Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Smartphones
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Discover

Samsung Galaxy Discover

Stay social wherever your day takes you. The Galaxy Discover is the perfect mobile device to keep you in the loop with all of your friends. With a large 3.5-inch touch screen and a 3 MP camera, you’ll be able to capture, watch and share all your OMG moments. The ultra-smooth Ice Cream Sandwich operating system gives you complete control. With access to thousands of mobile apps, you’ll be able to stay on top of all your tasks and stay entertained. Stay social and in style with the Galaxy Discover.
Rating:
3.411 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
25
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
11
41 out of 66(62%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
kristye
From webster tx
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my phone !!!!! yeeees have a great features

PostedMarch 19, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 19, 2014
"I love this one !!!!! and the color too is white pearl ."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
dogs
From Hanmer on
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good little phone with first class web support

PostedDecember 13, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 13, 2013
"Purchased this little phone a few days ago for the wife. Fits nice into her hand bags, lots of APPS. Had a little confusion setting it up ( not a teck wise person ) and made contact with a Samsung chat line ad in 5 minutes or less our problems ( lack of knowledge o my part ) were taken care of plus we given a web site to down load the complete hand book on this phone. We now have a very interesting pass time for the next short time as we add all the bells add APPs to this cute little phone."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
ExpatChic
From Ottawa, ON
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Small footprint

PostedOctober 1, 2013
PostedOctober 1, 2013
"I have a US Verizon HTC Incredible 2, but needed a pay-as-you-go cell phone for use here in Canada. This phone fits the bill. I love the smallish size...Goldielocks would like it...not too big, not too small. Some apps take a bit to load, but maybe I'm over taxing it. Otherwise, it works just fine. Tip on battery life: For about the first 3 days, COMPLETELY discharge the battery before charging it. The first couple of days, the battery will run out pretty quickly, but if you wait until it is completely dead before charging, by the third day, I was able to go almost 12 hours without having to re-charge."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, nice size
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Tommy
From Toronto,on
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung galaxy discover rocks

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 11, 2013
"Just buy it great phone great stuff just a little less battery life."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, totaly awesome
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Genius11111
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's the best phone!

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 2, 2013
"The phone was better than I have expected it! And I like it very much!"
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, many apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
OK user
From Tulsa, Oklahoma
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little smartphone

PostedAugust 19, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 19, 2013
"My previous smartphone was an S3. The discovery is fantastic and does exactly what it is designed for. It seems faster than the S3, is more compact, and is loaded with features. If it has a caveat, it is that it tends to overheat while working as a WIFI hotspot. I would like to see more accessories for it, but those will probably come along after the phone has been in circulation longer. The price-tag is appealing, as well as it's compact size. I would recommend it to my friends. However, if you're used to previous versions of Android, Ice Cream Sandwich takes a bit of getting used to. For example: the email interface isn't very intuitive. Otherwise, 5-stars."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, fast, compact
Cons: overheating problems, why so many changes with ice cream sandwich?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
discoverfan
From new brunswick, nb
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great phone, but cannot seem to find a case for it :(

PostedJune 16, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 16, 2013
"I love my discover. it is great great great for performance and all of the apps work great, never slow. The price is crazy low for all that it does and it is very functional. I had read the reviews on the website for this phone that say the battery is horrible. I disagree, mine last for two days, and considering I am on the internet and have about five apps open at the same time for around 6 hours a day, that is really a long time for a battery to last. the only thing that bothers me about the phone is, though it is a very popular phone, I cannot find a nice case for it. the only cases I seem to be able to find are those gross rubber ones. yuk!"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, great battery, great apps, functional
Cons: no cases
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
hannasadancer
From not saying
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my frist smart phone its geart

PostedApril 13, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 13, 2013
"i really like the phone but i wish i colud find glass for its cuz i cracked the screen but over all its the best smart phone out there"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
phonelover
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is my first smart phone.

