Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Gear
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Galaxy Gear

Galaxy Gear

Update your Samsung Galaxy Gear to TIZEN through Kies and get the latest version of Gear Manager to take advantage of all-new features: • Fitness and Sleep • Standalone Music Player • Personalize Fonts and Backgrounds • More Gear Apps
Rating:
3.375 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
4 out of 8(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy Gear
Review 1 for Galaxy Gear
Customer Avatar
From Toronto Ontario
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Little Device

PostedDecember 10, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 10, 2013
"Great little device - one that i thought would be bulky and ugly - but was a pleasant surprise.
Fits well on the wrist and I think is quite stylish.
The automated pairing did not work - but i was able to manually pair with my S3 and start using immediately."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy Gear
Customer Avatar
From Bruce County, Ontario
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great idea whose time has come.

PostedDecember 7, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 7, 2013
"After reading rather negative reviews, I didn't expect that I would be really pleased with the Gear, but I am. I like that I can track my next appointment just by checking my watch and it even integrates with Evernote, so that I can view my To Do list as well. I think that this is a great first effort in what, I think, will become a must have. I look forward to the second version that is, hopefully, a little thinner, but for now I am really happy. And my colleagues wonder why their iPhones don't have a similar integrated watch. My other watches are gathering dust."
Pros: Bright display, well made
Cons: a little too thick
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy Gear
Customer Avatar
From Lewiston, North Carolina
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the Gear

PostedNovember 19, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 19, 2013
"When the Gear came out I spoke with a Verizon representative who advised me the Gear was for only the Note 3 at the time. I told my coworkers Samsung was not going to loose monies with this watch and before the holidays they would have a program app in which other Samsung phones and products would be using the Gear. When it was released Verizon S4 customers now have the capability to use Gear with S4 I quickly purchase. For just the short time I have had mines, I have enjoyed it. Wish it had a lock security app on it not just when the Gear is to far from your phone. I would also love to see the message have some kind of text keyboard or shorthand writing feature for text messages. Otherwise Great Product!!!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy Gear
Customer Avatar
From Alberta Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good little addtion to the S4

PostedMarch 11, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 11, 2014
"I had not worn a watch in probably 6 years. I received the Gear as a gift and thought it would be good to wear occasionally. It is now the first thing I put on when I get out of the shower in the morning and the last thing I take off before going to bed. I constantly get asked about the watch. I love being able to see who is texting/calling me while I am driving. The voice recognition leaves a little to be desired. It is nowhere near as good as it is on my S4. Also the speaker could be louder. But those are my only concerns about the Gear. The pedometer on it is great. I had no idea I walked that much during the day. The battery held up during our recent very, very cold snap where the S4 battery did not. I'm very happy with the Galaxy Gear watch."
Pros: Bright display, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy Gear
Customer Avatar
From Windsor, Ontario
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I purchased this watch expecting much more.

PostedOctober 18, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 18, 2013
"The gear is a nice looking watch with a decent camera for taking pictures or short 10 second videos. For me that is it's best feature. It does send voice to text messages, however, doesn't find the correct contact often enough. This is partially because of the fact that if there is any background noise in your immediate environment it has a hard time deciphering what you have verbalized. It does have potential because of the hardware in it, but so far the apps do not take advantage of the possibilites. The thing that disappointed me the most is that there is no built in calculator app! While at the risk of being called a glorified calculator It still seems mandatory that a device like this would have a calculator app or the ability to download one on it."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy Gear
Customer Avatar
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

No options for non-standard watch band sizes

PostedDecember 12, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 12, 2013
"There is no option for a resized watch band. You MUST be an average sized person, which is fine if you think you're going to make a product for an average person... but let's face reality; a smart watch is for active people... or tech geeks. Few of these folks are average.
This watch is a pass. I am just glad my telecom provider gave it to me for free."
Cons: Poor quality, small watch band
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy Gear
Customer Avatar
From Toronto
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Can't use it at all.

PostedNovember 1, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 1, 2013
"I purchased this watch to use with my Galaxy S4 knowing that the Android 4.3 update will not be released until later this month. Unfortunately, no where does it say that the watch is useless without first syncing it with (so far) the Samsung Note 3. So right now I have a very expensive gadget sitting on my desk that doesn't even tell time. All it does is say Samsung and has a Blutooth address."
Cons: Too big, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy Gear
Customer Avatar
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great idea just released too soon

PostedOctober 24, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 24, 2013
"When I bought this item I expected to have a virtual phone on my wrist. however with the performance issues that it is experiencing I've noticed it's not able to perform as a phone as it would be expected to with the way that it was sold. The lack of available technology and syncing patterns makes this a virtual wristwatch that is very expensive"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.