Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Smartphone
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Galaxy Mega

Galaxy Mega

The Samsung Galaxy MEGA is built for awe-inspiring experiences. With the connectivity of a smartphone, but the added size and functionality of a tablet, it’s the smart device that makes a big impression. Watch movies in unbelievable clarity on its super-wide 6.3-inch LCD screen. Chat with friends and stream videos side by side. Carry it like a smartphone, use it like a tablet – the Samsung Galaxy MEGA is your one device that’s designed for living large.
Rating:
4.435 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 22(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy Mega
Review 1 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
Kevin
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The smartphone with best value

PostedMay 23, 2014
PostedMay 23, 2014
"contrary to what most reviews think, there is actually a good demand for such a big screen phones in the market. I like big screen and if Samsung can make a bigger 7" Mega phone in the future I won't be hesitate to get one. I carry the Mega not just for making calls, SMS, but also treat it as tablet to watch movies, play games so Mega is one in all. Some people do not like big phones but they carry another bigger tablet so what is the point to waste more money. The Mega still fits into my jeans pocket and I love it so much. Samsung please upgrade the Mega in next generation and I am sure I will get one too."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, big screen, multi functions
Cons: internet speed can be better
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
Hoss7004
From London Ont.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best smart phone I ever had

PostedApril 8, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 8, 2014
"Don't stop making a phone this size I love the size. I use it as my everything its my laptop my tablet and phone. The battery is outstanding also please keep up the good work you do"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
boblovesmega
From canada
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i love this gaint

PostedMarch 28, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 28, 2014
"its great had and iPhone stitched to this once its in ur hands u get used to it"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Too big
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
meka
From Orlando, Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Had a iphone hated it came to samsung Mega love it

PostedMarch 7, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 7, 2014
"I was a big samsung freak until I decided to go to the iPhone family. For tired of it so came back to the samsung family and happy I did. Happy I chose this phone. It's big which I love. It takes great pictures. Love all the specs on the phone. One of the best phones/tablets out there."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
Sheldor1280
From Langley, B.C.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone, perfect for gaming and browsing the internet

PostedMarch 3, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 3, 2014
"I used to have a samsung galaxy ace 1. But when it started performing really slowly i got a samsung galaxy mega. Ive never had a better phone."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: the battery life is a little shorter than i like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
Bailey
From Smiths Falls Ontario Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Had a previous samsung phone and loved it.....upgraded to samsung galaxy mega and love it!!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 12, 2013
"I was quite content with my other phone until a friend showed me his mega phone and from there it was love at first sight. At first I thought it was going to be a little too big but that is actually one of the features I love! I would in the school setting, often with high needs students. I always carry my phone and sometimes when students are having difficulty I can simply pull out my phone and distract them.....
The phone takes great pictures too....
Also, now that I am getting a "little" older I love the big screen.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
Emet
From Dartmouth NS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Device

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"Very useful and great screen , fast and long lasting battery"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
redwine
From saskatchewan, canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome product! love-love this one!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"always loved this product ever since i saw it on tv and in the magazines!"
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, fantastic features!
Cons: pricey...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
Grampa
From Coldstream BC Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Size is everything Awesome !!!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"Love my MEGA Great size excellent screen for tired eyes, awesome touch pad button size, great for big Fingers!"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
city191
From Edmonton, AB
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

just the right size

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"a lot of people think its a huge phone at first glance, and so did I. But it fits perfect in a pocket and now it feels like a normal sized phone. When I look at other smart phones people have they look so tiny.
No complaints from the performance either."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
Shamwow
From orleans , ontario
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressed fully !

PostedNovember 7, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 7, 2013
"Very impressed with this phone. Its fast , its clear and its efficient .. what more could one want? Has every app one could need for work or play :)"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
Tamara
From Saskatoon
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Huge nice screen

PostedOctober 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 15, 2013
"I absolutely like the big screen, very nice for browsing and watching films. So handy that there is no need to stress your eyes on small screen kind of, everything what you need is nicely showed on a big screen. For dimensions it has pretty light weight, which is important for me too. Very nice to read stuff, seeing emails and everything which is connected with text. It has a lot of interesting features as multi window. Pretty much looks like tablet. The only thing I need to be improved is when you lock the screen, I want the screen stay on landscape mode, not to return to phone (home) position."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: skype does not worked on my phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
Galaxygirl
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this phone

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 15, 2013
"The only thing I wish it had was a stylus. But other than that I love the screen of this phone."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no stylus
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
reesterman
From fredericton, NB
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best phone i ever had

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 3, 2013
"This phone doesn't do anything poorly. It's not the fastest or highest resolution, but it's got near best battery performance, a great price, little to no lag, still fits in your picket and I love the weird looks I get when I use it to make calls. Not only that, it's size is perfect for reading small text in my books and the dual app mode is a pretty cool piece of kit. Add to that a decent camera, bright light, and the Samsung suite (which is oddly better on this phone than on my other phones from Samsung)"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, well rounded
Cons: remote control incompatible with my dog
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
Xtreme1
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