PostedMarch 22, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 22, 2013
"This is my first smart phone and my first pone with an all touch scrren way. Ihave had the phone for less then a month and so far it is great. I only have one problem with the phone, People send me picture message and I click download and it says downloading and then it goes back to download and I cannot see to figure out why. Other then that it is a great phone."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Doglover
From Dundas, ON
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first smartphone. Low cost. I love all the stuff it does. Having a lot of fun with it.

PostedMarch 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 14, 2013
"I am a senior and had an older Samsung phone but bought this to replace it. There is a secret to long battery life with all re-chargeables. You must let the phone go dead before charging the battery. You should do this about 3-4 times. After that the battery will hold a charge longer and last longer. A complete recharge takes about 3 hours, so do this over night. My phone got its last charge 4 days ago and is on all he time. There are also internal settings to save power. My friends have been amazed at what this bargain phone will do. I LOVE IT!!!!
It is easy to listen to music, watch videos, or even read books on it. I do not even need a contract to do all this. It also hooks up easily to wi-fi.
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
aham
From Edmonton, AB
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Watch the battery life

PostedMarch 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 14, 2013
"We bought two of those for my wife and myself. With plain vanilla (factory reset) Android, no apps installed, wifi and data turned off, one phone lasts 10-14 days on a charge with light phone use. The other 3 -5 days. During those 3-5 days there were periods fast discharge (check the battery monitor under settings), and the phone got slightly warm during those times. That's a hardware or OS problem, not a battery problem (my wife and I could switch batteries to no effect).
No problem getting it replaced. Make sure that you don't have a dud. The phone is lovely, otherwise, especially for the price."
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
NeedaCase
From British Columbia, Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product - Looking for case

PostedMarch 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 11, 2013
"This is an amzaing starter phone for anyone who is new to smartphones. It is easy to navigate and the colour is great.
My only concern is I cannot find a case for it. I have looked for 5 months every place I go, and still do not have a case for it. Please make a hard case for it.
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: cannot find a case
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
redrosesrbeautifultome
From Charlotte, NC
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this phone

PostedMarch 7, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 7, 2013
"I love this phone, great features, and fast! Great Price! Easy to use"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Brian
From Halifax, NS
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Smart Phone

PostedMarch 6, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 6, 2013
"I would highly recommend this phone to someone who wants a basic smartphone with nice features and doesn't want to break the bank doing so. The screen is bright and responsive. I have no complaints or issues as it does everything I need a phone to do. I am so happy with this phone."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, exceeded my expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
phanz
From Calgary, AB
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Smartphone for a Good Price

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 16, 2013
"I bought this smartphone as a first phone for my teenage son. It was a great price for a prepaid Android ICS 4.0 smartphone. The only complaint he's had is that it can be a bit slow for some of the newer, more complex games, but other than that it's been great so far."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: processor a bit slow
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
SSRDS
From Alberta
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More features than I use.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"I like the phone, but so far I have not used it to it's full potential. The only thing I would like is for Samsung to supply a printed user manual. I know I can print one from the web site, but it would be very large. I would like a compact manual that I did could readily have in my vehicle glove box or my camera case. That way I could look up a proceedure if I was away and had a problem."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: i have not used it enough to fine a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
LuvMyToys
From Calgary, Alberta
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great entry level Smartphone

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"This phone has all the features I need. I would definetly recommend it to a friend."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Luv2Shop
From Toronto, ON
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

PostedDecember 29, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 29, 2012
"Excellent phone for the price. Functions properly and gives me about 1.5 days of battery life. Android 4 is also a neat bonus feature on a prepaid phone."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Breonnia
From MO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone :)

PostedMarch 1, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 1, 2014
"It does a lot :) But the only thing is i cant turn on my front camera to video call..."
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
crazycatlady
From Vancouver,BC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great smart phone starter

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"This is my first smart phone and I find it to be all I had hoped for, without going overboard on options. The price was great and it checks all my boxes."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: battery life a little disappointing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Abloona
From Edmonton, Alberta
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love my Samsung Galaxy. Easy to use.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 10, 2013
"This is an exceptional phone. Easy to move through the various screens. Design is super. Great value. Strongly Recommend!"
Pros: Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Karissa
From Ontario Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great phone for a great price.

