Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Smartphones
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung ATIV S™

Samsung ATIV S™

For a versatile smartphone built for your office life and your social life, look no further than the Samsung ATIV S™. This innovative smartphone with the new Windows Phone 8 OS is ideal for those looking for a quality, feature-rich mobile device for both work and entertainment. It offers a Windows 8 PC-like experience, while rolling a powerful processor and a unique touch interface all into a chic and sophisticated design. The Samsung ATIV S helps you balance work and fun from anywhere.
Rating:
4.659 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
38 out of 43(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Samsung ATIV S™
Review 1 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
aybc
From Winnipeg, MB
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent product, moved up from another brand of WP8, love the Ativ

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"I originally had a WP7 Focus, was a great little phone never had any issues with it. I moved up to another 'brand' of WP8 phone and had nothing but issues.
Pro:
The Ativ has brought back my faith in WP products. The Ativ is slimmer and lighter than my previous phone and the battery life is very good, I can use it multiple days in a row without having to charge. The specs of the phone are definitely a bonus, nice CPU, plenty of space to store stuff and the camera is really good quality. The 'other brands' phone claimed to the best on the market but failed in low light, the camera definitely out performs it by leaps and bounds. My biggest concern from my Samsung Focus was that the volume was not very loud for ring tones, it has been remedied with the Ativ... no problems hearing my phone ring or beep. The screen quality of this phone is excellent, high res and works well in bright light although sometimes i do have to shade it in bright sunlight, but that is to be expected. Removable battery, no argument, all phones need this. Built in batteries are awful in case the phone does freeze or you are type of person who likes to carry extra batteries when you are in a location where you can't charge easily.
Cons:
I really dislike the power line going into the bottom of the phone, it gets in the way if im trying to use it while plugged in. I find i have to keep unplugging it to check a text and then plugging it back in. Phone designers need to think ahead and have the power line plugged into the SIDE of the phone as most apps/programs are widescreen and trying to hold the phone horizontal while using it is impossible with the power cord plugged in. I also find the touch sensitivity to be very high, typing is a little difficult but with use, you get used to it and adjust. On the same topic sometimes i find that holding the phone vertical and using it, that my palms touch the back or search button if i have to reach my thumb to the top of the phone. Because of the sensitivity of those two buttons (the windows button is hard press which is cool) ... that while using an app, it backs out of whatever im doing... again a small complaint.
Final though - great phone, small annoyances but nothing is perfect. Definitely better than other brands out right now of the same calibre."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, removalable battery, great camera, fast and powerful
Cons: sensitivity of buttons, power cord in bad spot
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Maxine
From Brittish Columbia
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Durability at its finest

PostedApril 4, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 4, 2013
"I received the SCH-U450 model phone (black slide phone) as a 15th birthday gift. Over the past 4 years my phone has cost me next to nothing, It has been completely submersed in a saltwater pool, a hot tub and an iced latte (along with countless spills that have covered its screen and keyboard) it has been dropped at least 20 times from between the heights of 3 and 10 feet, my Rottweiler has had it in his mouth, it has been accidentally left out in the rain, snow and sun for countless hours and I have driven almost 1/2 an hour before realizing that it was still sitting on the hood of my car where I had forgotten it.After all of this it only has a few scratches, but still functions completely. Although I may get the occasional tease about my old beat up phone I am still amazed about its relentless durability. This past weekend was the biggest amazement of all. I was hiking with friends and in order to get from one part of the trail to the other I was forced to scale a steep cliff, my phone was tucked into my shirt pocket, it slipped out and fell. I turned my head to see it bouncing down the cliff from rock to rock first the back then the battery breaking away from the body of the phone. I had all but accepted that my old phone was dead and gone, a good send off for an amazing phone. Yet my friends, nearly 200 feet below me searched through the rocks only to recover the body of the phone and shortly thereafter the back and even later on, the battery INTACT. My phone continues to function completely. Because I am going to university in a few short months I have decided to start looking for a more advanced phone but I thought that samsung may like to hear about how incredibly durable their earlier models are, I know that some of it was luck but I have no doubt that Samsung puts a lot of effort into making phones as reliable as possible. Thank you for having provided me with such an awesome phone, I doubt I will ever throw it out."
Pros: Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
WilliamGS
From Nova Scotia, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Call forwarding not working on Bell network.

