Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Smartphones
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black

Samsung Galaxy Q | Black

Stay connected in style with the sleek new Samsung Galaxy Q™. Powered by Android™ 2.2, this standout slider makes social networking faster and easier than ever. With a full touch screen and slide-out QWERTY keyboard, 3 MP camera, group messaging, and Social Hub™, the Galaxy Q™ is designed for what matters most—staying at the centre of it all.
Rating:
3.319 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
24
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
13
39 out of 64(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Ont Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I have had nothing but problems from the time I got it almost. 2 yrs ago.

PostedAugust 7, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 7, 2014
" I brought it in twice for battery issues. It wouldn't hold a charge. It constantly gives we no connection available. I have to take the battery out, put it back in for the phone to work. I read amd delete a few emails, txts and the phone runs out of juice. Phone calls drop fro know reason. I am not one of those people joined at the hip with my phone, but it seldom works when I really need it. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a sturdy phone!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 21, 2014
" I have had this phone for 2 years. I have thrown it in a pool and dropped it down cement stairs. It has NO cracks and no problems. I have had the battery last me for 2 days. I love it! Samsung made a great phone, I suggest this phone to younger people, like teenagers. Because of it's size and durability. I love the fact that it has an actual keyboard as well. Comes in handy a lot! It makes the perfect first phone and I am probably going to get the same phone if mine ever dies. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, long lasting battery, small, efficient, actual keyboard, touchscreen
Cons: not as high tech as others
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From saskatchewan
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ITS MY FAVOURITE AND HAS VERY FEW FLAWS

PostedMarch 6, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 6, 2014
" I got this phone in 2011 then in 2013 i upgraded to a galaxy s2 which i stayed with for awhile but i wasnt too happy because the battery died fast and i dont like how big it is and only touch screen. I switched back to the galaxy q and i couldnt be happier i love having the keyboard and this phone has been through alot. Ive thrown it, dropped it in water, coffee, slurpees, and on the floor. The first week i had it i dropped it on a sidewalk, down my stairs, and it fell outta my pocket at dance practice and it still worked and didnt break. Ive dropped it and thrown it alot and just recently i threw it and it broke. but still works fine. theres low storage so you have to be careful what you download and everyonce in a while itll tell you message meomory full. but i recomend this phone as a first phone or for people that dont want a big phone and like the keyboard "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, good first phone, takes a long time to break, small good pocket size, good if your around kids alot
Cons: low storage, says message memory full, using data kills battery, dosent have camera on both sides
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Ontario
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect phone for seniors

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 6, 2014
" My husband and I each have this phone. Bought it because affordable and has slide keyboard which is much easier than using the touch screen for "old" hands. I love this phone but wish it had more capacity for apps. I use the wireless feature even at home, preferring it to my tablet and netbook. Please do not discontinue this model, but add to its features. We "old folk" will thank you. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, slide out keyboard
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Almonte Ontario Canada
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this phones has great features

PostedDecember 13, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 13, 2013
" I love Samsung will not go to any other product never will "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Costa Rica
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best phone for me, If I can keep it away from my daughter!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
PostedDecember 12, 2013
" I wanted an Android phone to replace my Blackberry and when this phone became available from my provider, I jumped on it. I love the slide-out keyboard which is just great for my "overweight" fingers ( which is a major feature for my faster-fingered daughter as well :-) The phone itself is great! Battery life is excellent and the phone has not hung like the Blackberry liked to do. I've loaded useful utilities and, yes a couple of games, and the phone has proved a useful and reliable tool as well.
The only way I'd replace this phone is with something with a larger screen and stylus ( something in the Galaxy Note line?? ) That's the only way my daughter would stand a chance of prying this phone out of my hands!
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Winnipeg
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Phone for Value

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
" Its overall a good phone for its value. I got it with no data and just used wifi for it, and the bill at the end was not that bad compare to other phones with data. However it becomes slow sometimes when sending a message or on the internet. "
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Leamington, Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect for my needs.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
" Although I don't have a data plan, I use WIFI to access the internet quite a bit and that works great. The size of the device is great and the keyboard was a deal maker. When I receive a call or text, I wish the screen stayed on longer so I can swipe the lock off without having to "start" it again. Obviously, I'm not a "power" user so I'm not concerned with memory so much bu I have taken alot of pics with it and it's good and I do alot of texting and its keypad is great. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This Product is bad but I guess it's okay for the Price