PostedNovember 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 2, 2013
"i just got my phone a couple of months ago and like most said the battery wasn't lasting so i read some reviews and said to drain battery a few times. well now it works perfectly fine it last for couple days without dying. only issue im having right now is their is something wrong with my phone feature, i can dial and call people but whenever someone calls me i hit the button to pick up it doesn't work. ive looked over the settings and everything nothing seems to work."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: camera is terrible
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
auser
From canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good overall, poor component quality, requires setting "adjustments" to have decent battery life.

PostedNovember 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 2, 2013
"Bought 2 on sale last summer. One had a defective component which caused rapid battery use and overheating. Samsung warranty repaired at no cost within 3 weeks. Both phones had to have settings "adjusted" in order to have acceptable battery life. Adjusting settings is not an easy procedure for non technical users. Otherwise phone is good overall. Good size, fits in hand and pockets, takes standard google and other android apps. Low price makes this model a good value, if you have moderate technical knowledge."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
TechGuy2312
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to Use, and the Battery Rocks!

PostedAugust 8, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 8, 2013
"This battery has exceeded our expectations. Today's charge followed over 3 days of use. There are ways to increase time between charges. See articles on the Internet! My last Samsung smart phone had good battery life, too! The learning curve is steep, and features become familar after several hours of work over a few days. We're happy, and also recommend an inexpensive case made of TPU a/k/a a flexible case, and a Skinomi TechSkin screen protector ordered via the web."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Beesluvhoney88
From Ontario Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Good!

PostedJuly 20, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 20, 2013
"I have had this phone for about 7 months and I actually really like it! It actually is a pretty good phone if you give it a chance. The only thing I would really change about it is that I wish it had a front facing camera, other than that it is pretty good!"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
hello:)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good, except battery life could be a bit longer

PostedJune 27, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 27, 2013
"This phone is really good for the price I paid. Apps run smoothly and it is very user-friendly. Overall, a pretty good phone. Battery is okay, lasts for about 24h for me, I charge it once a day when it hits around 20% as long as I turn off wifi when I don't use it and kill the apps right away after I'm done. My only complaint is that there is no file manager on this phone. I couldn't access my SD card files without downloading an app from the google play store that would let me read the files. Finally I found ES File Explorer, it works well and it's free."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight, apps run somethly
Cons: battery is not the best
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
kosmos
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Battery fix

PostedJune 18, 2013
PostedJune 18, 2013
"Try to factory reset the phone it may fix the short battery life issue. I got 8hrs of standby time originally, after factory reset, Im getting 50 hrs."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Vollezar
From Victoria, BC.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value and quality

PostedMay 9, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 9, 2013
"I'll start with the dislikes. Can't update to 4.2 which would fix many bugs. Screen auto-rotate does not always work.
The good:
Battery is pretty good.
Camera actually takes pretty good pictures and it's features give enough of options for many conditions.
Small size is perfect for me to keep in my coveralls at work without getting in the way.
Touchscreen is responsive and although my fingers are pretty big and clumsy it's small size isn't an issue.
While built-in speaker isn't very good the headphones this phone comes with are actually very good.
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 (4G) | Black
4.6 out of 5(44)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
BIG Sam
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

CONSECUTIVE

PostedMarch 21, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 21, 2013
"This phone is more durable then any touch screen I have ever seen. I dropped it face flat on the ground many times not one crack, nothin. I have dropped it n water by mistake and it still worked, it had snow and ice frozen on it and it still worked after all that.
One huge down fall is the amount the phone froze even in he beginning when it was never dropped. Messaging would glitch up at times. It is frustrating to have to wait for you phone to load something that should take less then a second."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, water resistant
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
shifatdottk
From Windsor,ON,Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Phone that's just right.

