Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Smartphones
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE

Galaxy Rugby™ LTE

When the going gets tough, the tough reach for the Samsung Galaxy Rugby™ LTE – the perfect phone for people who need an Android device that can withstand the elements. It has all the power of a smartphone with the durablilty and toughness required for exploring the great outdoors or working on the most demanding job sites.
Rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
31 out of 36(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Review 1 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
orpmtl
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone for the size

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"Now with the HUGE phones being the most powerful, this small phone has almost everything a big phone has. I got it for the robust design and for the flexibility it offers."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: can't install apps on sd card
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Yerdua
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Phone

PostedNovember 19, 2013
PostedNovember 19, 2013
"Excellent phone just don't sit on it cracked the screen and I only weigh 130#. Not quiet a car. But it's lasted water mud cold glues. It's taken two years of abuse and I'm getting another."
Pros: Durable
Cons: Too big
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Candy Baby
From Louisiana
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 11, 2013
"Full Time Mom and I am always on the go. I have dropped my phone on roots face first, while putting children in the tub my phone fell into the bath tub out of my shirt pocket and it is still kicking. I love my phone. Greatly recommended especially if you have been through hundreds of phones such as myself."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
attreeplace
From Waco, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mine run over by Autos

PostedJuly 31, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 31, 2013
"I was amazed my Samsung Rugby Pro survived multiple slams on the hot pavement by cars. My phone fell on to the running board, and later fell onto the street. Multiple cars ran over the poor thing until someone picked it up. It was ringing as I tried to locate my lost phone. The nice person returned it. It has a cracked screen, but works PERFECT in every way. I am happy to replace the screen and keep my tough phone. My only complaint is that I would like a wrist strap to hold on to it better."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, survives cars running over
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
ejsilver26
From Prescott, Ontario
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great phone for the farm and the city

PostedJuly 1, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 1, 2013
"I have had this phone for quite a while now. My wife and I had the Galaxy S II phones, and when we decided to upgrade, she went for the Galaxy S III and I went for the Rugby LTE. I think it was one of my better decisions. The farm has put it through it's paces, and it has passed every test we have thrown at it. Between work, kids, construction, and general use, it doesn't have a scratch on it and works perfectly.
I also do networking, so I do know about technology. I run Ubuntu Linux and have always been a fan of Android. I will be keeping this phone until Samsung comes out with a new rugged phone so I can put it through it's paces as well.
Samsung has not let me down yet. We have 4 phones active, 5 tablets, and even a dishwasher, fridge and microwave that are all Samsung. We always start looking at Samsung, and generally buy Samsung in the end."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: buttons are out too far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
FenceGuy1990
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Outside Contractor Phone

PostedJune 3, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 3, 2013
"Great Phone my first touch phone does great in my line of work"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
barbiejeans
From alberta
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

tuff on the outside, and a total gem inside

PostedMarch 30, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 30, 2013
"I would recommend this phone to anyone. Great if you are into outdoors activities, you don't have to leave your phone in the truck when you go out to play. It looks great and works even better. I am so happy I have a smart phone that i don't have to worry about, no more plain jane phones with limited capabilities...it is like having a laptop in my palm...great job samsung!!!"
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Pato
From Toronto
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the best phone I've ever had...

PostedMarch 27, 2013
PostedMarch 27, 2013
"I have this phone from two month ago and I can say it's the best one I ever had. It's so powerfull and fast in it's process. Reliable and versatle. I bought another one for my wife and she is happy too."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
YYCGuy
From Calgary, AB
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and rugged!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 24, 2013
"I was a BlackBreey fan for the last decade... I love this phone! More features, more compatible pplications, and excellent value! Easy to use!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, excellent value, easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Rollie
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Happy

PostedMarch 17, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 17, 2013
"One of the best phones I've ever had. The download speds are much faster than previous phones , the touchscreen is just sensitive enough however I give it an average rating on design because I find the touchscreen a little difficult to text with. I love the high definition screen and the excellent sound output through the earbuds."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
worldhugz
From canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome phone

PostedMarch 7, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 7, 2013
"This is the best purchase I have made in years. I was sold on the toughness of the phone, it is so nice to be able to carry a phone with you and not have a bulky case to protect it. I am very impressed with the design, features and the speed/ease browsing, etc. Keep up the great work :)"
Pros: Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
MG_SNAPON
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very user friendly

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 15, 2013
"Had the phone about 2 weeks now and the speed of the processor is great.. Easy to use and not bulky.Great job SAMSUNG."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
t_bo
From Calgary, Alberta
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The way smart phones should be built!