PostedMay 22, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 22, 2013
"I love this phone!!! I'm coming from an iPhone 4 whcih now looks so dated in comparison. The windows OS is fresh, fun and in many ways a perfect fit for business... and I can live with it for now until the apps improve. Honeslty though I think I have eveything I need.
Two issues I have is that call forwarding does not work on the Bell network in Canada as of May 2013. I had to run around to find a second phone (I was told my phone was defective) and be on the phone with Bell tech to discover from their higher level tech that they are aware of the problem. The store said it was Bell's issue and Bell said it was the phone's issue. It turns out to be a software issue with Samsung which is being looked into. There is a work around but I think Samsung released a product without complete testing on the Bell network, or perhaps it is a Bell/Samsung problem. I spent a few hours on the phone and I drove a total of 5 hours trying to find an answer for a phone I wanted only to find out they knew. Customer service at its worst.
Another issue, is that I live in the country and while my iPhone had an unstable 1 bar signal now I have to drive 5 minutes away to get a decent signal on the Samsung. The only reason why I am hanging onto this phone is that a cell tower is to be activated in a couple months that will improve signal strength.
Like I said I love this phones OS and it's great to have my computer, tablet and phone all within Microsoft's ecosystem.
The sound quality from the built-in speaker is very poor. The screen image and size is absolutely wonderful and the battery life is so good, as well I can add more memory for storage and the back cover is removable. While this phone is mostly plastic it feels like a top quality phone without the weight. This is my first Samsung phone and it won't be my last.
Just be prepared to do your due diligence when purchasing any product."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
SuperT
From Ottawa, ON
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

By far one of the best windows 8 phones I have used

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"Best phone I have owned to date. I have had many phones and this one feels great and looks great. I went from iOS to android and finally took the plunge and decided to give WP8 a go. I was due for an upgrade and it was between the Galaxy S3 and this phone. Windows experience is fun and intuitive to use. It keeps you entertained. Its more than just pressing an icon to launch a program and blah. I like the fact that you keep gliding the screen over and over and it never seems to end which is cool. Microsoft did right I think. Now for the hardware, It is built nice and feels good, camera is good and my favorite by far is the battery life on this beast. Only problem is I find it has usb syncing issues and that is more driver/software issues that Samsung should really do something about. USB connectivity just drops when Im in the middle of transferring music, video files and this happens on both my MAC and windows 7 machine. so obviously its a software/driver issue. I eventually get my stuff transferred over but i have to try a few times and it is becoming real bothersome and at time I wont even do unless its something I really need to transfer on my phone. I love the phone and hope Samsung continues to do updates and support this WP8. Samsung does have a reputation of abandoning mobile products when it comes to updates. Dont let me down Samsung I'm stuck with bell for 3 years with this phone lol."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, beatifull looking phone
Cons: usb connectivity issues
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
WP8 Fanboy
From Calgary, AB
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid phone, great screen, WP8 runs smoothly

PostedJune 20, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 20, 2013
"I'll start with the things I don't like.
No 3rd party support for cases, I've only been able to find soft cases that really only protect the edges and back from scratching (Not well either). And screen protectors are very difficult to find, although the S3 has close enough dimensions a screen protector for that phone can be modified easily enough. The built in speaker doesn't sound very good, but the included headphones are very good quality and work well.
Now that's done with; What I love about the phone.
The screen is massive, and crystal clear and very realistic color. The phone is very light, without the battery it's almost weightless, and it fits in a pocket perfectly. The physical buttons are easy to press purposefully, but I've never had a problem with pocket dialing people or even having the lock screen open in my pocket. The OS runs very smoothly on the phone. The included 16GB storage is decent, but I put in a 32GB SD card, and when playing music there is a slight lag when starting a playlist, but only about 3 seconds.
To sum things up, this phone is a great buy, with great quality, and I would absolutely reccomend it to anyone looking for a WP device."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
HLef
From Calgary, AB, Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Windows Phone, but still a Windows Phone