PostedMarch 15, 2013
PostedMarch 15, 2013
"As a student, I need a phone that I can call, text, check socialize, surf the web, and do some lightweight gaming with for passing time. The Samsung Galaxy Discover does just that. This is a great phone for those who only need a low-medium end phone for the things above. The graphics quality is not that great (I can see Lines & Squares, instead of Smooth, curved surface on some places) and the animations are a bit choppy but that's expected of a phone of this kind. Overall, this was a good buy. It's the right phone for all my needs."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, meets all needs
Cons: Not high def, animations are bit choppy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Cuban305
From Miami, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

All in all, perfect!

PostedMarch 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 2, 2013
"I love it's design, sadly it doesn't provide a front camera or flash in the back camera. The battery drains fast, even if with apps to help it last more. However, it runs quickly and smoothly, love it."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, sleek design, fast
Cons: no flash, upgrade to jelly bean
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Partyperson11
From Ontario Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice!

PostedMarch 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 2, 2013
"Good phone for the price, you can actually do a whole lot on it like download music, download games and apps etc.... good starter smartphone!"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
LivinginNewfoundand
From Newfoundland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Good Phone

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 24, 2013
"I bought this phone lastnight and its a pretty good phone for the price, the only problem I have had is the battery drains very fast, I have even added battery apps and that hasnt helped so disappointed about that, but everything else is good!"
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: battery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
rivermanns
From Nova Scotia Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great bang for your buck

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 24, 2013
"Great phone with all the necessary features,,,My only problem like most in this design is I wish they had some type of protective lid that came with and covered phone in pocket or purse."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: needs cover/lid
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Photogirl
From St.Catharines, Ontario Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product with lots of features for a good value!

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 20, 2013
"I think the Samsung Galaxy Discover is a great entry level smartphone for a good price. It has many of the same features as more expensive smartphones. I love the design and performance of it too! I would definitely recommend this phone to anyone who wants to have a smartphone but doesn't want to pay a lot of money. I love my Samsung Galaxy Discover!"
Pros: Inexpensive, great features
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
jrowe
From Toronto, ON
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good beginners phone

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 15, 2013
"I recently dropped my blackberry bold and with a year and a half left of my contract I needed an inexpensive smart phone to tie me over until then. This phone was great for that. Going from using a blackberry to an android its a good phone to transition with. You do get what you pay for, so if you want a phone that performs and meets your expectations of an iphone or Samsung Galaxy 3 you wont really find it here."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
luvthesungprods
From Grande Prairie, Alberta Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great features.

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 12, 2013
"Nice product with great features for the money for a pay and talk phone with no monthly bill for contract. My big complaint is that. I tried numerous suggestions given by Samsung for the problem of not connecting to Samsung kies. Kies just shows the model of the phone but just keeps saying connecting but will not fully connect. After a second email to Samsung I got answer stating that the galaxy discover SGH-S730M is NOT! compatible with Samsung kies. Hope to see update from Samsung soon to fix this issue."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: compatibility issue with kies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Tad55
From Lethbridge
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone - advice on battery life

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
PostedFebruary 7, 2013
"I bought this phone two weeks ago and I was not happy at all with the battery life. The phone would die super fast without even barely using it. I finally took it back and exchanged it for a new one. I was told that the first three charges are the most important ones..it's what sets the memory for the battery. With the first phone I bought I immediately plugged it in to charge, but with the one I have now I didnt plug it in at all and I let itself die. It took a good amount of time to die. If you want the best out of your battery you need to do this three times. Let it die, charge it completely, let it die, charge it completely etc etc.. I have already noticed a huuuuge improvement in my battery life compared to the first phone I bought. I've also read many reviews that the phone wont charge to a complete 100 % but it will. I got it to charge to 100 on my first phone and as well as my second phone.
Now that my battery life has improved, I am happy with the phone. My only other complaints would be that there is no flash on the camera and its a back facing camera only, but not a HUGE deal. I enjoy this phone compared to my old prepaid phone.. I can play games now! Woohoo haha.
Hope this helps anyone considering buying this phone! I was about to give up on it because the battery was so horrible, but now it's all good :)"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: no flash. back facing camera.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
mister
From canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great entry level smart phone with qualifications

