Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop LED
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 40" LED 5300 Series

40" LED 5300 Series

Discover exciting new ways to enjoy your Smart TV. There’s more to your TV than just your favourite shows. With movie streaming, social networking, web browsing, apps and other innovative features, the EH5300 is more than just a TV; it’s a Samsung Smart TV.
Rating:
3.375 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 8(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 40" LED 5300 Series
Review 1 for 40" LED 5300 Series
Customer Avatar
From Coquitlam, BC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent TV

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
" I got this TV through my cable provider on a 3 year contract. *Can't say no to FREE TV* Install this in my bedroom as I needed a TV anyways. Perfect size for my bedroom, good picture quality, bright enough for night time use. Love the DLNA feature for streaming straight from my computer. I have another Samsung TV connected to the same computer in the living room. "
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40" LED 5300 Series
Customer Avatar
From Toronto
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great TV pictures. Works very well on Wireless and Lan. HD Internet movie playout is a problem

PostedOctober 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 2, 2013
" The issue here is the lack of memory and not enough processor power to run HD movies from the web without crashing or stuttering, even from their adapted Youtube app. Forget their Web Browser App. It crashes all the time.
Samsung has no intentions of providing memory upgrades as they have a 46" model with Dual Processors, tons of Memory and a Web Cam. Price ....3 times more then what you paid for this model.
If downloading HD movies is important, the solution is to use a wide screen Laptop and connect to the TV with a HDMI cable. Don't forget to change your Audio output to HDMI.
Using the Laptop as the controller, Web browsing is a cinch and YouTube HD movies play beautifully even through the wireless connection to the Laptop..
Now I'm happy
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40" LED 5300 Series
Customer Avatar
From Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The smart features aren't quite ready for consumer use. I'm afraid Samsung isn't going to fix the software issues.

PostedJuly 13, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 13, 2013
" I bought this TV because we have cut the cord and we wanted the internet features. Apps like Netflix and Youtube work fine. They don't amaze me but get the job done. The TV itself I find has a great image and is a pleasure to look at. Also, I very much enjoy that I can plug in a USB key and watch a video.
My big complaint is the web browser. The advertising makes a point of mentioning the flash support but I can't find a website where it works. I always get the out of memory crash that everyone else is getting. If they could make this work then I could probably forgive it for the smart hub being a useless joke. Why can't I have a weather widget instead of the useless other tiles? Why is there no quality control of the apps in the store? I'm still not sure why they just can't make a version of android work. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40" LED 5300 Series
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I love the TV, but would love it more with some improvements.

PostedApril 26, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 26, 2013
" Pros: Easy to set up.
Love the Netflix and Youtube apps that are pre-loaded, I've also downloaded Daily Motion and Crunchyroll, and I am very happy with them on the TV.
The sound is surprisingly good. I have it down to 9 or 10. I'm afraid I will have noise complaints if I bring it up any louder.
The remote is easy to use, with a central colorful button to get the Smart TV main screen. Most of the navigating is done with the up, down, left and right buttons.
The minimal frame is nice - it's nice to upgrade to something that is all screen.
The various eco functions are nice, like detecting the surrounding brightness to auto-adjust the screen brightness, and auto shut-off if you have fallen asleep in front of the TV.
Cons: I am getting the same issue as a previous poster about an error message stating that the TV ran out of memory when I stream a video through the browser.
This is not particularly a con of the TV, but if you are planning on surfing the web through the TV, it's definitely advisable to connect a wireless keyboard and mouse because otherwise it will take you a few minutes just to type in the url address.
I would recommend the TV to a friend, but would recommend it to more people if Samsung came out soon with an update to fix the memory issue during web streaming. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, easy to add apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40" LED 5300 Series
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This product Has Half Baked Features!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 27, 2013
" Lets start with the remote it's been what 20 Years we had remote's, we DON'T put the Pause button on-top of the Play button and the Stop under the Next. From Factors should be in place indefinitely The Play should be in the middle of the Back & Next, Stop under the Play, Pause under the Next and well you had one right the Rec under the Back. Also the Light Button on the Remote I guest is for Samsung lighting features they'll have in the future lighting up your home Awesome!
Next up Family Story Button WHAT WHERE you guys thinking of when the button was added to the remote. The App will be removed end-of-life Oct 2013 and the message that's comes up when selecting it will show you just that. Now comes the good part NetFlix is NOT in HD Native Resolution 1920x1080p your lucky it's in 720p, watching NetFlix on other players in the house and coming to this is like watching a bad encoded DVD on a HDTV enough said. The App store is a joke after your done getting the top app's your left with app's like Fireplace, SMART AQUA, SMART LED and for everything I downloaded I already had plus more on another device. If SMART TV is going to to be noting more then a hand pull of apps just give up. There's more the browser is like the rest of them slow and unusable, especially with no keyboard, WiFi don't work but Ethernet Port does, it don't surprise me if there's no wire solder to the Chip.
Setting's on the HDTV will be hard for the average person without a doubt there's like seven settings that need tweaking definitely to fully enjoy the TV. Posting them here means noting because each HDTV has to be calibration differently. Now for the Pros gaming on a LED HDTV couldn't be any better if you have a LCD just burn it out back in the pit and buy one like this. Rich colors NO Ghosting well a little but not has much has the LCD or lag is what people call it NO White Light Leaking from the edges of the screen.
Cons I ended up with one dead Pixel so that means 1920x1079 and that give you the number of pixels on screen that's it. If your buying this HDTV for gaming it's amazing or watching HD content not using the SMART features then you should be fine. But like I said the HDTV needs tweaking I'll give you a few settings that should be almost the same Brightness default 45 put it at 44 look at the black bars on-top and bottom when viewing a movie disable Noise filters and put Gamma +1 from there on out your on your own Over All Good LED HDTV especially coming from LCD. "
Pros: Lightweight, led
Cons: Did not meet expectations, dead pixel, netflix is not in hd native resolution 1920x1080p
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40" LED 5300 Series
Customer Avatar
From San Jose, Costa Rica
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Samsung needs to improve the "Smart" experience...

