Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop LED
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV

40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV

For the best possible Full HD picture quality the LED TV Series 5500 offers the unique HyperReal™ Engine and Wide Color Enhancer Plus for sharper colour and enhanced contrast. And like other higher models, the Full HD Series 5500 comes with standard, cutting-edge features such as Samsung’s AllShare™ and Anynet+ technology, ConnectShare Movie and HDMI inputs, and SRS Theater Sound for a full entertainment experience. In addition, Samsung continues to lead the way with its dedication to products that are gentle on the environment so that we can all live on a greener, cleaner planet.
Rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV
Review 1 for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV
Customer Avatar
From india
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME

PostedJuly 30, 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 30, 2014
"AWESOME TV IT FEATURES ARE COOL I HAVE RECENTLY GOT IT"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV
Customer Avatar
From muskoka ontario
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

good hd

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 21, 2013
"bought this prduct a year ago plus a week and now it is junk . should bye waranty if you purchase personally i think companys should provide longer waranty but that wont happen so back to the cheaper products for me as i pay enough insurance already"
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, OM
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simplest features are the best

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 16, 2013
"I've had this tv for over a year now and have been happy with it since day 1.
I recently realized I could plug in a USB stick into the tv to play video files. Such a simple and practical feature.
"
Pros: Bright display
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect TV for the price

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
"Nice product for this price. No complaints so far. . It would be awesome if it has Apps."
Cons: no apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV
Customer Avatar
From vancouver,canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome tv

PostedOctober 6, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 6, 2012
"just fell in love with this tv.....love to play my xbox on it"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV
Customer Avatar
From Riyadh
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

yes

PostedJuly 19, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 19, 2012
"good quality and durable, good quality and durable
good products, good quality and durable
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV
Customer Avatar
From Vilnius
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall - very good, but backbleeding ruins some fun

PostedJuly 18, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 18, 2012
"I like this TV very much, picture is vivid, sharp, but in several parts of a screen you can notice pretty bad areas of backbleeding. And software could be quicker."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV
Customer Avatar
From Montreal
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

PostedMarch 25, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 25, 2012
"this is my first ''HD'' TV and I love it. it does everything it's said. Picture, sound and features are great."
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for gaming

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJanuary 18, 2012
"I purchased this TV from previous experience with Samsung products. My parents have a 46" 3D LED 240hz, as well as a 52" LCD. I used the LCD for gaming all the time and decided to buy my own. I decided upon this one, being 17, I couldn't afford the 3D. But I'm in love with this TV. The picture quality is amazing, amazing for gaming, even at 60hz. I am in no way disappointed. It was WELL worth the money. I was also surprised at how well the built in speakers sound. But, of course, I connected external speakers, thanks to the 3.5mm audio out jack on the back. I will not purchase a different brand of TV."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, usb ports, 4 hdmi ports, audio out jack, ethernet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First HDTV Purchase

PostedOctober 3, 2011
PostedOctober 3, 2011
"I've always been a fan of Samsung as being the industry leader when it comes to Television sets. Their line of HDTVs is remarkable, especially with an LED back light. This is the first TV let alone HDTV that I have ever bought. I've very satisfied with my purchase here.
Pros:
- Beautiful quality picture
- Many configuration options and features included
- Easy installation
- Fast delivery (Ordered on Monday and received on Friday)
Cons:
- When playing video files with the .mkv extension, the subtitles which are integrated into the video file unfortunately can't be read by the TV. - Workaround: Use an HDMI cable and Laptop
There's not really anything else that I have found worth mentioning that isn't already mentioned on their website. All in all, it's a great TV with amazing quality (seriously, LED back light shows compared to regular non LED TVs) and good audio. (Haven't had a chance to buy a surround sound system yet)"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 40" 5500 Series HD 1080p LED TV
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

5500 review

PostedOctober 3, 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 3, 2011
"We use this TV for OTA viewing exclusively. The picture quality is stunning and the interface is equally impressive. The only thing I miss is a signal strength meter or at least a bar meter that could be incorporated in the info menu. Other than that though, we love it."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.