Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Washers
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White

WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White

WA422PRHDWR/AA
Rating:
3.435 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
17
36 out of 57(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Review 1 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From Boucherville
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disapointed

PostedMarch 17, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 17, 2014
" I had technicien 4 times changing the motor and computer and again and again....not recommanded, I returned both washers and dryer and buy new LG. "
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, not recommanded
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This washer does NOT clean your clothes.

PostedMarch 2, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 2, 2014
" This washer does not have enough water in the wash cycle to clean the clothes. About a
third of the clothes is still above the water limit. I Have therefore "cheated" the washer by pouring in 2 scrub buckets of water at the beginning of the wash cycle. I can program the washer to start from my phone but the washer can't give me enough water to clean the clothes. Is something wrong here?
"
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From Montreal, Quebec
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Loved it at first...but then.....

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJanuary 24, 2014
" I purchased the Samsung WA422PDHR WR/AA in May 2013. It worked really well at first and I was pleased with it. Unfortunately, 7 months after, the bottom of the tub broke, causing imbalance in the machine. And, exactly as one of the previous reviewers explained ....."the machine destroyed itself during a high speed spin cycle. The upper plastic ring was grinding against the tub ring and a loud clicking sound could be heard when the drum turned. I found several clumps of ground plastic in the wash tub after removing wet clothes. Damage can be seen on those rings and the tub flops around within the machine."
Now, I have been out of a washing machine for 1 month......stil waiting for it to be repaired!
Very, very disappointed with this product!
"
Cons: Poor quality
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa, ON
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very strylish and usable machine

PostedDecember 10, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 10, 2013
" I have purchased the matching set and they both work wonderfully together. The machine is quite during operation and easy too load. I would recommend this to anyone, "
Pros: Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From saint john nb
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

junk

PostedNovember 18, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedNovember 18, 2013
" bought it 5 months ago have had nothing with problems with it "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From Manitoba Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Returned this washer after 3 washes

PostedOctober 30, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 30, 2013
" I purchased this washer because the Brand of washer that I was going to purchase was not going to arrive for about 4 week. What I noticed was that it didn't matter which wash cycle that I used, the clothes didn't come out clean. I watched the washer through the entire wash cycles and what I noticed was not all the clothes got down into the water. It did not matter how big or small the load was or which wash cycle you used. My white socks did not come out as clean as they did on my 16 year old machine that was still working when I threw it out(my mistake). My black tee shirts and blue jeans where not as clean as I expected them to be. Again this was not a problem with the old machine. "
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From Winnipeg, Manitoba
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nice looking, Probably a great machine, I got the lemon ... hopefully

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedSeptember 12, 2013
" Installed Sept 4th 2013, washer pump died Sept 9th *** 5 days of great use .... was hoping for 5-10 YEARS of service. Not impressed. "
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From Montreal
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

looks great

PostedJune 28, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJune 28, 2013
" Looks are not all that are needed when buying a washing machine; water is needed. A little bit of water will not do it; enough water is required. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great washer for the price

PostedApril 24, 2013
PostedApril 24, 2013
" this washer has most of the features you would want @ an affordable price.
I love the glass top lid but am wondering how strong it is.
this IMHO is better then the front loaders & would recommend that ppl with space get this over a front loader.
LOTS of room for washing clothes inside.
fairly quiet for a landry machine.
gets the job done well as expected.
I hope in the future these top loaders come in black.
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: wish they came in black
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Didn't wash a dirty jacket.

PostedApril 11, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 11, 2013
" I specified to the salesman, we are in a dirty environment, not greasy, just dirty. One single Tough Duck jacket does not come out clean. Very disappointed that the water level seems to be too low to 'rinse' away all the dirt from a jacket. Cycles are longer, but I can adjust to that. Clothes come out very wirnkled from the spin, I can adjust to that. I can not adjust to dirty jackets with smears on them when they dry...how clean is our underwear and towels? "
Pros: Lightweight, glass lid for viewing
Cons: Poor quality, can not adjust water level
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From Saskatoon, Sk, Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great washer!

PostedMarch 22, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 22, 2013
" I purchased this washer last summer. I must say I have been very happy with it. I find the clothes come out very clean, not twisted & tangled up & best of all no holes from getting caught on an agitator.
It takes a while to get used to the lower water level with it being HE. If I have a really dirty load of clothes I will sometimes add a bit more water by using the rinse & spin cycle briefly, or pour a bit of water into the tub with the clothing. This will trick the machine into thinking that the load is heavier & it will add more water accordingly.
I am short (not quite 5'4") and I have no problem reaching the bottom of the tub to remove the laundry.
It is so quiet when running that I have to set a timer upstairs as a reminder that it has finished.
I like to hang my laundry out on the clothes line in the summer & find that the clothes dry very quickly with few wrinkles.
I would not hesitate to recommend this washer to a friend.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From Kingston, ON - Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great size drum, quiet and very efficient.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedFebruary 14, 2013
" I love the size of the drum. I find that not having an aggitator reduces the damage to the clothing and is still as good at cleaning the clothes. The machine is very quite when running and is very good for water usage. "
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, quiet
Cons: very long signal
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
57kg Top Load Electric Dryer DV5451AEW
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From Montreal Quebec Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed! I don't know nor can I choose the rinse temperature. Also, I can't control the water level.

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedFebruary 8, 2013
" I'm disappointed I can't control the water level. I also can't choose the temperature for the rinse cycle. The manual does not specify the water temperature for the rinse cycle. It only indicates the temperature for the wash. Another problem is the bleach. The Samsung manual does not specify which wash cycle lets out bleach. It only lets you know it has an ''auto timed release''. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From New Jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent washing machine

PostedOctober 12, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedOctober 12, 2012
" The machine has a variety of features and you can choose different water temperatures for the wash cycle. The top-load door is sturdy, display is easy on the eyes and hands, and the detergent cups are built into the machine (like the front-loaders). The machine is very quiet and does not really vibrate when spinning. The washer sings a happy tune at the end of the wash, very 8-bit game like. Enjoying the machine (as much as one can for a washer) and hope it lasts many years (only a week of ownership). "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Missing basic features

PostedOctober 3, 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedOctober 3, 2012
" I was genuinely surprised that this washer doesn't have what I consider to be one of the most basic features - the ability to select the water temp for cycles. Also, my clothes come out VERY wrinkled which is disastrous for someone like me who hates to iron (the matching dryer doesn't fix the problem). Finally, I don't recommend this (or perhaps any HE top loader) for anyone under 5'4" - it's difficult to reach the bottom of the drum without a stepstool. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Lacking

PostedOctober 2, 2012
PostedOctober 2, 2012
" It surprises me that with all the features this washer has, there isn't one where you can select the water temperature for a specific cycle. For example - you can't have a warm wash and cold rinse. It seems like such a basic feature, but it's not available with this model. Also, I don't recommend this top load model if you're under 5'4" - I have to use a stool to reach the bottom of the drum. Very disappointed with this purchase. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Customer Avatar
From halifax, Ns
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great features

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedSeptember 17, 2012
" First time washer buyer and I have had no troubles with this product. It does exactly what i need to do. Being a single dad it is very simple to use "
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for WA422PRHDWR 4.8 cu.ft Top Load Washer White
Based on the average of (45) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
31 out of 42 recommend this product
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Performance 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.