PostedDecember 7, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 7, 2013
" The phone was amazing when i first got it. But after using it for the next 2 weeks. I wondered why the battery life was so low. It's last me for only 2 hours but however charging it is pretty fast. It takes 30 minutes to make it 100% if yyour not using it. Overall this phone bad and should never be perfected. If you want a cheap but good phone then get the ACE 2 X "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Windsor, ON
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This phone has awful internal memory

PostedNovember 17, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 17, 2013
" I've had this phone for about two years now and it's starting to annoy me. The first year was fine since I only really used the basic features. I never really used wi-fi since I had direct internet on my PC at home and I didn't find a need or desire to install apps on my phone. I actually didn't want to upgrade from my Samsung Gravity but it started malfunctioning and the cost to repair it was greater than to replace it. ANYWAY.
I was pretty satisfied with my new phone and I slowly installed apps on my phone. I probably had around 20 or so apps and my phone was functioning JUST FINE. Then I started getting a notification on my phone telling me there was no more room for my next app, so I deleted another app to make room. It didn't work. I deleted a few more, it worked. I just figured the app was too big. Months went by and this continued happening until I was left with four apps. I got rid Instagram and two games and just left Twitter. Twitter is my ONLY downloaded app on my phone as of this moment.
I DO HAVE A MEMORY CARD. It has 4GB and aside from photos, it has barely anything else on it. I clean my photo album regularly. My phone started getting another notification telling me my internal memory was low which annoyed me because as hard as I tried to reverse the updates to Google Maps, etc. it would still be there. At the moment, it's gone but it will be back. I tried to find low memory apps to help fix this problem but to no avail. I've talked to Rogers Tech team but APPARENTLY they don't know either.
I LOVE THIS PHONE because it's easy to use, it's a touch screen WITH A KEYBOARD, and it's just right for me. But this memory is a HUGE problem for me now. And recently, my phone started shutting on and off by itself.
:'( I may retire it soon. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Cons: awful internal memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 8, 2013
" i've had no problems with this phone and I've been using it for almost 2 years now. It's not a true smartphone, but has enough power to still run like one; as long as you aren't a "power smartphone user", this is a great device. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

The phone has some great features and some not so great ones.

PostedOctober 7, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 7, 2013
" The size of the phone is great, and the keyboard feature was a seller for me. Yet it fell out of my pocket and the screen was destroyed in only two weeks of owning it. My phone keeps freezing up while in use, randomly opening programs and sometimes won't close them. I've had the issue many times where the screen wouldn't show any of the text written unless I closed the keyboard, and I've also have had the issue where the keyboard would take me to a separate program when trying to reply to a text. The touch screen has had many issue also. For example not working suddenly when it worked five minutes prior. "
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From ontario
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not enough internal space

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 6, 2013
" This phone was great at first! After about a year it slows down and you run out of space. I only had a few apps and every couple days it asked me to delete things and clear data because the internal storage was full. I had to reset the whole phone and clear everything like once a month to avoid this from happening so often. After 2 years my keyboard stopped working, and eventually the entire phone stopped working. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
Cons: Too big, no internal memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Vancouver, BC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good size and easy to use!

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 3, 2013
" This is a great phone for beginners. If your a little more experienced you might not like it as much though. overall i thought it was a great phone for me! "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, ON
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