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 3, 2013
"I've had this phone for a nearly two months with flawless performance and none of the other whining, marginal complaints from other reviewers including the battery issue. If you want more phone spend more money - how difficult is that? But, if you need a basic smart phone that puts many more expensive ones to shame and does text, email, web, and actually functions as a phone this one deserves your consideration. The only qualification is that if you want a decent camera, this phone may not be for spend you...back facing only, no flash, and no auto focus, but it does take decent basic pics and video on the fly. Try to find another smart phone that comes with Android ICS 4.04 as the operating system, looks great, and performs well for less than a hundred bucks...good luck."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: camera for some
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Luvmynewdiscover
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This phone is an unbelievable newby smartphone!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 24, 2013
"The battery life is a lot shorter than a non smart phone, but that was expected. Advanced Task Manger app greatly improved battery life, as did lowering the screen brightness and turning off wifi and bluetooth when not needed. Usually get 36 - 48 hours on a busy schedule. I am not a gamer, so I cannot speak for that, but all my favorite apps work great. I would love to see a mute button, but for the price it's fine as is.
My only real complaint is how long it takes to charge. Best invest in at least a car charger.
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: small keyboard
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Mr.T
From canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice biginners phone

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 11, 2013
"Being use to an old flip phone, this one is great for me. The one thing that I found was in the calculator mode. I wanted to use a simple percentage function to calculate taxes and there was none. BUT it had SIN, COS. and other math function that you might use if you were a math professor. It would great if it had a flash for the camera but sometimes you can't have it all in a lower cost unit. I would recommend this unit as a simple beginners unit..."
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Markus Maximus
From Ottawa Valley, Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent phone

PostedDecember 8, 2012
PostedDecember 8, 2012
"I have had this phone a little over a month now and I'm extremely satisfied with it. I like the Android 4, and I'm not sure where the bad reviews about battery life come from, but I get a minimum of a day and a half out of it, sometimes two days, so no issues at all. Great speed on apps. Overall very happy and well worth the money. It's even better that a lot of phones costing a lot more."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
9kittens
From Windsor, ON
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone for the price!

PostedNovember 21, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 21, 2012
"I'm currently a student from the U.S. residing in Canada for my post-secondary school education and I was looking to upgrade my phone from a simple prepaid. When I came across this phone I haven't seen it before and the price seemed fair to me for a prepaid android. This phone is amazing, I can't put it down because I missed having an android phone and this phone gives you it all. I've have a Samsung Galaxy S II before and compared to that there isn't much difference. You get the same quality as a high-end android minus a few things. The only things I noticed was the camera was kind of bad, but its 3.0 MP so I should have expected it, and there is no flash. Another thing is that, I find it can be a little slow/clunky when it comes to some apps or having multiple apps open at the same time. I've installed a task manager app though and that seems to take care of most of my phone's usage. Lastly, the battery goes out pretty quick so make sure you buy or find a free version of a battery saver on the app store when you get this phone, though that is a common problem amongst all androids. ;) Definitely recommend getting this. especially if you need an android in your life and don't have as much money to get a contract."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, battery life, no flash
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
NotImpressed
From Not Saying
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Don't like it at all!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 31, 2014
"This product has repeatively stopped working (forcing me to remove the battery and restart the phone) Also the phone should have a camera on the front and back of the phone. I wish to inform those thinking of buying this product not do so."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no camera on front, stops repeatively
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Sammy83
From Edmonton, AB
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice features, but battery leaves something to be desired

