Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Mobile Phones
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SGH-c414 | Black

SGH-c414 | Black

Need a simple device you can count on? The C414 is the reliable phone away from home with all the useful features you want and need - right at your fingertips. Simple and classic, this flip phone comes with a handy 2.0 MP camera and video recorder to capture all those unexpected memories, a multimedia player to play back your favourite music and videos, and multiple texting options to make it even easier for you to stay in touch. So bypass the bells and whistles and get back to basics with the C414.
Rating:
2.868 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
9
19 out of 37(51%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for SGH-c414 | Black
Review 1 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Burlington, Ontario
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Outstanding product

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
" A versatile, dependable, inexpensive and sturdy mobile phone. I don't leave home without it. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
40" 551 Series full HD Widescreen LCD TV
5 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Calgary, Alberta, Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I bought this C 414 R cell phone to use in emergency situations only.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
" My wife has MS and if she falls while I am out golfing, she simply presses an alarm and rings my phone so I can determine what action to take. It works fine and gives me peace of mind. I recently purchased a new car and discovered I can download my phone contacts directly into my car, also my music can be played thru the radio. What a great device, it's exactly what I needed and I have never lost a call. Good job Samsung !!! "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: i often push the camera botton by mistake
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Peterborough Ontario
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fairly durable, reliable all around phone.

PostedOctober 30, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 30, 2013
" I've dropped mine countless times and I've been pushed into a pool with it in my pocket. It's also been dropped into a lake, the snow, exposed to -10 to -20 C temperatures as well as 30+ C. The only issues I found were that it could be a little slow at the colder temperatures and that the back cover popped off when dropped but otherwise it's been going for 4 years or so and is still delivering. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Mississauga ON
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very nice phone

PostedOctober 5, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 5, 2013
" Excellent phone for beginners who are not tooo tech savy! "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Delta, B.C.
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not happy with this phone

PostedAugust 26, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 26, 2013
" Two big cons with this phone. Difficult to open with man hands and does not perform well close to border where I live. Constantly roaming even from my home. Then to add insult to injury it beeps and vibrates every 4 - 5 minutes to tell me it's roaming! "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Quebec
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Audio

PostedJune 22, 2013
PostedJune 22, 2013
" With no special accessories on, battery wears down much faster than older Samsung; Surfing through settings not as user friendly or ss essy to find as my last Samsung "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: settings hard to ngo d
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Brampton
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This product gives lots of problems.

PostedJune 1, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 1, 2013
" I missed many calls as it turns off itself. I got technical support over the phone, but it didn't help. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, handy
Cons: Did not meet expectations, do not buy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Hamilton, ON
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Does the basics, Not reliable

PostedApril 29, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 29, 2013
" It does what a standard mobile phone should, yet it is not as durable as it is claimed. the front lcd display on mine spider cracked in 2 weeks without me dropping it. Not worth the price. "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From montreal
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

TURN S OFF AND FREEZE ALL THE TIME..BEEN REPAIR 5 TIMES...

PostedApril 21, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 21, 2013
" IT TURN OFF BY HIMSELF FREEZE ALL THE TIME.. MY WORS SAMSUNG EVER... DONT BUY!!!!!!! "
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Fredericton, NB
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Phone! Perfect Size!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 24, 2013
" The Samsung SGH-c414 phone is the ultimate phone for those who want something smaller than the common smart phone. It's got plenty of features, and is the perfect size. Just shove it into your pants pocket, and go. LOVE IT! SAMSUNG ROCKS! "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, dependable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Stoney Creek, ON
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good but solving problems is difficult.

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 15, 2013
" I've just spent over an hour trying to find answers to my questions. I used the browser to download the
information but just saw someone else did that & they've been charged. I may be in for a huge unexpected bill.
Phone is small, light & mostly straight forward, that's what I wanted. Just to call in emergencies & to use the texting & camera. I just found out I corrected my problem by resetting my phone.
"
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Old Ridge, NB, Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has the features I was looking for in a phone

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" I was looking for a phone that worked great, had just the features that I needed and was priced reasonably. I have not had any problems with the phone since I bought it and it is still working great. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Bowmanville,Ont, Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone is so easy to use, Great for Beginners.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" I started off with an IPhone with the touch screen and it drove me crazy trying to figure it out that I went back and asked for a basic Flip Phone and I love this phone , I text with it constantly and only have to charge the battery once a week. Best Phone for the best Price. I love it and you will too!! "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Indian Head, SK
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is just what I need.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" I am a 72 year old man who does not want a cell phone. I have no need to flow data check the weather or news or any of the other features of cell phones these days. That said buying this product is exactly the cellphone I needed to have. It is easy to use and reliable. I don't regret getting this phone. "
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Winnipeg, MB
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simple phone