No texting photos!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 15, 2013
" This is a decent little phone for almost all of your needs - so long as none of those needs ever involves receiving a text message that contains a photo. Nope, the phone was strangely and specifically designed so that it could never receive photos from texts unless you pay for the 4G internet service along with it. It counts that (receiving images) as part of a data plan, and it's as ludicrous as it sounds. I've had extremely limited success in sending photos from my phone to others, as well. See a piece of furniture in a store that you want to get your room mate's opinion on before you get it home? Well, I'm sorry, but it won't be happening.
Ignoring that glaring detail, I do enjoy this phone, and adding the Swype function makes texting a breeze (and it also has a thumbpad keyboard for those of you who like to keep it old school), and the camera is nicer than any I've had previously - though not as good as, say, an iPhone. (I can't compare it to another Samsung, having never owned one and having no friends who do either, sorry.) The video quality isn't amazing, but photo clarity is very nice - the colours simply don't come through as vibrantly as they do on 5th gen iPhones, however.
Everything else has been good so far, except for my most recent issue, which seems to be that the majority of my contacts and images in my gallery have disappeared; possibly it's not reading my SD card anymore? Will have to check it out in further detail, but for now... Honestly I'd give this phone a pass if you're buying. I was in a rush when I bought it, and did virtually no research, and regretted it. "
Pros: Bright display, Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, cannot text/receive text images
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE this phone!! Simple and easy!

PostedAugust 13, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 13, 2013
" I got one of those new touch screen phones for a month and couldn't get use to the flat screen keyboard, i need the buttons! So I tried out this one and I love it! The kids laught at me with their iphones, but if you want a simple, easy phone to check your emails, play a couple games, get messages, take pics, then this is the best phone. I recommend it to everyone!! "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Milton, ON
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Ok at first, Not a long time phone.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 29, 2013
" I have had this phone for about 4 months. At first it worked great! Then everything went downhill. I have four apps and it tells me to delete things because internal memory storage is full. The four apps are on my SD card. All the apps that are already downloaded on the phone take up all the space! That battery life indicator is not accurate. It will show at least 50% battery left when its really at 25%-30%. It will freeze and has a very long start up time. Will sometime run slow and then normal then slow again. VERY annoying. Do not expect much out of this phone. The only thing I like is the slide out keyboard. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, keyboard
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa, Ontario
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Broke within the first year!

PostedJuly 14, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 14, 2013
" This being my first phone, I took great care of it. But within the first year of my contract, the paint started to chip and the touch screen stopped working. Now I have no phone and I still have 2 years left on my contract. Very disappointed with Samsung, as I relied on their product, and it fell through. And since I'm young, I can't afford a new phone :( I don't think I will ever purchase a Samsung product again. "
Cons: breaks easily, touch screen stops working, unreliable, paint chips
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-2 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst phone EVER

PostedJuly 14, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 14, 2013
" I have had this phone for almost 2 years- one more year left in my contract- and it is awful. The battery lasts about half an hour and you need to recharge it twice a day. It's out of storage and I don't even have any games! Speaking of games, it takes like 2 days for the stupid phone just to download anything! The SD card falls out, and then the phone shuts down, and you have to start it up again, which takes FOREVER! The thing just randomly shuts down and blacks out all the time. The paint peels off super easily. And not to mention that parts are falling out of it. You know it's a bad sign when springs and stuff are falling out of your phone through the slide. I think the screen is going to fall off it is so loose.
Just to say everything in one statement: THIS PHONE IS HORRIBLE DON'T BUY IT!
"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Too big, Did not meet expectations, awful phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa, ON
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

no internal memory or battery life

PostedJune 16, 2013
PostedJune 16, 2013
" This phone has no internal memory which I though could be compensated with external memory but most apps need to be on the phone itself. The battery doesn't even last a full day with light usage. The little battery life I have, I waste while deleting things just to enable the basic features to work. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, Ontario
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

poor performace and flashing screen

PostedMay 17, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 17, 2013
" I had to disable the proximity sensor as it interferes quite a bit when trying to utilize touch tone menu's. Phone would flash on and off making a call impossible. However when doing so - the phone with "dial" numbers while talking on your phone. I upgraded the memory card and the camera freezes in mid use, even when there are no other applications running and lot's of room in memory. The touch screen doesn't function smoothly - I recommend that you purchase a different product. "
Pros: Inexpensive, slide out keyboard
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor performance
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great smartphone for those who can't afford the others!

