Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Smartphones
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black

Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black

Made for internet junkies everywhere, the super fast Fascinate 4G is designed to give the ultimate internet experience on the go. With its 1Ghz Hummingbird Processor and the incredible Wi-Fi 802.11, it delivers breakthrough download speeds of 21 MBps – 3x faster than 3G+. And with a front-facing camera ready for video chatting, along with a 5.0MP rear-facing camera with 4x digital zoom, sharing has never been more fun. What’s more, with its brilliant 4” Super AMOLED touchscreen, you can enjoy incredible HD content from YouTube™, and high-quality games from the Android Market anywhere you go. With Fascinate 4G, the internet has never been more fun.
Rating:
3.143 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
5
11 out of 20(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Review 1 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
Gybruss
From Quebec
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots of bag for the buck

PostedMarch 18, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 18, 2013
"Bought this phone for my sun and he love it. Best buy i ever did."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
brandy_rae
From Hopewell Hill, NB
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great user friendly phone!!

PostedMarch 13, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 13, 2013
"I got this phone by luck. My old phone had broke so I called my carrier to see if they could set me up with a new one on a contract. Sure enough I was eligible for 2 phones on a 1 year contract. One of the phones was a blackberry and I quickly turned it down (I despise blackberry), and the other was a Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate. At the time I had no idea what the phone was, or what it looked like or even how to work a smart phone, but since I needed a new phone and this was my only option I agreed. I was nervous about getting an android smartphone. Some of my friends had them, but I'd never used one and had no clue how to. When I got my phone I couldn't believe how user friendly it was. It took me no time at all to learn all the basics and this phone soon became a part of me. It holds all my important information, and is also great for killing time. It's fast and easy to use. I couldn't be happier with the phone they sent me! I'm now a samsung customer for life!"
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
DavieK
From Ontario
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Goes toe to toe with the iphone

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 15, 2013
"Samsung hit the ball outta the park with this one, great phone amazing features, rivals anything out there when it first came out."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: needs to be rebooted every so often
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
DaveMc
From Malahat, BC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Certainly a lot more than a mobile phone!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"Well, there's nothing bad I can really say about it. In some ways it does more than my laptop. I like the large display, countless apps, ease of use and a great value for the price! I know some of the newer ones have more toys, but this one has plenty to keep me going..."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, great value for the price, camera & video
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
Eddy
From Bahamas
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best purchase I've done!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"Simple, Elegant, Resistant and Efficient, my Samsung Galaxy S has always been up for the task I've given it and I'll always recommend it, mine is still working just fine but I can't wait to get my hands on the new S III!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
Stranger
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall Good

PostedJune 2, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 2, 2012
"I've had this phone for about a year now. I have to say, it restarts and closes apps every now and then."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, 4g
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
solo1440
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone is perfect!

PostedMay 18, 2011
PostedMay 18, 2011
"I love this phone as I loved the previous fascinate, the phone is very fast. I love the Mobile AP Feature. And the Auto Reject List feature. These are awesome!
Although I noticed there is not Full Picture Caller ID, very disappointed in that, and that there is no feature that allows Samsung Users to call each other using video chat, you have to download a program or two, to make it work. My sister was also disappointed she had to find another program to use video chat.
Other then that I love the phone, it is definitely the best phone out there. I hope that the makers take a good look at my review and add these features to an update or firmware update. Please :)
I'd refer this to a friend, not because I already have, but because your paying for the quality, stability, and inexpensive price of the phone, not just the name brand. Which in the end, gives Samsung a high amount of trust in their products. I feel they meet my expectations and the fact that Samsung listens to their customers to make better products makes Samsung Products worth buying."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, front facing camera, caller block, excellent camera, design
Cons: no full picture caller id, needs a samsung video calling app or intergrated.
 
My product recommendations
 
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
Suiterain
From Halifax NS
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Definite Workhorse & Easy to Use

PostedDecember 12, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 12, 2013
"I've had this phone now for a couple years and it's still going strong. It's easy to use and customize and of course the combination of Samsung and Android make it great with so many apps. Great price and a great option for someone who wants to step lightly into the smartphone market!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
neonlady
From Victoria, BC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love this phone.

PostedMarch 22, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 22, 2013
"This phone has great features. It's easy to use. Met all my expectations and more. Will get another Samsung when this one is ready to retire."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: screen got cracked when dropped
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
Cee_Ell_Dee
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Satisfied

PostedNovember 23, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 23, 2011
"I am satisfied with this smartphone. It is not the best out there, but it does what I need it to do. I do a lot of home web browsing, so the ability for it to link with my home network comes extremely handy. I also do a lot of mobile texting and the use and easy of the on-screen keyboard makes it very reliable."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
muddybike
From ottawa
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lack of RAM is a restriction

PostedDecember 10, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 10, 2013
"This is an excellent value phone but its lack of internal memory will leave app hungry users frustrated."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: limited ram
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
Fan2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average performance

PostedJune 3, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 3, 2011
"weakness:
1- Poor battery up-time, ~2.5max while the screen is in use.
2- Cannot pickup the Cell wireless again after moving from poor coverage area to a good reception area. sometimes, you need to turn it off and On again to go back with the network connection.
3- sometimes jamming while processing some applications.
4- Doesn't have a flash light for the rear camera, poor design!
5- Camera resolution 5MP while expected to be 8MP+ as the most recent model from Samsung.
strength:
1- light weight, good touch screen, nice picture colors, Multi- screen for different applications.
"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
powers7
From Lacombe alberta
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

good phone for only a year

PostedMarch 24, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 24, 2013
"this is not a 3 year phone i had mine for over a year now and i have to reboot it at least 3 times a day and the battery only last 2 hours after i take it of the charger with the brightness all the way down. i also dont get any updates anymore"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, not long term, no updates
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
Average User
From Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Should've bought an iphone. Sorry Samsung!