PostedMarch 26, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 26, 2014
"For a beginner, entry level smart phone, the features offered are just as I expected. It has everything I need for making calls and checking email/Twitter/Facebook/etc, and the camera takes decent pictures. I am very disappointed with the battery life, though. It can be very unstable and sometimes looses the charge unexpectedly. This could just be my own "bad battery" experience, but I can't say for sure. Overall, an excellent basic smart phone if you get a good battery."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
RobinHood
From Toronto, ON
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sleek and slow

PostedDecember 11, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"I looks nice, a great size. Battery is average, gets me through the day. But freezes if I turn off the wifi and turn it on again, lags constantly or completely freezes and requires a restart. No flash or screen light up, can not block numbers."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, freezing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
doanie
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

how to booklet

PostedAugust 25, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 25, 2013
"I just bought a galaxy discover phone and I am having trouble understanding on how all the things work. I will admit that I am older and tech challenged and even answering or making a call, answering phone messages where difficult to figure out for me. I would like to suggest that you include a plain and simple how to booklet for those of us that have never or hardly ever used a cell phone before."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: no simple how to booklet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Sabicat
From PEI, Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lemon laws should apply!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
PostedAugust 15, 2013
"In Mar. 2013, we changed service providers and purchased 4 Discovers. 3 of them work beautifully, my children constantly have music playing, running apps, on wifi, texting (and probably more) and their battery life is a day or two between charges. My husbands also last for a number of days. Mine on the other hand will go from 100% to dead in less than 4 hours if I'm lucky. I've had it happen where it died in less than 30 minutes. Safe mode is constant lately. Battery has been changed a couple of times and still no improvement. It also likes to "eat" SIM cards for some reason. I went with these phones as I've always used Samsung cells and loved them. This one is definately the exception to the rule. Like cars, I guess every so many just has to be a lemon and I've got it."
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Bobby001
From Hamilton
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

No tethering or hotspot capabilities? Amazing that this was not included!

PostedJune 10, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 10, 2013
"No tethering or hotspot capabilities? Amazing that this was not included!"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Alan
From Ottawa, Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very bad battery, turned off wifi, bt, only phone. Battery drained complete after 7-8 hours.

PostedApril 10, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 10, 2013
"Very bad battery, turned off wifi, bt, only phone. Battery drained complete after 7-8 hours.
I like all the other features.
Actually it is a good phone except the battery.
I saw some posts said so, but I did not expected as such.
Any fix on this problem?"
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
nlnlnl
From newfoundland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Low Battery Life

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
PostedFebruary 21, 2013
"This phone is a very good phone at a reasonable price. Although i have been experiencing many issues with battery life, i have not had any further problems with the phone. This is a great first phone for anyone just starting out! it is cheep, durable and a good size. i think though, that it is just my phone that is experiencing battery problems, as others with the same phone do not have this problem. or so i hear!"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, battery life
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
bluelor13
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

undecided

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 9, 2013
"I bought this phone 2 days ago. It does not charge past 99%,i know i charged it for 4 hrs. To text on this phone you need baby fingers and a lot of patience.Nowhere can i find a cover for this phone. Disappointed!"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
camvar97
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Awesome Phone, 1 problem!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 4, 2012
"the phone is awesome and i love it but the thing is that it cannot be rooted so u are stuck with the apps that come pre-installed or its stock rom."
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Belle
From Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Battery life is almost non-existent

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 21, 2014
"Had battery problems from day one. Had it replaced and no difference. Can be fully charged but if turned off will die that day. Also, full charge lasts not even twelve hours.
Definite waste of money."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, battery life very poor
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Smurph
From Toronto
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Terrible battery!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"This seemed like a steal. It was great value as a prepaid...or so it seemed. Compact, speedy, new OS etc. Did everything I needed it to do. Except maintain a charge. It would run down the battery in half a day and no changing of the settings could fix it. Think I got a lemon, sadly."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Bill
From canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

disappointed

PostedDecember 2, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 2, 2013
"had this phone since 2012. Gave my phone number to real estate company when I sold my home and moved. Since then have been getting calls from telemarketers. Called Samsung to ask "how to block unwanted calls" was told by service rep that this phone does not have the ability to block calls. Would not buy this again for me or family member for this reason."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: can't block calls
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Pete
From Fredericton ,New Brunswick,Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Its sort of like having a vehicle with no engine.