PostedMarch 25, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 25, 2013
" the perfect smartphone for those who don't really need the full features of a higher grade of smartphone. I love that I can stay connected to all my social networks with this phone, the wifi is great, I didn't need to sign up for a data plan which saves me money & I love saving whenever I can! "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From CANADA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I want to throw it against a wall

PostedMarch 14, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 14, 2013
" I've had this phone for about 9 months. When I first received it, I couldn't believe how hard it was to hold. It keeps sliding right out of my hands because its slippery and the weight of it isn't evenly distributed.
Whereas my previous Samsung always alerted me when the battery was dying, this one is constantly dead and I never hear the warning. The battery indicator on it is too small to read and also highly inaccurate! I'll think I have half a battery and then it'll be dead. I tried downloading an app to help me monitor it - but there are still no apps that send a sound warning that the battery is low.
My biggest dissapointment was that I thought I was getting a Smart Phone that would allow me to download apps and games. But all the system updates, the memory is full. Even if I download to the card, the cache or something still seems to clog on the phone's memory. With no apps, memory left is 47.75MB. I have downloaded 3 ring tones. That's it. I'm really disappointed because to me, it's not a SmartPhone if I can't go shopping in the Android or Samsung store.
It creeped me out that my old blog photos were automatically downloaded to the phone through Picassa. Furthermore, I keep deleting photos to free up storage. I'm not convinced that photos are being saved to the SD card since I'm a bit nervous to remove the battery and back to check and deleting them seems to stop the low memory warning. Also, I wish photos could be taken via a button since its extremely hard to hold on to this camera with one hand, keep it steady, and use the touch feature at the same time (especially compensating for self-portraits and no front camera).
I was told when I got this "smart phone" that I would be able to transport documents and looked forward to this feature. But it's not that simple and there are no forums that support this model. "
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, bright flash, smudge-proof screen
Cons: Did not meet expectations, can't find support, no apps, no games, no fun, no internal memory, can't access sd memory
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Montreal, Qc
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Galaxy Q (sgh-t589r) decent entry level Android Phone

PostedMarch 6, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 6, 2013
" I have had this phone for almost 3 years now.. good texting phone, decent as first android phone for a user. good camera. running out of space for apps and local data even though I have added a 32GB microSD, not all apps can be moved to the SD card. very reliable, no hardware issues, very few software issues (hangs or freezes). battery is just now starting to show signs that it is not holding charge as long, but this is a easy fix "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, slide-out qwerty keyboard
Cons: limited built in memory for apps, no updates to os not even from 2.2 to 2.3
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, ON
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It's okay, not the best.

PostedMarch 2, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 2, 2013
" This was my first cellphone, and I decided to get it because of it's low pricetag and the fact that it was still a smartphone. The speed was alright, along with camera quality, the picture-taking speed is a bit slow, but it gets the job done. A negative is that the text messaging starts to lag badly after a thousand texts or so. My advice is to clear your inbox frequently if you want a good texting experience on this phone. Also, the memory capacity is very small, so if you're big on apps and downloads, I don't recommend this phone. The battery life is probably the worst part of this phone. I needed to charge this phone every single day. Also, after 10 months of using it, the battery already expanded and I already needed to replace the battery! And after I replaced the battery, the replacement broke after 3 months! When I went to get it repaired, the repairman said the phone was doing something to make the battery malfunction 3 times as fast. Overall, if you want good value and you're not going to use this phone extremely frequent, it's a good choice. If you're a frequent user looking for a phone to do all your tasks, don't get this phone. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, poor battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Newmarket, Ontario
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone had the #1 feature that I was looking for when I upgraded a number of months ago - a convenient and useable qwerty keyboard.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 26, 2013
" The keyboard on the Galaxy Q is a superb and highly funtional unit. I don't do much texting by today's standards, but I was tired of my old phone, which was a pain when I did get messages. You should know that I am 69 years old and my hands/fingers aren't steady due to a medical condition, so a 'touch screen' was out of the question. I have been very happy with the results of my 'Q' phone's manual keyboard and the pnone's other features are more than pleasing. Good job all around on this one Samsung! "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
Expertise:expert
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beginner smartphone