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 15, 2013
"I'm hard on equipment, so naturally when I found out about the Rugby I was immediately drawn to it. I love the fact that I can have a smart phone that won't explode the second I drop it or get it wet. To top it off, it's fast, and the LTE doesn't drain the battery as fast as I expected it would. I highly recommend this phone to anyone, whether you're the outdoorsy type, or if you've ever dropped your phone in the toilet."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Ricky Bobby
From Foam lake, sk
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ricky Bobby Approved!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"Being a conductor for the rail road and father of 3 this phone has survived what it said it could! Cold weather(-40) ,toilets, thrown out of golf cart, chewed on, and many other things that should have killed it!
Awesome phone!
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Belgamorph
From Stillwater Lake,N.S.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to navigate ,fast and smart.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"I had a smart phone before this one, but it only graduated from high school.This phone is a college graduate with a Phd.I am very pleased with the performance and feel secure knowing that is capable of taking a few knocks.I work construction and as a result my phone can be subject to dust and vibration.It is a good size with a nice screen."
Pros: Bright display, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Hiker
From Vancouver Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique features for outdoor use

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 11, 2013
"This phone is a solid performer for routine use, and is probably unmatched for use outdoors by construction workers, hikers and cyclists and the like. It also would make an excellent parent-purchased phone for a sometimes less-than-responsible teen.
The screen is only moderate in size, but is very sharp and bright. Streaming video is excellent, with surprisingly good sound from the built in speaker which make the unit sound more like a small radio than a phone. The internal memory is limited, but an SD card is easily added for those who want to carry around a lot of music etc.
The case has thick edges with ridges which make it easy to grip, and all ports are covered with waterproof plastic plugs which must be pried out with a fingernail for the port or jack to be used. Removed plugs hang on a plastic tab to prevent loss.
The camera flash LED can be turned on with an on-screen widget to create a flashlight which shines even when the screen is turned off. The illuminated area is about as wide as the distance from the camera to the illuminated surface and is free of hot spots, making it a good booklight. The light doesn't get hot in continuous use, and 1 hour of use drains the battery by only about 5%.
Google Maps on the phone can cache WiFi downloaded map data for an area the size of a large city for offline use where there is no cell signal, or for use in a foreign country where data roaming charges are prohibitive. Battery use while the GPS is turned on is moderate, making the phone attractive for hikers away from a charging source. 8 hours of continuous tracking using Google My Tracks at its highest resolution drains the battery by only 35%."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
kjunbill
From Bobcaygeon, Ont
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone

PostedDecember 25, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 25, 2012
"This is my first smartphone and after much searching, I'm glad I chose this one. It does everything that I want it to do. I have dropped it a couple of times and no damage at all. The volume of incoming calls is excellent. Able to hear perfectly in noisy environments. The only thing I wish it had was a LED light indicating a missed call or text. It would save having to open up the phone all the time. Battery life seemed to have gotten a little better with the charging cycles. But it would be nice to have a longer life battery."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Hitman George
From Inisfail, Alberta
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone Love it just absolutely love it.

PostedDecember 19, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 19, 2012
"I just got my Galaxy Rugby about a week ago through Telus and it is my first smart phone and I absolutely Love It. It is easy to learn an easy to operate. I got used to it in a flash and it goes everywhere with me and no one else touches it."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Dmitrii
From canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

does what it says

PostedDecember 10, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 10, 2012
"first day i got it, i put it under water for 5 min, works fine.battery holds for a week of my use(internet radio over 1h a day, calls, some messaging), well quality build, perfect size, very loud speaker, charges very quickly."
Pros: Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
LovinRugby
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Uncompromised features in a well designed Phone!