PostedDecember 8, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 8, 2013
"I've been a big fan of Windows Phone since it was announced, I owned a WP7 device, which was later updated to 7.5 and then I purchased the Samsung ATIV S on release day in Canada. After having the device for a full year, I am still very satisfied with it, and I love that it still feels like a high end device, although other manufacturers have been releasing a new generation of device.
The phone performs very well, the screen is fantastic and the ability to add a SD card to a high end phone is refreshing, but that said, after 3 years, even though Windows Phone is finally getting some traction as an OS, it's still lacking. For each major app that doesn't have official support, there's a very solid third party alternative, so that's not a problem, but the OS itself is lacking a few key features.
I love the phone, but I'm more and more interested in seeing what other OSes will have to offer in the next year, and WP8.1 will be the OS's last chance to retain me as a user."
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, thinner than other wp8 with similar screen size
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Mizzo
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Windows 8 Phone Out!!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
PostedDecember 21, 2012
"I have owned a Lumia 920 and HTC 8x prior to the Ativ S. This is by far the best windows 8 device available. First, call quality and connectivity are superb and the battery life beats the lumia and htc by a mile. It feels amazing to hold and the display suits windows 8 best. Camera takes great pics...the lumia is good but not THAT good...and boy is it HEAVY! The Htc battery life is sub par...could not get through the day. Performance wise the ativ s is a lot smoother and quicker than both competitors. I would put the user experience on the ativ s above the lumia and htc. As a former android and ios user I am Loving this phone....I am NOT looking back. Things just work on windows 8. Would highly recommend the ativ s and the windows 8 os to anyone looking for a fresh change."
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, battery life
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Zune Prune
From Ontatio Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone and OS

PostedDecember 21, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 21, 2012
"I’ve had this phone for about a week and I love it. The screen is bright and easy to see. The clarity when making phone calls is excellent. The Windows 8 operating system is fluid and responds well. I had no problem pairing this phone with my old phone to transfer over my contacts, it was very easy to set up. I love that you have access to the battery also that you can add a Mini SD card up to 32gig. The phone has16 gig already. Video and photo quality are very good for a phone as good as a point and shoot camera. I would like to see Samsung make more apps for his phone . I could only find limited accessories.
Cases etc. All in all I love this a lot better than the android I had.
"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
JustMe
From Regina, SK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Features but lack of support

PostedDecember 12, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 12, 2013
"The Ativ S meets my needs very well. It is very responsive. The screen is bright. Battery usage is fair. I use wifi and Bluetooth a fair amount and only have to charge it once a day. Bluetooth support is not very good. This is probably a Windows 8 OS problem instead of a Samsung problem. There is fairly limited app support but since I do not use many apps anyways it does not cause an issue for me. The camera is very good, I have switched to just using my phone instead of a non-professional digital camera. Sound quality for voice calls as well as playing songs is good. Does not have a FM radio which I used to use. WiFi support seems to be fairly reliable."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Windows_Phone_Joe
From Brownsville, Texas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsun Ativs S Windows Phone 8 Awesomeness

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"The Samsung Ativ S is one of the most awesome phones around. Not just for Windows Phone 8, but for any smart phone. People often confuse it for the Galaxy and this is when I go into Windows Phone mode and start explaining every detail not just about Windows Phone 8 but of the Ativ S itself and how I love the Micro SD expansion. I have 16 GB on board with a 64GB micro sd. I kept waiting to see what windows phone would come out that I could compare it too and none met my needs like this phone. Great screen, great operating system, great storage and long battery life. No problems at all. Love this phone, and you will too."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
mdcomposer
From London, ON
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible performance