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 18, 2013
" I assisted my wife with this purchase, as she was moving from a standard cell phone and was in the market for a smartphone. She didn't like the idea of typing emails or text messages on the screen, so this was one of the few Android phones which had a slide out keyboard. I warned her it was the latest or the most fanciest phone on the market but that it would work for her purpose, for some simple apps, texting, email and web browsing. We've been satisfied with it, although it can be occasionally slow and sometimes it forgets the WiFi network at home and we need to shut down the phone and restart it to get it to connect. But otherwise it has all the bells and whistles required for someone starting out with smartphones. "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: drops wifi, not as fast as other smartphones
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing beginner smart phone

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 15, 2013
" As with every new product I intend to get, I researched this phone as much as I possibly could. I was sold with what I read about it. I specifically wanted a touch phone with a slide out keyboard. This only being my second cell phone, and my first touch screen/smart phone, I was blown away with the functionality and features of this device. This was also my first product from Samsung, which sold me on their reliability. The only downfalls that I can tell so far, is that the wifi detector seems awfully weak. I don't think I've ever seen full bars, even when standing right beside the router. The other fault is that the phone has a hard time handling any more than 3 apps at a time. "
Pros: Bright display, Durable, slide out keyboard, customizability
Cons: wifi detector, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Bath Ontario
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall a very good smart phone

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 15, 2013
" My one criticism is battery life is not very long, and as it ages it is requires daily charging. Love the Android system and the fact that there is no data plan required. "
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto ON Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great features

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" I have only been using this product for a couple of weeks and so far it seems great except for the battery life. It does not hold the charge for as long a I expected. I am still in the process of learning all the features but so far I like this phone. I do have a little trouble with the on screen keyboard as I have large hands and tend to touch the letter next to the one I want so then use the pull out keyboard which is very handy in situations like this. "
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery life is shorter than expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is very easy to use.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" My only complaint is that the caps key does not always allow caps but prints a lower case and you have to repeat the entry.
Otherwise is a great tool.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Montreal,Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Galaxy Q is as good as all the other Samsung Smartphones and I like the slide out QWERTY key board because it is easier for me to send texts.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" The Galaxy Q is as good as all the other Samsung Smartphones and I like the slide out QWERTY key board because it is easier for me to send texts. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From vancouver
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good reasonable entry level smartphone

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" Just got it. Seems reasonable for a entry level phone. Inexpensive and has basic functions "
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From London, Ontario
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So useful

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" I am able to have everything I need at my finger tips, study notes, calendar, games and all my contacts. Connecting to google is the best feature and makes syncing easier. I love the slide out keyboard and I am starting to master the touch keyboard. It is a great phone!! "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Montreal
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not enough memory

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 4, 2013
" I am constantly running into low memory issues. I have only a few apps installed and it says memory is full all the time. There are a number of apps that I can't remove which take up all the space. Using Cityphone as a provider. They are part of the Rogers network. "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Vancouver, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value phone, great text entry with Swype and keyboard

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 2, 2013
" I love the Swype text entry. The internal memory is quite limited, but there's lots of free space on the included SD card. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: limited internal memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From new york, NY
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

i hate this phone

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 28, 2013
" this phone is by far the worst out there. it is so slow, easily damaged, and very time consuming. it take almost a minute to send. it always crashes and takes forever to do anything. the camera is terrible quality. "
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Too big, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Vancouver, BC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This phone has good feature but poor reliability.

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 28, 2013
" I've started using this phone since May of 2012. Within a month, I'm experiencing the following problems. The phone has a habit of dropping calls. Unlike the Iphone and my previous Samgsung non-smart phone, the phone is not intelligently enough to know or automatically connect to the car's build-in bluetooth. It must be manually connected every time. However, that's only half the battle. The phone's bluetooth is so broken. It will take somewhere between 6-7 tries to connect. During a call while using the bluetooth, I've experience another problem. The bluetooth disconnected occasionally. The phone will not reconnect. This is a problem I've never experience with the Iphone or other phones in the past.
Clarity from its speakers: average. The best part of the phone is the build in keyboard system. However, with active use, expect to recharge the phone often. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, build in keyboard
Cons: unreliable, not durable, calls get drop often, broken blue tooth, battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Oshawa, Ontario
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very little internal Memory