PostedDecember 6, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 6, 2012
"I am very happy I decided to purchase this phone.
The overall feel and experience is beyond what I expected for a rugged device.
The speed and fluidity of the interface felt like a more expensive device.
This is how I would have made it! Thank you Samsung!!
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, comfortable grip
Cons: lacks bluetooth tethering, no ambient light sensor
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Hotfish
From Cold Lake, Alberta,Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rough and Tough

PostedDecember 4, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 4, 2012
"Hi all, I recently had to purchase a new cell due to the older one being stolen and I was absolutely baffled by the changes I saw on the market. Being an avid outdoors person and military of profession, the Rugby LTE was the perfect choice. Heavy duty protective features makes this phone one of the most versatile tools there is out there while keeping a touch of esthetic and servicability. I f you are afraid of purchasing a smart phone due to their fragility, the Rugby LTE will blow you away by its durability."
Pros: Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
rayfromthenorth
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The only phone for my wife.....

PostedNovember 30, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 30, 2012
"This is the only phone for my wife. It survives rough treatment, being thrown in a purse, being dropped, a splash of coffee, and most importantly the kids."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
ArgleBargle
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

phenomenal

PostedNovember 18, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 18, 2012
"Galaxy Rugby LTE is a great waterproof rugged phone. small, bright and fast - would be a very good phone even without the rugged/waterproof specs, but that's why i bought it. i use it running/cycling and working in the rain as well as sailing. i can go running and still be on call for emergencies while it doubles as my music player and GPS watch to track my distance (use free Maverick app). it sacrifices almost nothing over an iphone and gives me far, far more versatility and confidence. great, great, great phone. its actually changed my life a little."
Pros: Bright display, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
NBARILLAS
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tough phone

PostedNovember 17, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 17, 2012
"I did not believe that there were smartphones out there that has these kinds of specs. For the price point that it has it is a steal. The internal memory is Lacking but adding a 32gb micro SD card solved that problem fast. If you are tired of the I phone breaking all the time (which mine was) this is a great replacement user friendly and more free apps to go with it. I have not had a problem with the phone software, its fast and handles a lot."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
wyrm
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good phone, not the latest bells and whistles but gets the job done and nice to have built in protection

PostedMarch 8, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 8, 2014
"Would probably be a better phone if they release an OS update to JellyBean"
Pros: Durable
Cons: expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
micheal
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 31, 2014
"now, for a rugged phone i was disappointed in the charging port cover breaking off after 5 months and the screen "spider webbing" in my pocket without being bumped disappointing aswell. but. it is a great performing phone and will definetly get another one in 2 years time. but all in all it is a great little phone."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Alesolid
From Toronto
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Okay

PostedDecember 13, 2013
PostedDecember 13, 2013
"Apparently if you drop the phone the back plate opens up. You probably might need a rubberized bumper around it but that's it. You can own one as is from Samsung without having to purchase expensive accessories. It's a good phone that you can actually replace the battery after it's done and will last you a while."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
DJG1918
From Calgary, Alberta
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I kill phones and this one still lives after a year!!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"I have a bad reputation with cell phones. I have beaten and destroyed more phones that I would like to admit. Feeding them tea, freezing them in a snow bank and driving over them are included in my list of bad deeds. So when I heard that Samsung was making a more durable Rugby model I searched all over for it and bought it immediately. I am impressed with its durability, although I have ceased to be so physical with this one, I still have dropped it (face down on the road several times), spilled water over it and flipped it into the snow (several times) and it continues to come out of all of these altercations without damage. The screen glass is unscratched, the case itself has a couple of tiny nicks but otherwise is unscathed. This is my first touch screen smart phone so I am still fiddling with the correct settings and all the various capabilities. the only concern I have is that It does have a bit of an issue with the battery life but only when on mobile data & roaming. If the settings are done properly 24 hrs plus on a charge.
Overall it is a great phone and I recommend it to someone who is moderately abusive of phones. There is a flip version of this one and I think it would be good for those who are in construction or similar fields that need a really, really tough phone."
Pros: Durable
Cons: battery life is adequate but not extensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Antler
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid Phone but no very quick

PostedOctober 11, 2013
PostedOctober 11, 2013
"Like I said it's a solid phone. Dropped it a few times and no problems. Down side.. Software runs slowly and lag seems to be a big issue. If you're trying to log into facebook and type a text at the same time as well as having the browser open, good luck. Might seem silly to be doing all that at once but you'd be surprised on how often you'll be multitasking with your phone."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: slow performance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
mtlg
From wadena, sk.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

on the 3x4 text keypad there should be a t9/abc toggle button available on the pad itself and there is no add word to dictionary option

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 10, 2013
"the phone is awesome except for the limited keypad options like the GT-5690 had I loved that keypad I hope they make an update or an app for it"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: poor keypad
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Ale123
From Toronto, Ontario
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value!