PostedNovember 8, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 8, 2013
"The ATIV S is definitely a better phone than people get it credit for. The specs aren't going to necessarily blow you out of the water, but the Windows Phone 8 operating system is so lean, and so responsive, that you get a silky smooth experience. Nice bright display, sensitive to the touch, and a pretty decent camera. I got this phone mostly because of it's 4.8" display, and it is perfect for reading e-mails and other documents.
The ATIV S isn't flashy; it just works very, very well. Even a year after its release, the ATIV S' performance is very much on par with new top tier smartphones. Definitely built to last."
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Adrian_C40
From NB, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing phone. Good reason to switch to Win8

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 27, 2013
"Went in to buy a Galaxy III s and took the leap for a windows phone after demoing the ATIV S. great shape, great weight, VERY fast with a beautiful screen. 2 weeks later I am now a extreme fan of win8 thanks to this phone. I am very impressed with the hardware and OS and am happy ditched iOS and Android.
The phone itself maybe what has sold me on windows 8. It is a beautiful piece of engineering. it looks and feels great but the pure liquid smoothness and fullness of features makes this a easy sell. I've moved myself , my wife and three extended family members to this exact phone and platform."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: a little pricey but no more then any other top end
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
boolsheat
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great WP8 phone

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 13, 2013
"Its a great phone for its price, nicely built and looks really great. The camera and the display are the same that are found in Galaxy 3 and are quite good. Operating system, Windows phone 8, is more user friendly then Android, it works really smooth, looks great in black, is very reliable and the home screen is nicely customizable. Also the Windows app market has more useful apps then Playstore, also the are less or. no junk apps. It is also virus free. I just hope Samsung continues to support the phone and the platform in the future, that's my only concern."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
huntje3
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The design and features are great but it seems to always have a problem

PostedMarch 9, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 9, 2014
"I was so excited to get my new phone. I love the features and the design. It looks great and I love that I have windows on it. I have only had the phone for about 4 months and it already has problems. It will not charge, which Is the worst and most annoying issue. I plug it in.... and nothing. I think there needs to be some work done to the current functionality of the phone before it's one that anyone should buy. Many of my friends have the same phone and they are all having issues. Yes some are minor but really there shouldn't be any this early on."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
RABP
From Edmonton CAnada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Junk hardware with junk operating system

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 25, 2014
"Good battery life..... everything else is terrible. Ringer volume very low even at highest setting. Cannot store Voice mail password auto dial into V.M. . They call it security feature, which means every other operating system in the world is wrong. Doubt it. Just a terrible product overall. May not be all hardware fault but they chose windows to put on it and it is terrible.
Run from this phone, free or even if they pay you to take it SAY NO
"
Pros: Inexpensive, good battery life
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, terrible operating system
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
pokeynl
From Coquitlam BC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone is not only attractive but it very easy to navigate and has great features

PostedDecember 12, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 12, 2013
"I bought my Samsung Ativ S a few months ago and I love it. I actually traded in my IPhone 4s for this phone and I like it better, Its a perfect size and has excellent features. This phone is so easy to use and navigate.It has a great camera and its hd is very vibrant. The battery last longer than my old IPhone too.I would diffenently recommend this phone for anyone looking to buy a new device. Samsung is my choice of excellence."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Kevin
From Winnipeg, MB
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Windows phone out there!

PostedApril 16, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 16, 2014
"My needs for a smartphone were specific: I wanted the new Windows Phone 8 OS, SD expandable memory slot, removable battery, rear and front facing cameras, dual core, Camera flash, great audio output. This was the phone for me that met and exceeded all my expectations. I've had it for over a year and never look back! My 5k+ mAh battery lasts 3 days on one charge with just texting and minimal browsing."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, sd expandable memory, removable battery, long battery life
Cons: no otterbox defender case
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
kdogg
From Pukekohe, New Zealand
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great choice

