Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Over the Range Microwaves
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SMH2117S 2.1 cu.ft Over the Range Microwave Stainless Steel

SMH2117S 2.1 cu.ft Over the Range Microwave Stainless Steel

The Samsung SMH2117 Over-The-Range Microwave offers you a spacious 2.1 cu. ft. Capacity and a Ceramic Enamel Interior which allows you to keep your cavity safe from scratches and various stains and particles. With a powerful 400 CFM Auto Vent to quickly eliminate food odours and 950 W of cooking power, it makes a standout addition in every kitchen. Plus, the Bottom Touch control panel and LED Cooktop light are just one of its many design advancements that make it easier to do more. The automatic reheat and cook sensor monitors the amount of moisture in foods and adjusts re-heating time accordingly, and the 2-line VFD display and low standby power usage makes it easy to operate and energy efficient. Styled in a sleek, easy to clean stainless steel finish with advanced performance features, the SMH2117 delivers microwave cooking that’s well above the conventional.
Rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
3 out of 8(38%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for SMH2117S 2.1 cu.ft Over the Range Microwave Stainless Steel
Review 1 for SMH2117S 2.1 cu.ft Over the Range Microwave Stainless Steel
Customer Avatar
ejsilver26
From Prescott, Ontario
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung has done it again!

PostedJune 27, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 27, 2013
"Although I love all my Samsung products, this microwave is awesome. So far I have yet to have any issues with it cooking, venting, or even when the kids use it. I use the reheat functions my son uses the popcorn button, and the Pizza button reheats to perfection. We stick with Samsung for a reason, they get it right. From phones, tablets, even the fridge and dishwasher as well, we are never disappointed."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SMH2117S 2.1 cu.ft Over the Range Microwave Stainless Steel
Customer Avatar
cjre
From Los Angeles, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice microwave, very quiet, bright LED light, nice buttons, etc

PostedOctober 21, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 21, 2012
"This unit is very nice. I tried 5 microwaves out in one month and this one is the best. It is super quiet, quieter than any other one on the market. Very nice LED light, 4 levels on exhaust fan rocks. All the features are great. This is the first microwave to have an LED light that is super bright. Samsung makes some great products. I own many Samsung items. I love the fact that the buttons are on the bottom of the door. September 2012 is a new deisgn from the August 2012 models. The buttons and panel are even better to use and see in the dark. Nice unit."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SMH2117S 2.1 cu.ft Over the Range Microwave Stainless Steel
Customer Avatar
DIY renovator
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great microwave/hood

PostedNovember 14, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedNovember 14, 2011
"I love my new microwave/range hood. The interior is easy to clean, the display is great and the fan is very powerful (much, much better than my old one, which wasn't a Samsung). I love the LED light and the fact that it is situated at the front. Overall, great purchase!"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, powerful fan
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SMH2117S 2.1 cu.ft Over the Range Microwave Stainless Steel
Customer Avatar
John
From El Dorado Hills
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sleek appearance, powerful, and awesome features but electrical problems persist

PostedJune 9, 2013
PostedJune 9, 2013
"We installed our Samsung SMH2117[S] on October 31, 2011 and just over one year later, the fan would exhaust fan would not turn off, the clock wouldn't work, display panel flashes and it made an unusual clicking and zapping noise. Fortunately, I purchased an extended warranty and the electronic controller located in the door was replaced. After the authorized service repair was made, the unit worked perfectly for several months and in May 2013, the clock has started malfunction again, and we have noticed other unexplained electrical issues.
Although we have really enjoyed the unit, its many features and its sleek appearance, our confidence in the reliability of this product has fallen appreciably. This unit was at the high end of the range for similar units and we didn't mind paying the premium price based on our experience with some of Samsung's other very reliable products. If Samsung can correct the electrical issues (which were also reported recently in Consumer Reports), I would definitely recommend this unit.
"
Pros: Bright display, powerful, many features, stylish
Cons: electrical problems cast reliability concerns
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SMH2117S 2.1 cu.ft Over the Range Microwave Stainless Steel
Customer Avatar
Lees
From Oxnard, California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Most everything is good

PostedApril 20, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 20, 2013
"We were sold a one touch microwave and it is not ! If a person is 3ft or further away from the microwave you are not able to read the blue color of the clock !!"
Cons: the color of the clock
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SMH2117S 2.1 cu.ft Over the Range Microwave Stainless Steel
Customer Avatar
Cindylee
From Nanaimo
I have used this product for:1-2 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Microwave is great but the fan is terrible.

PostedMay 24, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMay 24, 2014
"The microwave works wonderful and the unit itself looks great but the hood range fan is TERRIBLE! Not only is it extremely loud on speed 4 but it doesn't suck up the stream AT ALL. Now the unit randomly turns the fan off and on and just keeps beeping, the only way we can stop it is to unplug the unit and it's only 2 years old!
Would not recommend this Range Microwave.
"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SMH2117S 2.1 cu.ft Over the Range Microwave Stainless Steel
Customer Avatar
George
From Niagara area, Ontario
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Excellent microwave; poor performance in venting range

PostedMarch 11, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 11, 2013
"As a microwave, it's an excellent unit - attractive, with lots of functionality.
As a range hood, it functions poorly. It's installed correctly, there's a huge amount of air being vented outside, but there is not enough suction from underneath. A significant amount of air is being drawn in through the top port (where the air would exit if it was configured to recirculate rather than exhaust) rather than from underneath where you need the suction. As a result, steam, etc. from cooking escapes around the unit and fogs up the front instead of being captured and vented outside. This could be the cause of the "shorting out" problems noted in other reviews.
The ancient OTR microwave this one replaced vented extremely well. I can only conclude that the design of this unit is flawed.
"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SMH2117S 2.1 cu.ft Over the Range Microwave Stainless Steel
Customer Avatar
Marwen
From Alexandria,Ontario
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Control panel shorts out!!!

PostedAugust 30, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 30, 2012
"Over the range microwave starts off good,but controll panel is on bottom which shorts out with a lot of steam!!!! Had to replace once then second time wasn't warranted anymore . Fan is srong but only good for back burners...so if your planning to cook without ever creating steam this is the ideal microwave !!!"
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SMH2117S 2.1 cu.ft Over the Range Microwave Stainless Steel
Customer Avatar
Upset
From Nanaimo British Columbia
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product does not function well

PostedNovember 4, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 4, 2013
"The microwave works reasonably. If you are using the exhaust fan on high speed and turn on the microwave the exhaust fan speed reduces to low speed which is not acceptable.
The exhaust fan pulls steam off the rear burners which on our Samsung range are the small ones but is absolutely useless when using the large front burners. There is very little suction at the underside of the range hood yet there is a good volume of air at the exhaust outlet which I do not understand and can only assume it is a design flaw.
"
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.