AWESOME PHONE

PostedMay 15, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 15, 2014
"Love this phone, since i got it. I don't use my tablet anymore at work, this is my sidekick now. Loved my S3 but had to upgrade. Battery is great, movies are awesome as are games, email, texting. great phone all around."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no update to 4.4 yet
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
smitty
From bashaw alberta
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very nice overall

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 10, 2014
"does just about everything that I want which is nice but will not play friendly
with iphones in pictures in text. sure Samsung will figue this out, over half
my friends have iphones, other have Samsung.
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: poor friend to freind text pictures
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
Mega Mama
From Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Don't be put off by its size!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 12, 2013
"I finally decided it was time to join the rest of the world and get a "smart" phone. Not knowing much about the phones made it somewhat hard to pick the one that would be best for me. So I went to the store and had a look. And there it was...the Galaxy Mega. Wow what a phone! I was, at first, a little afraid of the size, but that was put to rest immediately. The larger size made it so much easier for me to navigate the screens. The enlarged keyboard makes the features more user friendly for me. I would recommend this phone for anyone, but especially for people who are new to "smart" phones. And I can use this phone for anything. Basically, anything you can do on your laptop, you can do on this phone - and of course, you can use it as a phone. Now there are 2 reasons I did not give it 5 stars. The first is that everyone I talk to says they can hear an echo of their voices. I don't hear it, but they do. I am working with the tech people to see if it is something on my end of the phone. The second reason I didn't give it 5 stars is both a blessing and a curse. This phone can do so many things, that I will never be able to learn them all by myself. Fortunately, the store where I got my phone, holds periodic classes on the phones and go over all, or almost all of the features. I will definitely sign up for the class they are holding in January! But don't let that fool you, this is a great phone!! My last bit of advice is to get the Otter phone cover. It completely covers the phone and it comes with a handy "cradle" that holds the phone up in four different positions. It is very cool :-)"
Pros: the size of this phone is just right!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
bkshp
From ottawa, ontario
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

product has great features but little big

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"the speaker phone makes you sound tinny.. people told me it sounded like I was in a tin can and the device is just too big to hold as a phone..."
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Too big
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
Poseidond
From fredericton New Brunswick Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great size for older people

PostedDecember 8, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 8, 2013
"you would think a phone this size would be cumbersome but this phone feels great.
This was purchased for a senior who has no issues with it at all. Screen size is perfect for him.
he likes that he can feel it in his hand unlike old flip phones that where to small.
Very sturdy as its been dropped many times now as well.
"
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, large display, easy to read, senior friendly
Cons: no accessories around for it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
MegaPhoner
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love it

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 15, 2013
"I upgraded from an IPhone4 and the Mega is so must nicer. I use the web, Netflix and YouTube, so now I do not get the eye strain that I got from the tiny IPhone. I am still getting use to the position of the power buton so I do put my phone to sleep but this is a matter of practice. Texting is great with the larger keyboard. I totally recommend this product for anyone that like to watch video and surfing the net with their smartphones"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
exmilitary
From Alberta, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I'm enjoying this one.

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 15, 2013
"Moved to this from the S3. Battery life, I've managed just over 2 days with light used (occasional surfing, email, some texting and phone calls). Enjoying the software features enough that the desire to root isn't there yet. I'm quite capable of using the phone with one hand considering its size. Having the proper keyboard for single hand use helps. Videos and images are quite easily viewed. Handles 3D gaming (Real Racing 3) as well as my Note 8.0. For a midrange phone, I'm impressed with it considering the hardware is almost the same as the S3."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, battery life, volume of speakers
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
KymN
From Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good but expensive as heck to fix

PostedMarch 14, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 14, 2014
"I adore this phone. After my bb Z10 had to be fixed I bought out my contract and got this one. LOVED everything including the ease on my hands and wrists (nerve damage), unfortunately it slipped off my truck seat and clipped on the way down and the glass shattered. EVERYWHERE from Samsung to the little corner shops, min of 300 to fix the glass alone. let alone any damage that may be under... so PLEASE protect your investment of this GORGEOUS phone and case and protectors for it."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: expensive to fix
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Galaxy Mega
Customer Avatar
HIS4
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This Phone was designed for the HULK

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 9, 2013
"I thought it was a good upgrade from the S3 but here is what I found:
- I am 6'-1" tall but even that I was unable to work the phone with one hand.
- they didn't design it for more desply in mind, actually they just made all the App's icon and the letters bigger to fill the big screen.
- it came with less features than the S3 - BIG disappointment.
- the camera quality is bad.
and after trying the phone for 2 hours I had cramps in my hand and thumb.
I returned the stupid phone and got me an S4.
"
Cons: Too big, Did not meet expectations, lacking features, no so smart, takes forever to charge
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
15of 27voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.