PostedJuly 27, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 27, 2013
"The phone is inexpensive but its basically a plug into a power source phone.Without a power source
the phone battery is depleted within 3 or 4 hours.I am returning the phone tomorrow after a month of
annoying dead batteries.The operating system is good and fun to use but it has serious power issues.
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Melv
From Grand Falls Windsor, NL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

The product has good features, poor battery life.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 23, 2013
"The battery live is terribly short. Would not have purchased it if I had known that. Cannot find a case for it."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
cmoney1993
From St.catharines, On
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Having problems

PostedJuly 21, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 21, 2013
"When i charge my phone when its dead nothing shows up. There is supposed to be a picture of a battery but nothing. Also after its done charging and I take it out of the charger, it still says it's charging."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Granny
From Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Battery life is very bad

PostedJuly 3, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 3, 2013
"The battery does not even stay charged when the phone is off. I wanted it for emergencies but have been caught a couple of times with a good phone"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 61 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Bluelor13
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

battery

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 11, 2013
"Hello i already posted a review, but im posting another one concerning the battery on this phone. ive owned it less than a week and so disappointed. last night i charged the battery for 3 hours and it wont charge past 99%.. so i turned my phone off after the charge and turned it on this morning to a dead battery. whats up with that?"
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
phonesad
From Kelowna, BC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

almost useless phone

PostedDecember 31, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 31, 2012
"I am on Pay'nTalk and thought this would be a good upgrade from my old flip phone but I am extremely disappointed. The battery life is terrible - doesn't even make it through 24 hrs. and I hardly use the phone. It is not user friendly and I could not recommend this phone to a friend. I would recommend spending more money for a better quality phone."
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
NoMoreSamsung
From Buckhannon, WV
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Battery is terrible!!!

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 23, 2014
"The Battery on this phone is awful!!! After fully charging, being put on airplane mode and being placed on the dimmest setting, this phone is already at 55% battery & it was put in my purse untouched, for about 3 hours. I will be replacing this phone ASAP!!! This is the second Samsung smartphone I've had with a horrible battery. I will NOT be replacing it with another Samsung!!!!!"
Pros: Lightweight, makes calls
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, short battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Samsung User
From Toronto, Ontario
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible

PostedDecember 16, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 16, 2013
"Horrible phone dont buy. Screen broke when i put in my pocket with nothing else and it lagged."
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Too big, Did not meet expectations, screen brakes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Disappointed
From ON
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very overrated. A lousy product

PostedOctober 5, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 5, 2013
"Product may be fine but Android is not a good OP system and whatever changes Samsung have done make this one lousy product. Very frustrating to use."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, just plain awful software
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
shar45
From Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do not like this product.

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 23, 2013
"Battery dies within 3 or 4 hours....would not want to have to rely on it in a crisis."
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
SteveyB
From Vancouver, BC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

battery design flaw and horrid camera

PostedJuly 29, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 29, 2013
"Everything sounded good on paper until I started using it. The battery does not hold a charge for more than 5 hours of stand-by. I found that even in the sleep mode, the battery discharges and stays warm. Also, the fixed-focus camera is only capable of taking blurry photos."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Samsung Galaxy Discover
Customer Avatar
Unhappy Customer
From Alberta
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

My first smartphone but my LAST Samsung product.

PostedJuly 5, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 5, 2013
"LESS than intuitive PIN/PASSWORD screen, incredibly short battery life, less than comprehensive user manual."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.