, its stamping in the wrong time zone, really annoying. this is the first "lemon" samsung i have ever had."
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Advance™ | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Phone I've Ever Had!

PostedNovember 5, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 5, 2011
"Horrible! Honestly, I had no idea I could rate it 1/5. Too high of a rating. Bad, bad, bad touchscreen. Not very creative. Bad calling, hard to text and view web on. Wouldn't recommend this to even the people I hate."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, horrible touch
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.