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" I don't send a lot of texts, but it is easy to do. It is a simple phone to use and perfect for me since I don't need anything fancy. I've been very happy with it! "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great flip phone

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" very easy to use, long lasting battery. love this phone. "
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From London, ON
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is just what I looked for

PostedNovember 24, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 24, 2012
" I had the misfortune to lose my old Samsung with the touch screen and the sliding keyboard.
I hated that one from the day i got it. My misfortune turned into a piece of good luck when i got this new camera. I like everything about it. It does what I want, when I want it and no question about it.
The only complaint I had was how to put photos on the memory card. As it turned out the fault was my own in not fully reading and understanding the manual. It was not totally clear to me how to go about it.
But then, I'm not all that much into all this phone business in the first place.
So, Thumbs up!
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From London, ON
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Low quality, poor usability, will not buy another Samsung

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 18, 2012
" This phone seems to always have issues connecting to the Telus network, which my previous phone did not have. Phone calls will not get through (sometimes incoming, sometimes outgoing, sometimes both; sometimes messages will stop getting through and I'll have to call Telus to push them) and I'll have to hard reset the phone (shut down, pull out the battery,...) to get it to work again. Again, my old phone did not have these issues. It will not tell me connection issues are occurring, the only way I know is that my friends tell me they their phone calls aren't getting through. This happens too often. Basic features like how to get email attachments from messages are not clear (just the word "<<File>>" will appear, with no options to get the attachment, even in the Select menu). Alarms cannot be deleted once created, only turned off or edited. Does not notify me about missed calls or messages until I open the phone, and even then it sometimes won't notify me (Previous phone would give an alarm periodically to notify me). Sometimes during startup, or other random times it will notify me of a missed call that occurred quite a while ago and which I already received a notice about (i.e. each time I restart my phone now, I get the same "New message" notification to something I received many months ago). Also, the boot time of the phone until the point that I that can make a call/view my contacts/view my messages is very poor. Overall, I would not recommend this phone, and I will not be buying another Samsung phone due to the poor experience with this one.
On the plus side, it can be dropped many times without breaking. Durable.
"
Pros: Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, network connection issues, does not notify me of network connection problems, difficult to open edges of fliptop are too smooth, does not notify me of missed calls/messages
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product suffers from arcane programming. It is not intuitive or user-friendly. In a word-horrible.

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 16, 2012
" This product suffers from arcane programming. It is not intuitive or user-friendly. In a word-horrible. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From bc canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

user guide

PostedJuly 22, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 22, 2012
" I like the phone,but it appears to be impossible to download a user guide. I tried samsung, fido and any other that looked promising. i got blocked .I run Vista and am not happy that I get a runtime error every time the guide title page comes up. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: lack of user guide
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From stittsville
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Owner's manual is a complete disgrace!

PostedJuly 15, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 15, 2012
" my previous phone was a Samsung and the manual was easy to read and directions were easy to understand and follow. This model has missed the boat entirely as a replacement for my previous Samsung (This cellular was recommended by my Bell mobility rep!) The phone feels underpowered and the camera contol and charging parts plus the volume "switch" located on the sides of this phone are a disgrace to the industry and Samsung should be embarrased! To top it off the "instruction manual" is everything but. The manual offers so few instructions as to make what should have been a pleasant experience, a bloomin' nightmare to even begin to understand. Warning: buy a magnifying glass before you spend any $$$ on this phone as you will need it to read the "manual" and the "tags" on the phone's side contols ; (if in fact there are any?) "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor quality

PostedJuly 5, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 5, 2012
" turns it self off,freezes,dis connects when you are talking,been in the shop 2 times in 6 months "
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From V ictoria BC, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed to say the least - some good features but extremely poor battery life - can,t receive calls

PostedJune 27, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 27, 2012
" I am on my second phone from Fido --first one - battery only lasted 3-4 hours --sent me a new one same phone --no cigar still has a verypoor battery life --only a casual user and battery only lasts about 12 hours somedays --now the darn thing doesen't receive calls all go to voicemail and are held some times for hours before I receive them or I don't receive them at all -- Not recommended -- while it has some seemingly nice features the bad features more than negate the good ones --worst phone samsung ever made "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, {poor battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Montreal, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simple phone, but I was charged for roaming access, which I did not require.

PostedJune 27, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 27, 2012
" Simple phone, but I needed to call back Videotron, Canada where I purchased the services and phone to disable the roaming capabilities.
I ended up to pay for roaming charges, Videotron employee was warned of my desire of not using the internet access - obviously my request was ignored.
Not clear why I could not disable the roaming capabilities myself.
"
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Call reject doesnt work

PostedJune 10, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 10, 2012
" I have some phne numbers of idiots who keeps calling and bugging me so i saved them in auto-reject list. But this doesnt work. How in the world can they still get hold of me????? Samsung pls take a look at it. Tnx "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa, ON
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Found the product easy to use and has the features I want.