PostedJune 1, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 1, 2012
"I've had my phone for a year now and wish I had the money to buy something else. It's full of annoying glitches that are really dissapointing. During calls, it tends to make strange beeping and screeching noises, or it'll just cut out with full signal. Touch screen sometimes doesn't work. Mobile network often freezes. The absolute worst is the factory apps which I have absolutely NO USE FOR that are often having "updates available" and cannot be removed, and they take alot of memory. It's been a pain since day one.
The only plus I give it is the Mobile Network #when working# is awsome. The screen is crystal clear.
It does take beautiful pictures.
The swype feature and talk to text feature is great.
I would consider it an excelent value, but due to the never ending problems I have with it,....waste of money!
"
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
Winni-Pig
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Needs some attention to "PHONE" service

PostedNovember 24, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 24, 2011
"This phone looks great. It does lots of web-related tasks well.
However, it is really horrible as a phone. It is difficult to capture contacts, and there are no settings for managing the details of things like voice calling. For example, you can't prevent the phone from calling before you've approved the choice that the machine has made on your command, which could lead to some embarrassing calls. Most particularly, you can't access the directory from anywhere except the home screen.
Samsung needs to look at one of its old flip phones, which had great phone interfaces, and PLEASE provide an update to a more serviceable version. There should also be a separate, dedicated battery for the phone. Having it expire after a few hurs of use of other services means that it is not available in emergencies."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: not good as a phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
YannGodbout
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great expectations, poor results

PostedOctober 19, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 19, 2011
"Pros: Lot of apps available. Great design. Light (compared to similar phones).
Cons: Losing Wi-Fi signal a few times a day. It sometimes takes up to 15 minutes to get sat signal. Completely crashes a few times a weeks.
I sent it to get repaired without any improvement. I'm having a hard time believing this is a Samsung product. They usually do outstanding products. Very disappointed."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
Matt_Vancouver
From Vancouver, BC, Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Glitchy and Problematic

PostedDecember 6, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 6, 2013
"I had my Fascinate for about a year and a half and then I started having problems. The Software would glitch and restart the device every half an hour, even in the middle of phone calls. There was also problems with receiving service, even standing inside a carriers store. The software on the phone was standard but lacked in comparison to other phones that came out the same time."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, glitchy, problematic
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
Destiny Autumn
From Toronto/ St Catharines
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Far from quality.

PostedDecember 1, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 1, 2013
"The phone is durable (physically), appealing to the eye and easy to navigate (sometimes). However, the phone also shuts off by itself, freezes, doesn't process calls, closes applications/ screens at random and does not hold a long charge. The camera takes low quality photos too. Oh, and... (I almost forgot) the Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black is constantly glitching.
Overall, I am disappointed. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone (not even my worst enemy). I've had this phone for not even two years (it's physically in good condition, I'll likely give it to another in need) and am already to purchase a new one (not a Samsung device) due to its poor performance. Possibly my expectations were too high but, I don't think that's likely. If I wanted an "out of this world" product I would have purchased an iPhone at the time. Purchasing this phone has made me regret my decision and question Samsung products all together. With the Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black I expected nothing but average. I use my phone primarily for calls and text messaging. A phone that's incapable of processing these two tasks without troubles isn't much a phone to me. I simply wanted an average device for easy daily tasks and yet somehow received less than. In simple and fairly nice, reasonable terms - the product is far from quality."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow, glitches, can't process simple tasks, camera, battery life, shuts down at random, calls/sms don't process due to of ability of phone, low volume, video image
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
Beam89
From Edmonton, AB
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor reception,weak battery,constantly resets

PostedMarch 29, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 29, 2012
"I've had this phone for 6 months, it worked well for about a month and has been down hill since then. the phone freezes often, restarts whenever it wants to ( during phonecalls, texts, taking pictures). at this point the battery barely lasts 3 hours, meaning i cant go anywhere without a charger. It looses calls frequently and without warning. and doesnt pick signal or 4g back up after exiting a poor coverage zone. I've never had so many problems with a phone. And just recently the phone will stop charging whenever it wants
I do not reccommend this phone to anyone."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
NVMDSTEvil
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor connectivity

PostedNovember 7, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 7, 2011
"Constantly loses 4G connection if entering a poor service area but will not get the connection back when leaving the poor service area.
This results in many missed phone calls and texts before realizing you have lost your connection and been able to reboot the phone or turn on/off airplane mode to get the phone to rescan the networks available.
HUGE PROBLEM SAMSUNG. PLEASE FIX. PEOPLE WHO ARE ON CALL COULD LOSE THEIR JOB BY OWNING THIS PIECE OF JUNK."
Pros: Durable
Cons: poor connectivity
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Fascinate™ 4G | Black
Customer Avatar
Chevgirl
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I want to throw this thing off a bridge!

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 12, 2011
"This phone can't keep a connection to save it's life! I am constantly dropping a signal and it takes forever to connect to a wireless network, only to drop the connection a few moments later. I know it's not "just me" as my boyfriend and I both have this phone and are completely disappointed with it! How embarrassing to try to show a video or facebook update to friends and each time we have to completely power off the phone and reboot in order to get a signal."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, terrible connectivity!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.