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
PostedJanuary 13, 2013
" Got one for Christmas. Don't expect to have more than 2 or 3 apps, because it doesnt have the internal memory to support them. Facebook alone almost maxes out the memory. Mine froze up constantly, making you turn it off and back on. The last time \i went on the web, it booted me off, then went to my phonebook which \i couldn't get out of. \\had to take the battery out, then tried to re start it. It got as far as the Samsung logo, and no farther. Won't start up now. I'm spending my sunday afternoon going to the store to replace it. Not worth the aggrevation. "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, internal memory insufficient
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Vancouver, BC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible phone

PostedDecember 3, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 3, 2012
" This phone looks very attractive with a great looking screen and a nice keyboard. But there are a myriad of problems. Battery life is absolutely brutal especially when roaming, I've lost all of my contacts, when roaming I cannot receive calls nor send or receive text messages. Sometimes this can be resolved by removing the battery and rebooting the phone but that's a pain in the neck. Wifi connectivity is also very inconsistent. All in all I would not recommend this phone to anyone. I've owned it for about six months and I am looking to buy another phone because I'm stuck with it for another eighteen months before I qualify for an upgrade with my provider. "
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, overall bad performance
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From toronto
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible Battery Life

PostedDecember 2, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 2, 2012
" I've been using this phone for over a year now. Yeah it's great and smooth for the first 6-8 months of using the phone, but once you use it for more than those months, the battery life shortens, Luckily, my contract will end soon so this phone is done.
As of right now, this phone does not even last a day with me anymore! I need to keep this phone plugged to the charger in order to talk, text and do whatever for more than 10 mins. This phone dies on me after I've probably did one of these: texted for 10-15 mins or did a 2 mins phone call or browse the interest for approx. 5-10 mins, and it will say battery low -- when I just took it out of the charger...
The only thing I like about this phone is the qwerty keyboard because it's easier to text instead of the touch screen, the touch screen hangs on you sometimes..
The only time I can use this phone is when I'm at home..
DO NOT GET THIS PHONE IF YOU ARE ON A 2-3 YEAR PLAN. IT IS NOT WORTH IT.
"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, battery life is not good
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto,ON
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Product's slow, Poor battery life, outdated android system

PostedNovember 19, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 19, 2012
" My sister got this phone and at first it was great. no crashes and smooth. after a week it started to crash apps like Facebook and the processor was having lots of lag. if you want a smartphone, skip this outdated phone and go with a Note II or a SIII "
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: lag, battery life, outdated android
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

unintuitive

PostedOctober 27, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 27, 2012
" If there is a less intuitive phone, I'd like to see it. "
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Low internal storage totally ruins this phone: do not buy

PostedOctober 14, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 14, 2012
" The phone has all the makings of a good smartphone - nice screen, good form factor and a slide-out keyboard - all at a very reasonable price. Unfortunately, the decision to include EXTREMELY LIMITED INTERNAL STORAGE (less than 200 MB, of which much is taken up by system software) makes the phone basically unusable if you want to load more than two apps. This problem can't be overcome with an SD card either: many of the most useful apps must be loaded on internal memory. If Samsung had spent a few more dollars (and even charged more!!) for this phone, it would have been great. As executed, DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE. "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, very limited internal storage = terrible phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Smartphone on the cheap

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 25, 2012
" The Galaxy Q has a great price and is useful for your everyday use (Calling, texting, social networking) and the QWERTY Keyboard is very useful. This is my first smartphone after hunting for a new plan and it hasn't disappointed me. On occasion I'll go to send a text and when I start using the keyboard it'll bring up another screen, but aside from that the Battery life is my only gripe. It's great if you don't want a workhorse and you just want something to check your email and Facebook from. Overall, a great purchase if you just want something basic. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, qwerty keyboard, android, simplified, expandable memory
Cons: battery life, onboard memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Pacific Ocean
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Its a decent smartphone

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 23, 2012
" This phone is pretty decent. Works great for your daily use (Texting, Calling, Social Networking). Its great except for internal memory and battery life. You need to turn off wifi, background data, gps, and turn to 2G to make your phone a day. Use those features only needed. It has low internal memory which you can only download a limited anount of apps, even when moving to external SD because its data eats up internal. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, slide-out keyboard
Cons: insufficent internal memory, not so great battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Ontario
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love the phone, hate the battery life

PostedAugust 23, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 23, 2012
" Love the phone and continue to explore its many options but I ran the battery down as instructed and then recharged only to find even with little use I'm having to charge it daily. I had a Samsung before and never had this problem even after two years :( "
Pros: Bright display
Cons: poor battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, ON
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first smart phone. It is great. Just getting use to it.