PostedDecember 6, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedDecember 6, 2012
" I bought this product and I expected so much regarding the software and the video experience. But when downstreaming vids from the web, sometimes there is a message saying that system is out of memory and that browser should restart. I don't know what Samsung engineers are thinking, but I think this is pretty bad for a TV that is being sold as the "new wonder". Should that happen, being that there is so much data interchange with the Internet? Was the memory included planned to be enough or beyond the required for internet?
Some apps need to be more user friendly, like Youtube, even the web browser. The virtual keyboard is not friendly at all... it's really hard to handle. I connected a wireless mouse and it's been very helpful, though it doesn't work with apps.... so I rather use the web browser than the apps.
Also, some web pages require plug ins that cannot be downloaded to the TV, specially video streaming ones. I believe Samsung needs to work that, as it is from there that most of the people watch videos from. Netflix is quite an app though, with nice and crisp image if you have a good broadband connection.
The audio options like que equalizer and SRS are not available... Don't know what to say about it but it's a turn off.
And it is not that I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend, but if Samsung would fix this issues with the Smart thing, then my opinion would improve with that. "
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations, sound options are not available.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40" LED 5300 Series
Customer Avatar
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good for watching Netflix, not so great for watching via browser

PostedAugust 7, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedAugust 7, 2012
" The picture and audio quality are great when streaming Netflix. The apps (very limited for us Canadians) work well but really this is limited to Skype, Youtube and Netflix.
Browser
The browser is very slow and not user friendly. It is hard to use (even though keyboards now can operate it) because the virtual keyboard keeps appearing on the screen. The streaming quality of video isn't great.
Webcam
Skype works well all round BUT the only webcams compatible are Samsung ones.
Smart Hub
Because we don't subscribe to cable etc. when we turn the TV on we get the snow effect. This also appears in the Smart Hub screen (where the apps are etc.) as a small icon showing what is on TV.
"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: poor quality web browser
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 40" LED 5300 Series
Customer Avatar
From Montreal, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The product has useless apps and can't watch all videos on the internet

PostedJuly 25, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 25, 2012
" At the end you won't use the samsung apps because they really bad and useless. You need to buy a keyboard and a mouse or have a smart phone to navigate on the internet in a proper way otherwise with the control remote it takes ages to type the site you are looking for on the internet.
A few videos can't be watch. For instance, I try to watch CTV live coverage of the Olympics but I can't because I have to download something but I can't on download it on the tv. So, I have to buy a cable to plug my computer to the tv in order to watch the olympics. something that I didnt want to do because I thought it was going to be easy to navigate on the internet on the computer and just watch the live coverage on the internet. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.