Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop ATIV Tab
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for ATIV Tab 5

ATIV Tab 5

The Samsung ATIV Tab 5 is an excellent solution for busy people that want to do more on the go. It offers the flexibility of a tablet as well as the power of a PC, and can be transformed into a traditional notepad with a convenient keyboard. Whether you're building presentations or watching movies on its 1366 x 768 HD screen, it's the perfect portable companion.
Rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for ATIV Tab 5
Review 1 for ATIV Tab 5
Customer Avatar
From Pointe-Claire
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"Good tablet, a little bit slow but it is perfect for my need. Sound quality is not great."
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: sound quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ATIV Tab 5
This review is from 11.6” ATIV Smart PC.
Customer Avatar
From Alberta, Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This tablet is great to travel with. The larger screen size is really helpful.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 11, 2013
"The sound level is a bit low but overall I love the unit. It is quite fast for the chip speed. I did have the motherboard go but the helpdesk was great, I shipped it in for repairs, and had the new one back in 10 days. The add on keyboard is terrific for making it a handy workstation. One big plus is having multiple full size usb ports."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: speaker sound levels are a bit low.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ATIV Tab 5
Customer Avatar
From Ontario
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreashingly awesome

PostedAugust 4, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedAugust 4, 2013
"This is a great "convertible" tablet. It does all of your actual "computing" needs, it offers all the usual means of media consumption, BUT unlike other tablet's its great for productivity. This tablet can easily replace an ultrabook/ laptop any day. The only thing I have against it is I wish that the keyboard as easier to find. For those who are looking the keyboards product code it AA-RD7NMKD."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, productive, full windows 8
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ATIV Tab 5
Customer Avatar
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect balence between pc and tablet !

PostedJuly 26, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJuly 26, 2013
"I love this product, its very responsive. It doesn't lag when you are running duel screens. Its easy to use and light weight. The only thing I would change is the camera, it would be nice if the built in camera took better pictures."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: better camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ATIV Tab 5
Customer Avatar
From Edmonton, AB
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not as Pictured

PostedJuly 17, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedJuly 17, 2013
"Despite all the photos and features information, apparently the "optional" keyboard is not available in Canada. If you're looking for a tablet with a docking keyboard or keyboard cover, look elsewhere."
Cons: not as illustrated
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ATIV Tab 5
This review is from 11.6” ATIV Smart PC.
Customer Avatar
From Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good tablet, but it is not compatible with S pen!! >:(

PostedJune 30, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedJune 30, 2013
"I love this tablet. It is not quite as fast and reliable as my primary laptop, but it's very portable and simply fun to use. It is a little large and awkward in size, to use as a tablet, but I like the extra space because the text is easier to read.
The wifi connectivity has trouble connecting when I turn it on. I have seen reviews of others having this problem and installing updates and drivers fix the problem. I have updated the drivers but continue to have this glitch. Disconnecting and reconnecting it to the wifi network resolves the problem and it only takes a second to do, so I'm not too annoyed by this.
When I ask it to sleep, it doesn't fall asleep. it continues to drain quite a bit of battery so I end up shutting it down completely, but shut down and start up is so quick, I don't mind.
The display is fantastic and I purchased the keyboard dock (with touchpad) separately and I have had no problems with the keyboard connectivity (as others have had). Very happy with the keyboard.
Drawing on this tablet (with my finger) is smooth and accurate however I was interested in a touch screen tablet-laptop convertible because I wanted to draw and take notes. I purchased the s pen separately (the pen is labelled on the box to be compatible with my tablet model, 500T1C!) and it does not work with my tablet. I am very upset that this was not advertised on the site (as it even shows an s-pen slot on the Canadian samsung site) so I figured that although it was not sold with the tablet, the pen, purchased separately would at least be compatible with my tablet. I called customer support to see if a driver would be developed for my model however the samsung representative said that this will not likely happen - VERY disappointing!!!!!!!!!!
Samsung's support team should develop a driver for XE500T1C- A01-CA model to allow it to be compatible with the S pen, as advertised!
"
Pros: Bright display, usb port on tablet, keyboard display does not always pop up, keyboard dock is fantastic, larger size makes text easy to read
Cons: not compatible with s pen (as advertised), slightly slow processor, wifi connectivity when it starts up from sleep/off
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ATIV Tab 5
This review is from 11.6” ATIV Smart PC.
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great Smart PC

PostedMay 6, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMay 6, 2013
"Love everything about. I learned windows 8 for the first time. I have to say I don't like Windows 8. The Samsung 11.6 ATIV Smart PC 500TIC-HA1CA runs smoothly, easy to use. If you don't like something you remove it. I like the updating of the programs automatically and looks for errors and corrects them. At times it have to look at what needs to be resolved if an error occurs and it's easy to make those corrections. If you mess the whole thing up you can do a factory reset and it rebuilds itself to the factory setting the day you bought it or you can reset it where it does not wipe out any of your files. Everyone must remember in every case you always back up your data never the less. Fantastic product for sure."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ATIV Tab 5
This review is from 11.6” ATIV Smart PC.
Customer Avatar
From Montreal, Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The product is now mature...