PostedAugust 22, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 22, 2012
" The only thing that bugs me is that it has poorer reception then my old cell phone. I live in a bassment apartment. Is there any down loads or Apps that I could get that could make the reception on this phone better? Can someone help? I don't know much about these phones. I would hate to return because of the reception. I only had this phone a couple of days. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

super frustrating

PostedJuly 30, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 30, 2012
" resets by itself, often starts to a different screen you have never seen before, way too many keystokes to make a simple phone call (hide keypad etc...), battery lasts 2 days, un-intuitive interface, does crazy things by itself, camera stutters/locks, can't find how to update the OS (why do I need to do this after only a couple of months anyhow?), why do I need to download the missed call reminder app?, way too much time spent troubleshooting.... huge time waster
this was my first smart phone and a total disappointment "
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love it!

PostedJuly 26, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 26, 2012
" I had a Samsung A766 voice-only cell that lasted almost four years. Sadly, it died this past month. I went into my provider's store hoping to replace it with another Samsung.
This phone was very affordable and of the same high quality as my prior Samsung.
This is a data phone where the data gadgets don't overshadow the texting and voice usage.
"
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, ON
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is not a bad phone

PostedJuly 18, 2012
PostedJuly 18, 2012
" I've been using this phone for 9 months, so far, its pretty good. Drop the phone so much, I'm glad that the screen didn't crack at all. However, too little internal memory, I always have to uninstall apps even though I have a 32GB external SD card in it. But this phone really need an upgrade, cause its way too slow. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, easy to text
Cons: Poor quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Alberta,Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone but It CAN NOT READ THAI

PostedJuly 11, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 11, 2012
" I like this phone
but the only one thing that keep annoying me all the time is It CAN NOT Read THAI language
and I don't know how to fix it. I think that is so stupid. we should not call that is smart phone coz it is not smart enough. and if Samsung's support know how to fix that problem PLEASE help
I can not surf Thai website coz It can not read Thai
I can not use my Thai-Eng Dictionary coz It can not read Thai
I do not know what was my friends text to me coz It can not read Thai
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From the Moon
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Product has Up's and Down's

PostedJune 22, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 22, 2012
" I've had the Samsung Galaxy Q for about 3 months now, and I've been surprised- in good and bad ways. The good things are that firstly, it has a great variety of apps, but has no memory to store those great apps.
Secondly, it has very loud speakers, but they aren't very high quality sound, but doesn't really matter. THe screens really good, but the background resets every time i turn the phone off. Also, one day i dropped my phone 1 foot onto a thick carpeted floor. Because of that, it now turns off every 5 minutes of inactivity. Also, it's memory -which is already soooooo limited- now will only allow me to store Angry Birds. (Yes, i have put a SD card in,) But overall, it is a great for phoning, texting (the slide out keyboard is AMAZING), and (if it had more space) playing games.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, slide-out keyboard
Cons: Did not meet expectations, breaks easily, can't send pictures, no memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Montreal Quebec Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

No front Camera

PostedJune 21, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 21, 2012
" it is a nice phone but it don't have the front Camera you can not do the video chat "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From New York , ny
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

My phone

PostedJune 8, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 8, 2012
" This is a bad phone dropped it once n it cracked . "
Pros: Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An easy-to-use product

PostedApril 11, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 11, 2012
" Very user friendly. It might goes slow sometimes, though. There are quite a few of Chinese characters cannot display. Would love it if they can fix the bug. "
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: poor language support
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Vancouver, BC, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone, Poor Battery

PostedApril 5, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 5, 2012
" I love the phone (despite the short battery life) but it's a good thing it seems to be durable because with the slide out keyboard it's impossible to find a case! "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like the phone overall, poor battery and weak reception.