PostedJune 26, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 26, 2013
"Have owned it for a week. Once I adapted to the widows 8 o/s couldn't be happier. So user friendly it is boring.The phone itself is great, good looking, good performing. The only odd thing is there are notification leds on he front but they are not connected ? Small app library but that will grow and it stops you clogging up your phone with rubbish you don't use . Don't want to go back to android."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: connect leds please
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
lrleslie
From Bentonville, AR
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful phone but micro SD card does not work

PostedDecember 15, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 15, 2013
"I've tried four micro SD cards and I cannot successfully copy videos or music to the SD card. I have a very large collection of videos and music that is going to waste because of this phone. The cards I used are new and compliant -- the phone simply doesn't work.
Also, playlist support is virtually useless.
Accordingly, I would not recommend this phone despite its other wonderful features!."
Cons: Did not meet expectations, bad sd storage capability
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Viola.Girl
From Switzerland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone

PostedJuly 30, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 30, 2013
"I did not regret for having this phone ! it doesnt lag at all and also the screen is clear enough. The battery is also good if you just use for messaging and call.
Pros : Good battery hours, no lagging, bright and big screen, sensitive touch screen.
Cons : WP doesn't have much essential apps as many as Android and Ios has. The bluetooth is kinda slow.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Gabbie1977
From London, Ontario
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Phone - WP8.0 is under rated

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 29, 2013
"I am coming from a high Android User with 3 android products in my house hold. I decided to try WP8, boy was i impressed. The camera takes better photos then my older Note 2. Awesome Phone! Windows PHone 8.0 is highly under rated. In fact it has all the apps i was using on my previous android, not sure what the fuss is all about. I do recommend it."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
luisfarelo
From Lisbon, Portugal
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!

PostedNovember 9, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 9, 2013
"This smartphone is the best I've ever had. The OS is lightweight and simple, fluid, unlike Android. Great quality of construction, good camera with a very powerful led light, very good front camera, battery life amazing (2 full days with internet use). Has all the apps you'll need, unlike Android which just has thousands of clone apps and malware."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Loyal Samsung Customer
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

PostedDecember 20, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 20, 2012
"I purchased this phone Dec 20, 2012. Out of the box it is a great phone, the design and feel of it is light and thin so James Bond. Samsung makes great products and the Windows 8 operating system despite what many people may say, or feel is great. This phone looks better that the Samsung Galaxy. So far I have no regrets buying this phone."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not a fan of bing as a search engine
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
therock
From Hamilton, Ontario
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ativ S is under rated. Best business centric windows phone

PostedOctober 28, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 28, 2013
"I have been using this phone for almost a year and absolutely love the lightweight, fast, full day lasting phone. I have a simple case, droppped it several times and still keeps going, battery is simple amazing, better than iphone 5, 5s and 5c and most androids in its class. Why doesnt samsung and its carriers promote this phone...?"
Pros: Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Cody
From Vancouver bc
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

truly a quality product.

PostedMay 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 2, 2013
"I just got the Samsung ativ s yesterday. i love the look, and feel of the device. but at the heart lies the best features that I've seen on an Samsung, let alone a window's phone platform in years. To anyone who wants a premium superphone that packs only the latest, and most thrilling experience out there, THIS IS FOR YOU!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
RicD
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Everything

PostedMay 30, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 30, 2013
"This phone has everything I want, a slick interface, an amazing touchscreen and performance that is absolutley crazy fast. This phone is my first windows phone device and Samsung and Microsoft have outdone themselves in making me forget Android ever existed. Also, the plan from Telus was amazing too."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, hd awesomeness
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Geor573
From Dallas, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Windows 8 phone is an excellent device, it provides a fresh experience i am using it since last one month. It working like a charm.

PostedMarch 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 14, 2013
"Windows 8 phone is an excellent device, it provides a fresh experience i am using it since last one month. It working like a charm. Never faced any issue. People hub is excellent, Integration with Social network like facebook, LinkedIn etc are super. GPS navigation is excellent."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: storage fill up
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
darren
From malaysia
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent screen color and user-friendly touchscreen

PostedJuly 26, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 26, 2013
"Simply love the color of the screen display. Unfortunately, it was slightly expensive. The touch screen is excellent. No problem with Windows Phone 8 software. The phone will reboot sometimes. Can someone tells me why? Bad impression for me since this is my first smartphone."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: keep on rebooting, cannot send long sms
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Jeremy
From Calgary, Alberta
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect.