PostedApril 24, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedApril 24, 2013
"At first there were serious issues with the wi-fi connection. After a few months and a few software updates everything was back to normal !
The Atom CPU was not as powerful as expected but for most of the work that have to do I am very pleased.
Viewing HD videos is great on this big display.
"
Pros: Bright display
Cons: a bit heavy for a tablet
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ATIV Tab 5
This review is from 11.6” ATIV Smart PC.
Customer Avatar
From Dartmouth, NS, canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor Quality, Excelellent Features & Designs. Really wanted it to work as designed.

PostedApril 22, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedApril 22, 2013
"I spent a premium dollar to buy this Samsung product over 2 other competitors similar products, based on Samsung Name, specs, customer reviews on Samsung site & retailers site. I bought it for work, as I needed Windows 8 touch screen for my work software .
I have experienced the following problems.
1st issue: Since day 1, Keyboard dock loses connectivity randomly & has to be un-docked & re-docked to re-establish connectivity
2nd issue: Logon Pin Pad (on screen keyboard) disappeared. I googled the issue & found that Adobe reader needs to be repaired in Programs to resolve this issue. When it re-occurs, repeat the above.
3rd issue: Unit will not turn on after last update installed & I shut the unit off using the menu. It would not turn on again.
Samsung support is great & are taking care of the repair under warranty. Hope it's worth the wait"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Lightweight, awesome concept, keyboard dock
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ATIV Tab 5
This review is from 11.6” ATIV Smart PC.
Customer Avatar
From Kingston, ON, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A bit disappointing performance

PostedMarch 15, 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PostedMarch 15, 2013
"Am on my second pc in six weeks. The second one has lost sound and video twice and emitted popping sounds. The only recourse was hard resets. First one froze numerous times and black screened once. The only recourse was to wipe it out. I.E. Factory defaults. Despite that I like the touch screen, size and color. Wish now though that I had gotten the pro model .and that the reliability was better. Hopefully things will improve."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ATIV Tab 5
This review is from 11.6” ATIV Smart PC.
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Samsung 11.6" ATIV Smart PC is perfect

PostedMarch 12, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 12, 2013
"I've been doing everything to this smart pc as I want' to understand how it ticks. So I installed/removed software. I even loaded software that you shouldn't load onto it such as an incorrect apps for this model and it recovered with out any errors. I've rest it default factory settings each time so I could see if it slowed down, or couldn't recover and it works brilliantly. I love my Samsung 11.6" ATIV Smart PC and it if fantastic."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ATIV Tab 5
This review is from 11.6” ATIV Smart PC.
Customer Avatar
From Ottawa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice tablet computer with keyboard dock

PostedMarch 2, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedMarch 2, 2013
"This is our first tablet computer. We are using it either as a tablet alone, or together with its keyboard dock, which is useful as a stand and makes it equivalent to a laptop computer. Lots of features. Windows 8 takes some getting used to. Performance is only rated good due to the atom processor, but you get long battery life as a tradeoff. Large screen is nice but makes it a bit awkward to hold and use as a tablet."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ATIV Tab 5
This review is from 11.6” ATIV Smart PC.
Customer Avatar
From Toronto, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Where is my S pen on my XE500TC Rogers version?

PostedDecember 14, 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
PostedDecember 14, 2012
"Very thrilled and excited in both this hardware and Windows8. Overall performance is quite impressive. But my Rogers version, which bears the same model number of XE500TC, clearly does not have the S pen feature. Meaning it's not just the S pen that is missing, but the slot on the bottom left side of the tablet where the pen slides into, is not there either. Why? The Canada version of this site needs to make this correction."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: missing s pen feature!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ATIV Tab 5
This review is from 11.6” ATIV Smart PC.
Customer Avatar
From Saskatoon, sk
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome windows tablet pc

PostedNovember 11, 2012
PostedNovember 11, 2012
"As i am salesperson the biggest problem i found with any kind of windows or android tablet their acessories are not available easily which customers they want. Same thing happened on the other day, i convinced a customer that this windows tablet is best for him and he liked it as well cz he can open multiple windows tabs at the same tym on this tablet and work simultaneously and he was going to buy that but wen we looked at the acessories there was not even a single case to stand it up on desk to watch pics and movies or etc.
No S-pen was available.
I request samsung one of the largest company that please concentrate on acessories as customers they want it as well.
Like 9 out of 10 they buy ipad or apple because acessories are so easily available."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.