PostedApril 2, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 2, 2012
" My first smart phone and overall I'm happy. I like that you can do WiFi without having a data plan, I may get a data plan later. The features seem good, I like the slide out keyboard. The cell reception seems poor compared to my old brick and the battery does not last very long, not even 2 days with light use. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, ON
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing.

PostedMarch 29, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 29, 2012
" Such a small phone that can do so many things. I've had this for almost 6 months now, and I feel like it's gone by too fast. Great quality, huge amount of variety(what you would expect with any android), and just plain fun to play with. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa, ON
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great features, good looking phone but poor battery life

PostedMarch 17, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 17, 2012
" I really like this phone, it does everything that I need and more. The slide-out keyboard is great. My only beef is with battery life - if I turn on WiFi or Bluetooth, even for a short period of time, I can see the battery level going down! I'm concerned about Bluetooth in particular as I want to be able to use handsfree on my phone during long car trips (we go to the Maritimes from Ottawa every year), I'm not convinced I could get through an 8 or 9 hour drive without the battery going flat. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: poor battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 61 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I would say yes and no.

PostedMarch 4, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 4, 2012
" I bought this phone and it was great for at least 7 months and then the touch screen stopped working. I didn't drop it/spill water on it or anything, it just stopped working. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, nice keyboard
Cons: screen stopped working
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best phone ever

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 4, 2012
" i have had this phone for a month i thought it was a really bad phone intill i went back to the store to return it but a man told me all these cool amazing thing it could do there is a thing called sywpe it when u sywpe instead of using the keypad and u can also use the screen to type and it has alot of apps you can go facebook anything .and it is cheep "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good starter phone but falls short for serious use

PostedNovember 18, 2011
PostedNovember 18, 2011
" We got three of these for on a family plan with Rogers. Quick and easy to get started with. Good value for the money. Bonus: NO DATA PLAN REQUIRED!
Not-so-good fact: Limited on-board RAM, only about 276MB, with less than that actually available for use. Not all Android apps can install to SD card, so the RAM gets used up quickly if you try to do a lot with this phone. With RAM chips as cheap as they are these days, there's no excuse for not having 512MB or even 1GB available for the same price point.
Also, this seems to be the black sheep of the family as there do not seem to be many accessories available for it. (Cases, screen protectors, etc.)
On the plus side, the unit is fairly responsive. The touchscreen is nice, sound quality is good. Playing music from the speakers is surprisingly crisp. The included headset/headphones work well.
Overall, if you are looking for a starter smartphone, and don't expect to add a lot of extra programs to it, this is a decent choice. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not bad to have

PostedNovember 13, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 13, 2011
" The internal memory is only 186mb, but you are given an external SD memory card. Not bad camera but not awesome either. I really really wish samsung offers at least Android v2.3 gingerbread upgrade though. That would be perfect. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive
Cons: android v2.2 (no upgrade to v2.3)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Smartphone

PostedNovember 9, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 9, 2011
" I have had this phone for just a couple of weeks... my first smartphone, and I am very satisfied with this phone! It does everything I need it to do, and really like the fact it has wifi and you do not need to get a data plan!,
So far so good! :o)
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: no fm radio
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New to Smartphones

PostedOctober 31, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 31, 2011
" I am a tech - it's what I do - but I have avoided a smart phone for a number of reasons - now that I have one - I can see what a Luddite I was - this phone is pretty darn cool
The keyboard may be ok for a smart phone - but boy - it's pretty tiny - but it gets the job done
The only other thing that concerns me is the quality of the slider mechanism - it feels sort of "mushy" especially when removing a third party skin or the back cover
over all - very cool "
Pros: Bright display
Cons: slider mechanism (maybe)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Samsung Galaxy Q | Black
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great smartphone

PostedOctober 15, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 15, 2011
" So far, I have had for two days, it's been great. Way better than my last phone. I have had one glitch but I cough that up to bad application not the phone's fault. It works great for my needs and it's was at great price. Touch screen is very easy to work with from the last phone I had. If I had to say there's one issue of battery life, but other that than that its GREAT. "
Pros: Inexpensive, touch screen
Cons: poor battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!