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 7, 2013
"I've had this phone for 2 months now and I cannot say enough great things about it. I have had several phones over the years, never an Iphone, and this is by far the best. Large screen, beautiful clarity, very fast and effective for everything I could ask out of a phone."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
karinespace
From Ottawa, ON
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 15, 2013
"I have this phone since 5 days ago and it's the best phone since a long time. Nice touch, quick response, no bug, it's really great. I would recommend this phone to anyone who needs a new phone from Samsung or just a phone with Android cause it's great. thanks."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Ehtesham
From Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung ATIV S is a unique smart phone.

PostedNovember 9, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 9, 2013
"I am using this mobile phone for about eight months now with 98% satisfaction. It is a good companion with great reliability.
The only problem seen so far is: when in a different city, it took time to boot to the local transmission towers
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Kipples
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All around great phone

PostedDecember 28, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 28, 2012
"I really love the look of this phone. The display is very bright and crisp. And the operating system is awesome. I am a big fan of Samsung products and I think they did a great job making a fast and beautiful phone."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Will
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice Phone, but cannot be used

PostedJuly 20, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 20, 2013
"Bought this phone three weeks ago.
Great looking phone. But, one of a sudden, the phone starts rebooting randomly, almost once a day.
And every two or three days, I could not make phone call. It dials, but no sound.
"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
MS user
From Waterloo, ON
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone but ....

PostedMarch 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 15, 2013
"Great phone, but need more Samsung built apps for the phone Nokia is on board with Win 8 not sure if Samsung is. Were are all the accessories for the phone. Very limited even with cases no Otterbox yet."
Pros: Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
silverachi
From Winnipeg, Manitoba
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful, Modern, Simple

PostedJune 8, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 8, 2013
"I love that I can customize my start page screen. It has a modern uncluttered look. The program is simple and easy to use. I use it for business and gaming. I have my computer in my hand."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
technut
From United kingdom
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use

PostedJuly 27, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 27, 2013
"This is a really good phone the best I have had O/S still evolving but a lot of potential this could be a great phone if Samsung itself would support it like they do their android phones"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, smart
Cons: very little support, none existent apps from samsung
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
FinnBogg
From Winnipeg, MB
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Phone ever

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 15, 2013
"This is by far the best phone I have ever owned. I retired my old Samsung Focus when the Ativ S came out and love it. Easier and more reliable that any Android phone. Super fast."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
ghampton
From Winnipeg
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall a great phone...

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 17, 2013
"Have had this phone for about 2 months... The speed, response of this phone is amazing. Battery life also a plus. Could use more apps, but overall a great phone..."
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
SmartWorks
From Delta BC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple and Dependable

PostedJuly 8, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 8, 2013
"I got my ATIV S to replace a bug prone iPhone and have found the interface to be simple to use and the performance to be dependable."
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: missing some apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
ccccc
From Victoria
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best Windows phone I have ever used

PostedMarch 17, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 17, 2014
"This is the best phone with the Windows OS that I have ever used. Beautiful back design, and great features!"
Pros: beautiful design, great features
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
radus
From Romania
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good

PostedDecember 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 2, 2013
"Very good phone . I wait for a beter Samsung suport and more apps from samsung."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
Ferdinand
From Toronto, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's good

PostedJuly 8, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 8, 2013
"The hardware is great, but OS is still in its infancy with potential."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
guenetteb
From Cowansville QC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can sync my computer and x box

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"easy to use lot of apps can work at distance on my school paper too"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung ATIV S™
Customer Avatar
14 year old
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect for anyone for work or for students.

PostedJune 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 2, 2013
"I'm 14 and its perfect for my every need in a phone and more."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, perfect
Cons: not as many apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.