PostedJune 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 2, 2013
"It would be good if it was offered through Fido. Right now only Telus and Bell offer this phone in Ontario Canada. It's a pretty cheap phone considering what it's capable of doing and the value you get. Also having the phone in more than one color would be good. It you make another version in the future with a better camera, different colors, greater storage capacity (Ex. 64 GB), and have it offered through more carriers like Fido and Rogers, that would be great. Looking forward to future models."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, waterproof
Cons: not sold through most cell phone carriers, only in one color, speakers at the back of the phone not front.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Allvodi
From Toronto, ON
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good business phone.

PostedApril 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 11, 2013
"1. If one does not need the HD capability of the Galaxy S3 this is a great alternative. It's as fast.
2. If one wants long battery life, ditto again. It easily runs for 2 days if one uses it like a business phone. It was not intended for games or movies. (Note the screen size !).
3. If one needs a more robust, fast business friendly smartphone, this is it.
4. If one is looking for a good replacement for a tired smatphone and is willing to learn using the touch screen (it's easy folks !) ditto again.
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, good form factor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
mdlagdeyes
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

easy to figure out

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 15, 2013
"my first smart phone, and once I figured out how to answer the phone calls, the rest of it was very intuitive. Love the large screen!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Alex
From Toronto
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone.

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 5, 2013
"It's a multi-purpose phone and has good reliability. It would be good if it came in more than one colour as well."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
kaygan
From BC,Vancouver
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Looks good , fast , light

PostedNovember 2, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 2, 2012
"My beloved HTC falled and broke , i was looking for a tough phone . Here it is , looks good . Lighter than my old one , faster , better stronger .
As it is waterproof no worries under the rain anymore . No need for zip lock bags :)
"
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, impressive, compact
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
mandoo12
From Sparwood, BC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Samsung Rugby Lte does not live up to Samsungs hype.

PostedMarch 12, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 12, 2013
"Purchased this phone in Dec 2012 for my Husband who works in heavy construction, because of Samsungs claim that the phone is more durable, withstands more than the average phone etc.... So my husbands has been very careful with the phone, but the other day he was in our SUV when he forgot that he had the phone in his lap and got out of the vehicle, the phone hit the driveway. Needless to say the phone did not withstand the drop from his lap. (not even 3 feet). Cracked the screen and now there is no display. NOT IMPRESSED, IN MY OPINION THIS IS NOT A DURABLE OR RUGGED PHONE, ITS JUST LIKE ALL THE REST."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Sharon
From Saskatoon, SK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

PostedNovember 26, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 26, 2013
"I went to my cell provider to "upgrade" because I was starting to feel my battery life was not what it should be. I was charging too often. I never would have believed that I would need to charge my new phone twice a day. I could not be more disappointed with this phone and it's battery life."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Too big
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Not happy
From georgetown, ontario, canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

My Rugby died from water exposure

PostedOctober 2, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 2, 2013
"I bought my Samsung Rugby LTE because it was supposedly a super tough, water-tight phone. Well I inadvertently exposed the phone to a water situation at work for just the briefest of moments and that was a big mistake. The Rugby died from liquid exposure. Buyer beware."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, caveat emptor
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
not tough enough
From southern alberta
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not mil-std-810f compliant for shock

PostedAugust 30, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 30, 2013
"screen broke falling less than 2ft .phone non functional. landed on side then face. mil-std-810f specifies many tests for for shock; including 1.22 m or 4 foot drop on all sides top and bottom with no harm or loss of function. case battery and circuit board are durable screen is not. it may conform to ip67 for for dust and liquid resistance the second standard referred to i did not test it. if you like the other features of this phone get a decent case with some sort of screen protection."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, not a tough phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Galaxy Rugby™ LTE
Customer Avatar
Not again
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I think I made a mistake

PostedAugust 21, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 21, 2013
"I've had this phone for 2 weeks now, after 6 days of owning it the LCD Display had a dead pixel and when you looked at any dark image on the screen when it is dark outside the dead pixel looked like a green laser beam. Had the phone replaced 4 days ago, then last night I was loading some music onto the optional 16 gig micro SD card that I purchased. Now this morning the phone is not accepting the SD Card. I tried another known good card and it doesn't work either. I guess I'm off to get it replaced again with a 3rd phone."
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.