PostedJune 9, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 9, 2012
" The phone was easy to set up. I don't text or surf the web and would choose a different phone if I did. It is for telephone only and works great with my hands free car system as well. I downloaded the user manual from the web site and have 184 pages of instructions, which is plenty. I get about a week between chargings at the moment. My old phone used to cut out and give "emergency use only" indications but that was Rogers. Don't have the problem with Virgin. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

this product has poor texting features

PostedJune 2, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 2, 2012
" The text is too small and I can't seem to find a way to change it. I would rather black on white text and you can't change that either. Basicly I hate this phone and would not recomend it to anyone "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very disappointing

PostedMay 14, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 14, 2012
" I got my phone a year ago and have had problems ever since. It has been sent for repairs but still have problems. It turns itself on and off, switches to emergency service only sometimes, doesn't hold a charge. I have had many Samsung products - this is the first one that was disappointing. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

has some good features but, more important some very poor ones as well

PostedApril 6, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 6, 2012
" I already complained about the stupid twisted way the the texting feature is set up. The cover of the charger socket is flimsy and, I am sure, will soon break. I found there's no way to increase, or decrease, the number of rings when someone calls. Worst of all, though, is the volume key at the side of the phone. It is placed and constructed in such a way that when handling the phone it is easily pushed without intending to, resulting in one not being able to hear when it rings or not, or barely, hearing the caller or cutting the caller off altogether; the designers did not even have the good sense to mark the two parts of the volume key with "+" and "-". "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Victoria, BC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good basic phone as we expected; some features are hard to find in the index especially if you don't use them often.

PostedApril 3, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 3, 2012
" Trying to figure out how to do some stuff with this phone can be frustrating. The instruction booklets are the pits, they don't tell you how to do what you are trying to accomplish. I think they are written for people who don't need instructions, they play with the item until they have it all figured out.
Tried to find instructions online but there are none. Very frustrating. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great basic phone

PostedMarch 16, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 16, 2012
" Good easy basic phone to use especially for older people "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It has its strong points but.........

PostedMarch 10, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 10, 2012
" I just acquired this C414. It's not a bad phone but its text input system is the dumbest thing I have come across. Whoever designed it that way must surely have a twisted mind. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: texting system
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Like This Phone

PostedMarch 2, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 2, 2012
" Of the cell phones I had this is the poorest in quality. The time display is slow once the button is pressed. For big hands it is difficult to open, the cover on the charger connector is very flimsey, the instruction manual tells you ver little about the operation of the phone, the choices of ring tones are extemely poor etc. For the same amount of money you can do much better. Shop around, I am stuck with mine. "
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
From Southern Ontario
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Use the Bluetooth connection with car "Hands Off" phone. Below temps in C, it looses battery power.

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 20, 2012
" When charging symbol on front stops flashing, disconnect the charger.?? My other phone could be stored with charger connected at all times, so that there was ALWAYS full battery power. This one is a nuisance! "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor battery life

PostedOctober 19, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 19, 2011
" I have had my phone since July/11 and the charge in the battery is very poor. I fully charged it and then had it sitting in the box without opening it. When I checked after 3 days, it was dead again. The phone also has a tendency to shut off unexpectantly. Was talking to someone and it just cut out and disconnected. Good phone for a person that likes a basic phone however is not reliable. There are not many basic phones on the market that you can chose from that is why this phone was chosen. "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unreliable

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 4, 2011
" As a previous reviewer has pointed out, this model turns off when ever it wants to. Ours has been in 3 times for a reset within a month. Rogers finally provided us with a new one this week. Woke up this morning ... it's OFF. We're stuck because of the contract and when we ask for a new phone, even if more expensive, we get, "You're not ready for an upgrade" "
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great little flip phone!

PostedAugust 16, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 16, 2011
" Just the phone I need. I'm not into web surfing on the phone, or carrying a large phone, so this compact little phone is just right. The screen is large and bright, volume loud and clear, battery lasts days with moderate use, and the size is comfortable to use. The 2MP camera is adequate, but I wished they would have a higher resolution camera. "
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, loud and clear audio, good battery life
Cons: ok camera resolution
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for SGH-c414 | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:3-6 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Some problems exist with this phone

PostedAugust 16, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 16, 2011
" The battery life seems very short going from fully charged to completely dead in two days with little use. The phone will periodically turn off for no apparent reason and I have had to reset it twice in 3 months on the advice of my service provider.
The actual features work fine when the phone is charged and working but the unreliability takes away from those features.
"
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.